We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the prime rib........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stone House Country Inn

Stone House Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Farmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone House Country Inn
Save
You added Stone House Country Inn to your Saves list
3023 National Pike, Farmington, PA 15437   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Farmington B&B and Inns
West Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Order the prime rib........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We have eaten here many times on day trips to Uniontown and traveling back from Somerset and have never had a negative experience. This building was built in 1822 on the National Road and has been restored to much of it's original glory. This last visit, we order the prime rib and it was prepared to perfection. We can highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    31
    13
    7
    12
See reviews for
16
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Nightmare of a stay!!!
Do not stay here. We were in town for a wedding and wanted to book just one night so we thought this looked good being somewhat historic. The room was okay, bed rather uncomfortable and normally I would not have given this review if this was all it was. There is absolutly no phone or internet connection in the room we were in so when at 3 in the morning, couldn't sleep (bed), we went to our car where we knew we could use our phone and WE COULDN'T GET BACK IN!!! There is no night manager. To get in after hours you are supposed to enter a code into a security door(opens with no code) and the inner door is supposed to be unlocked. It was not. We spent the night (it was pouring)in our car and at the hotel down the street who kindly let us sit in their lobby.
We left several pitiful messages on the machine, I've sent them an email stating the problem and NOT ONE APOLOGY FROM THEM. We were terrorized. Good thing we didn't have kids with us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 1st anniversary after spending a day at Ohiopyle.
We stayed on the third floor and the room was VERY cute and clean. And COLD. Apparently the A/C unit that controls that room also controls multiple areas of the building, so it could not be adjusted. I could not even sleep because my feet were icicles!

Aside from the lodging, the food there is pretty bad and certainly not fresh. My husband's "crab chowder" at dinner had only FAKE crab and was not "chowderish" at all, but very runny. The continental breakfast is only packaged (poor quality) danishes and mini donuts. The breakfast I ordered came out all wrong and used only canned/jarred veggies.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We recently stayed in the Marshall Room of this beautiful, historic inn! Room was spacious...2 queen beds and 2 comfortable rockers and 2 dressers. The room shared a bath but we were fortunate and no one was in the other room! Our dinner was delicious...we had 2 appetizers...mussels and 2 #'s of shrimp plus a salad. It was more than enough & delicious! I would definitely stay here again! In fact, I look forward to a return stay!!!

Room Tip: Book early if you want a room wi a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
612 reviews 612 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 204 cities Reviews in 204 cities
532 helpful votes 532 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in the new wing that has rooms with private baths and is at the back so that road traffic noise was not a problem. Access to the internet via wireless was not working and cell phone coverage was limited down in the valley where the inn is located but the isolation had its benefits. We were standing on the balcony that connects the two buildings when we saw a black bear nearby! We had dinner at the lodge and found it quite good. Staff were friendly and the tavern was a good place to relax after dinner. A continental breakfast was provided in the hotel but it didn't start until 8 am and we wanted to get to Fallingwater for an early tour so we didn't partake.

Room Tip: The shared bath rooms were very inexpensive but we chose a private bath at twice the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Perfect location for visiting the area to see Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. We stayed for two nights, mid-week, and took advantage of their package that included a $25 credit on dinner at the Inn's restaurant. This is not a "fancy" inn -- with picture perfect interior decorator designed rooms -- but it has a lot of historic charm and some lovely architectural details. We traveled with another couple and took the two rooms on the 3rd floor with a shared bath. Rooms were quite large and layout of 3rd floor provided plenty of privacy. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Restaurant offered good pub-type fare and bar offered great happy hour specials.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My boyfriend and I booked one of the newer rooms, with a Jacuzzi, when we went to check in it was extremely disorganized. There was a wedding and it was dinner time. They key they gave us to get in did not work. So I made several trips back to the front desk. We had just finished a 12 mile bike ride on the trail at Ohiopyle and it was 80 degrees outside. We made several trips back to the car with our bags. There were also several doors the keys could have been used for but we were just told to go in on the side of the building. Well after the several trips back to the desk (would have been nice if someone took the time to just take us to our room at some point) we decided to get our money back and just go home. Luckily, we do not live far from there. We were extremely disappointed with the lack of caring and even one of the staff members said how unorganized they were.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone House Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Country Inn

Address: 3023 National Pike, Farmington, PA 15437
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farmington
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Stone House Country Hotel Farmington
Country Inn Farmington
Farmington Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone House Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.