We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roussell's Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Roussell's Garden to your Saves list
Roussell's Garden
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   208 East Henry Street, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Year Gift Certificate
Ranked #16 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Fort Wayne
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The photos on line do a really good job of hiding the area of town the B&B is in...regardless of what anyone says - this is a pretty rough part of town (there is a nasty little chineese or some kind of resteraunt right and I mean right next door). The owners are really nice people and they are working hard to make the place as nice as possible. The rooms are nice, but can use some work; this was the first place I've ever been where you can't get cold water quickly? You have to let the faucets run a long while before the cold ever comes out (Bryan did assure us that they were working to get this corrected). The food in the mornings was good, but I can't say it was the best ever or anything overly special, but it was nice to have each morning and the 8:30 start time is nice. We walked to town every morning, which is a little over a mile and you have wonderful sights after you go a few blocks and get out of the neighborhood you are staying in, but it would have been nicer to be closer to town. We took cabs at home every night and none of the cabs had ever heard of the B&B, which didn't make us feel all that great and when we arrived, they commented that is wasn't the best part of town. The traffic noise is terrible, you hear busses and trucks and cars CONSTANTLY! You will be awake around 5 or 6 every day, whether or not you want to be! We were away from the place the majority of the time, off having fun in Savannah, and it was cheaper than most places in town, but we wished we would have paid $50 or $100 more a night and had been in a better part of town. The owners charge you for one night up-front and for the remainder of your stay a few days before you arrive for the balance of your stay (7-day non-refundable on the entire amount)...I think they do this for a reason...our first impression was to wish immediately that we were staying somewhere else as we pulled up but were stuck, we couldn't throw away $400 plus. Bryan assured us up front that we were in a "safe" part of town, but I don't care what he says, we did not feel safe while walking in the area and very near the B&B on several occasions...once we got a few blocks away, then yes, we were fine. When you drive in on and around MLK, you will see...judge for yourself. Overall, on a 1 to 10, I would give the place a 4.5 - the price is good, the rooms are clean, the food is decent, but you would be better served staying closer to town.

Room Tip: Stay closer to town!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    26
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
92
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

We got a nice Savannah greeting from hosts Bryan and Janet. The Azalea Room where we stayed had a comfortable queen bed, an ensuite spacious bathroom, with extra sink in the room. All this for about $110 during the high season . We were just outside the historical district but could take a bus or walk. Even though we are seniors, we opted to walk.

The breakfast was good and filling and the hosts were lovely people. Bryan gave me a tour of the beautiful garden. He knew the names of the trees, bushes, plants. What a great fruit tree out front - I got a taste. There was even a fountain (or two). It was so peaceful and quiet. No problem parking out front but they had alternate spaces if they ran out of street spots.

There was a nice Chinese restaurant next to the B & B where we picked up dinner & ate it in the family room while watching TV. We felt totally at home and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask about AAA or senior discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This stay was most enjoyable Jan & Bryan were Great Hosts . There house was our house it was like staying with friends . We were in the Parlor room just off the kitchen NO problem with morning noises at all . The room was Great for coffee, tea ,breakfast , & snacks & Jans breakfasts were WONDERFUL on need for lunch .

Room Tip: Hospitality & Great Value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

This place was very oustanding! The owners friendly, helpful and perfect hosts. The breakfast delicious and original, words can't describe the hospitality that met us when we arrived. Very friendly atmosphere and helpful in helping you find things to do in Savannah. I would highly reccommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in historic Savannah.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City MO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Roussell's Garden while on our vacation in Savannah. Bryan & Janet Roussell are gracious and friendly hosts, sharing information on Savannah places to see, to eat, etc. The Italianate house is very pretty in a beautiful setting. The bedrooms are very nice and common rooms well appointed. Bryan has beautiful gardens with lots of flowers, fruit trees, and plants. There are birds to see as well. Breakfast was very good and we really enjoyed talking to the other guests. Roussell's Garden is only a couple of blocks from the Savannah Historical section and Lovely Forsyth Park. We enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend Roussell's Garden as a place to stay with visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Roussell's Garden Bed & Breakfast is a hidden jewel within the Victorian District of Old Savannah. Inn host and hostess, Bryan and Jan Roussell opened up their beautifully restored home with warm Southern hospitality. The rooms are tastefully appointed in period furniture and furnishings yet comfortable in modern day standards. During our visit, my husband and I looked forward to the sumptuous breakfast so artfully and deliciously prepared by Jan each morning. Bryan took care of answering all our questions when directions were needed. He even went so far as to provide a new CD player in our room so that I could watch "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil" for the first time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Bryan and Jan and their beautiful home were instrumental to our enjoyment of the charming city of Savannah. The breakfasts were delicious - lots of fruit and a variety of other dishes. Roussell's is on the border of the historic district allowing for a leisurely walk through the historic houses and intriguing squares, ending up at the river. Golfing at nearby Hilton Head was great and Tybee Island allowed for a relaxing day on the beach. We also enjoyed a show by the Savannah Tenors at a local theatre.

All in all, a super visit.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roussell's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roussell's Garden

Address: 208 East Henry Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roussell's Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within our 3400 sq ft home, we have 12 ft ceilings, a living room, a formal dining room, a parlor/bedroom downstairs and 3 bedrooms upstairs (all with private bathrooms), to give our guest the feel of living in an historic home in a gentler time at Roussell's Garden Bed & Breakfast. Whether you come to the magical city of Savannah, Georgia for business or pleasure, you will delight in the mixture of period furnishings and modern luxuries. Bryan and Janet, owners of Roussells' Garden, live on the premises to extend exceptional southern hospitality to their guests. We are 1+ mile from "downtown/River Street", three blocks from "Forsyth Park", and two steps away from the gardens at Roussell's with a treat for the senses. You'll see most year round, lush blooming vines and flowers, smell, in season, the citrus and fig trees laden with fruit, and hear the soft songs of birds, in their feeders and baths, throughout. You'll also indulge yourself with, peaceful bubbling water from several fountains, or, a porch swing to enjoy evening breezes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Roussell's Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roussell's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.