We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst meal on our trip!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Pirates' House

The Pirates' House
20 E. Broad St., Savannah, GA 31401
912-233-5757
Website
Improve this listing
Visit The Pirates' House like an insider
Top Rated
$32*
and up
Savannah Small-Group Ghost Tour by Bus
Ranked #46 of 204 things to do in Savannah
Activities: Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 18th-century bar was a rendezvous point for pirates.
Ripon, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Worst meal on our trip!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The food was awful, some of it was only warm, and it lacked flavor. The service was prompt, however the server could not pick up on how disappointed we were in the food. We sent plates back with a lot of food on them. The building is interesting on the outside, however do not waste your time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    117
    64
    26
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BAD seafood”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Recent visit to Savannah, did the lunch buffet at Pirates and was very good, extremely well organized food was constanty refreshed ..... hot and good.
All went downhill when returned several days later, we asked server for recommendations, ribs and seafood platter were highly recommended. ribs were so, so..... not tender had better at fast food joints.
spent a week eating seafood in Savannah of excellent quality but at Pirates the sea food platter was NOT good !!! very fishy not enjoyable, several hours later in the early morning hours I became violenty ill, vommitting !!!!! there is no doubt caused by the sea food at Pirates, when reported back to the reastaurant (tab for 2 was close to 100$) ........not caring at all, not recommended,
go to Pink House and Drayton St.bars on River St. much better

S. Smith ON Canada

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definite stop on your tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We made reservations to make sure we got into this restaurant. Our waiter, James, was very nice and provided excellent service as well as information about the house. We were lucky and got seated in the "Herb"house which is the oldest house in the state of Georgia. Both the experience and food were great.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Country Food in a Pirates House. :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Not only is this a historic part of Savannah but it comes with a great lunch buffet, filled with yummy country food like we were raised on. It was very busy the day we were there and a bit noisy with children crying at tables but after they left if was very enjoyable. Our waitress was awesome and apologized for the delay. Hard to walk around and look at the house as it is very crowded but we would return again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant is supposed to be the oldest building in Georgia. It's a little confusing to travel through the restaurant because it's a series of small rooms. The food was delicious and delivered quickly and nice and hot. The atmosphere was typical of a bar and grill. A lot of wood and dimly lit but very cozy. It was fun eating in a little piece of history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pirates' House also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Pirates' House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pirates' House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.