We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1001 LaFayette Drive, Farmington, PA 15437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$92 Starting at Rates!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Here in the middle of the woods is this great resort. Loved the golf course (Mystic Rock)!! A ZOO with lions, tigers, bears, zebra, hyenna, mountain goats, etc. was amazing. Can't imagine what they have to spend to keep those animals. Great location for a convention. Super kids facilities, camp, etc. Lovely spa, fun ice cream parlor, high end shops, great memorabilia, even a casino! So many things to do: climbing walls, shooting range, off-road jeeps, you name it. Nice meal at the Harvest restaurant. The price-fix place was $110 pp - too expensive, we thought. Don't know how they make any money given the number of rooms and all the amenities & activities offered. Someone has deep pockets . . .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    296
    116
    51
    33
See reviews for
423
657
28
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family and I needed a relaxing weekend away this summer and found it at Nemacolin's Falling Rock. Whether it was the attentiveness of the butler and the staff or the excellent care we received at the Spa and Shooting Academy everything was first class. Our meal at Aqueous was spectacular as well as was the service. The pool at Falling Rock is also one of the most relaxing spots to spend an afternoon. If you want to indulge a bit and be pampered this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Is there a groupon we missed, or some fabulous promo code that doesn't make this $650 a night for a weirdly ornate room in the middle of nowhere? Stayed at the Chateau, which looks like a hodge podge of quasi-french colonial stylings that was cross-bred with a 1998 ski lodge. We ate at autumn, which is a not inexpensive restaurant (maybe about 100 pp with wine), which works with the nuanced spices of salt, more salt and sea salt. Also had a spa treatment which was fine but not exceptional. The physical plant of the spa was also fine, not exceptional.

What I would say is that the staff at all times was friendly, polite and helpful. That is really the high point of the experience.

Candidly, I am shocked this place stays in business and is booked solid. I literally don't get it -- there are certainly more luxurious places to stay for less money. The food was really mediocre. The whole place feels a little tired. I really wanted to like this place, truly, but couldn't find a way to think of the experience that made sense. It pretends at luxury but ultimately can't really pull it off.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our trip to Nemacolin Resort was outstanding. The staff was very friendly and they truly seemed concerned that everyone has having an enjoyable time. We tried multiple activities and they were all enjoyable. The shooting academy and nature center were the two best.

The main restaurants are more on the high end from a price standpoint but the food was very good.

We stayed in the older part of the hotel and the rooms nice, although one the beds was a soft side and had seen better days.

The only real complaint would be the Tavern restaurant the good was good but the service was slow.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you would like a weekend away to be pampered, indulged and relaxed, you should head to Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa and stay at Falling Rock. The food at Aqeous is amazing for both breakfast and dinner. The butler services that will draw you a bath or leave you cookies and milk at bedtime is wonderful. The shuttle service makes getting around the resort easy. They offer everything from golf and tennis to clay shooting and ziplines. Something for everyone.

Room Tip: Falling Rock with their 40+ rooms and butler service is a great way to stay if you want relaxation a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am willing to pay a lot for a lot of value. I paid about $600/night to stay in a king-bedded room in the Chateau. The building itself is completely unattractive, with hideous art and a look that is someone's idea of faux Versailles. Our room was huge, but almost unfurnished. There was the bed and two comfy chairs (with no ottomans in spite of lots of room for them and no reading lamps). Because the room was large, the small TV was too far away to watch from the bed. The chairs were to the side, but we moved them to a more convenient place. The TV was not high-def and got only basic cable. The bathroom was large and had two sinks, so no complaints there (except the shower head could have been better). The rooms in the Lodge are less money, about $400/night, but when I learned they were about 200 square feet I opted for the larger room. In my opinion, neither is worth the money.

The good points of this resort for us were excellent spa treatments from Rick and Jill (priced in line with other pricey resort spas) and delicious pasture-raised chicken from a local farm available at Autumn and from room service. The fish I had for dinner at Autumn was awful, black cod ruined by three different sauces including a cheese sauce on top. I sent back the haricot verts which were tasteless. The cost of food in all the restaurants was also very high. We pay good money for good food in Washington, DC, and this food was not worth the cost.

We stayed here because we were going on a tour at Fallingwater. There are not many choices nearby. There are some townhouses elsewhere on the resort property, and they might be worth the cost (I don't know this for sure) for families or groups of friends or relatives. Fallingwater is amazing, and I would recommend it to anyone. It was far better than I even imagined. But if that is the reason for your trip to this area, I would stay elsewhere, even farther away, unless you get a good price on a room.

One more thing. On the "stay planner" I filled out before arrival, which I know the staff received, I said our special occasion was our honeymoon. There was no acknowledgement of this -- no special amenity. So then why ask on the form if the trip is a special occasion and what it is?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely, large room in the Chateau section of the resort - attention to details in the room was superb! As soon as you cross the interior corridors into The Lodge section of the resort - it's like you've stepped back in time to the 50's - dated, dreary, drab, however, this area is being renovated-although didn't really see evidence of renovation in the public areas. The Chateau is rich & sumptuous - both in our room & in all of the public areas.
Wait staff service was exemplary but the auxiliary staff was SEVERELY lacking - so much so, that is was truly a shock - it seems that the attention to training for shop clerks was totally absent - inattentive, bored with their jobs, not at all helpful. Not sure who trains these individuals, but they should take a lesson from whoever trains front desk & restaurant workers
The shuttle system is a nice touch - makes getting around the resort easy in inclement weather, but most places are very walkable

Room Tip: Stay in the Chateau - worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa

Address: 1001 LaFayette Drive, Farmington, PA 15437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 2,000 acres in the Laurel Highlands of Western Pennsylvania and just 70 miles southeast of Pittsburgh, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort is consistently recognized in the travel and hospitality industry for superior service, luxurious accommodations, large selection of amenities and as a first-class meeting destination. Nemacolin is one of only 11 Resorts in the world to feature both Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five-Diamond lodging and dining. With activities and amenities galore you can expect the unexpected at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nemacolin Woodlands Hotel Farmington
Nemacolin Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.