We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Architectural Tours of Savannah

Architectural Tours of Savannah
PO Box 8572, meet in Chippewa Square, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
(912) 604-6354
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You don't have to be an architect to enjoy the Architectural Tours of Savannah with Jonathan Stalcup. He is author and holds a Master of Architecture degree from SCAD. Jonathan not only knows his stuff design-wise, he makes it really easy for the average tourist to understand how Savannah was born and grew into the beautiful and beautifully singular city it is. He not only stops and points, he brings along visual aids to help you understand how a particular building or square evolved. You won't be bored or even tired- the tour progresses (and walks) through hundreds of years of history at leisurely pace.
Elkin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Architectural Tours of Savannah is one not to miss! Jonathan is so knowledgeable about all things historical/architectural in Savannah. The 90 minute tour is set at a great pace with adequate time for picture taking and questions. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This tour was the highlight of a great weekend in Savannah. I expected this to be simply about architecture: quoins and gable roofs and roman archways, which would have been great, But Jonathan wove the story of Savannah's almost 300 year history through its well preserved buildings. No need to go on a separate history tour. He really knows his stuff, too. For example, one residence--not a museum, just somebody's house in the historic district-- had a pretty iron garden gate. Someone in our group asked if it was original to the house. Not only did Jonathan know that it was not, he shared with us when it was added, what the locals call the gate, the artist who made the gate, and he compared it to other gates the artist has made. Each question we asked would reveal a treasure trove of knowledge about a subject and a city he has a real passion for. I liked the tour so much I went to the Telfair gift shop and bought his book.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Tour in Savannah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was by far the best tour I took in Savannah. Jonathan is knowledgeable and provides a rich history that is so fascinating. I am not an architecture buff by any stretch of the imagination, but by the end of the tour I felt I had a good understanding of both the architectural influences in Savannah and beyond. Jonathan kept our entire tour group engaged and encouraged questions and dialogue.

If you can only do one tour in Savannah this is the one!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“GREAT tour!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Jonathan, the owner and guide behind Architectural Tours of Savannah, really knows his stuff! We had a great walking tour and learned so much. It was educational but never dull and paced just right for a 90 minute tour. Jonathan is very passionate about his subject matter and I would highly recommend to anyone interested the city's beautiful architecture! Very enjoyable!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My friend and I were thrilled with Jonathan Stalcup's architectural tour of Savannah in September 2012.. He is engaging, focused and quite knowledgeable about architectural history in general. He is a 2004 graduate of the SCAD Architecture program, and you can hear this background knowledge as he leads the tour. I would love to walk through the entire Savannah historic district with Jonathan!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Architectural Tours of Savannah also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Architectural Tours of Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Architectural Tours of Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.