We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ship Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum

Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum
41 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
912 232 1511
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$20*
and up
Savannah City Hop-on Hop-off Trolley Tour
Ranked #16 of 100 Attractions in Savannah
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum houses a collection of models and paintings of historic ships.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ship Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Ship museum is a nice place to relax and view the model ships in an air conditioned museum. It was not crowded, and we learned alot about all of the ships that visited Savannah or that were named Savannah.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    105
    17
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Give the Men in the group a break and let them visit this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Really great models of ships, great museum to browse at your own pace, very informative and the home is a historic home as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful display of ships!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have visited the Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum in Savannah twice with our then 8 and 9 year old boys and they absolutely loved it. My oldest fell in love with the Titanic there and decided to have a Titanic-themed birthday party all because of this museum and their many displays. The display of ships is absolutely beautiful with such great detail. The ships are all encased in glass cabinets and arranged very nicely. They also have a room with artifacts from earlier days of sailing, which was quite interesting. We just visited Savannah recently and did not stop by this museum and my sons, now 9 and 10, were sorely disappointed. Expect to stay 1 to 2 hours. If you have an interest in ships and the maritime, you will love this museum!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Garden of Delights, Museum of Nautical Sights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We love to visit this beautifully maintained local garden each season.
Enjoy the local flora free. The museum is a treasure trove for the nautical novice or enthusiast. Enjoyable learning field trip for upper elementary age + families. Magnificent former mansion is a home tour in itself. Rarely crowded. Easy free parking lot. Good respite from tourist crowds. Very educational museum.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipsoftheSea, Community Relations & Events Manager at Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum & Gardens! We're very grateful that you continue to choose our Museum while visiting Savannah! It's been a wonderful first year watching our new North Garden develop and grow in the many seasons of Georgia. We hope to see you soon!

Thank you!
Brittany
Community Relations & Events Manager
Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum
Savannah, GA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Easy walk through tour with A/C!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Quick tour for those wanting to fill in a little time and are in the downtown area. We paid $6 each with AAA discount. If you spent any time in the Navy or just love the ocean, this is a good stop for you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ships of the Sea Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.