We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE IS HEAVEN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1001 LaFayette Drive, Farmington, PA 15437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 50% off!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
1 review
“THIS PLACE IS HEAVEN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I unexpectedly ran accross this resort while searching for something special to do for my boyfriend's 40th birthday. Lucky for us, I saw Nemacolin! This resort is the best resort I have ever been to. From the golf courses, the running/walking trails, the pet spa, the service, and THE FOOD! It is a foodie paradise. We ate at L'autrec for brunch on Sunday before we left and we are still thinking about it 3 days later. Aqueous was also incredible. In addition to the food, the whole back side of the restaurant overlooks a beautiful golf course with rolling mountains. I have nothing but positive things to say about this place. You should go, for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,126
    314
    125
    53
    33
See reviews for
449
683
29
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, PA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have stayed at Nemacolin a number of times over the past 15 years. This is the first review that I have written about it. The first thing to point out is that rural southwestern Pennsylvania is not the place you might expect to find a high end resort like this. It is really out there by itself, not close to any population center. But, it is in a beautiful, scenic part of Pennsylvania with rolling hills and beautiful scenery, especially right now, in the fall (writing this after a weekend stay, the first weekend in October).

The resort has everything. It has high end lodging. We prefer the older "Lodge" section of the resort. The rooms there are all different and they have character. The newer "Chateaux" section is very nice with more spectacular high ceilings and more square footage. But, the Lodge section is really quaint and cozy. There also is the Falling Rock hotel on the property, which is basically a golfing hotel. That is about the only place we have not stayed at Nemacolin (not a golfer), but it is rated AAA 5 diamond, so that tells you what rarified company it keeps.

The restaurants at the resort are excellent. Lautrec is their top end restaurant. It is very expensive (not surprising), but consistently outstanding. It is the only AAA 5 diamond restaurant in western Pennsylvania. The head chef spent her last stint at The Inn at Little Washington under Patrick O'Connor before coming to Lautrec a few years ago. She is actually a western Pennsylvania native. Unlike some other AAA 5 diamond restaurants that we have tried around the country (where the menu items just get a little too weird), she has a great sensibility about her menu. It is basically just spectacular continental cuisine in my opinion (perhaps not the label the restaurant would apply, but that is what is seems like to me). The other great restaurant on the property is Aqueous, which is located at Falling Rock, the golf hotel. It sits right on the edge of the scenic golf course, looking out over the beautiful rolling hills of western PA. It is a beautiful setting with great food as well.

The grounds of the resort are spectacular. Of course, there is the golf. But, there also is a zoo! Yes, their own zoo! There are lions, a tiger, bears, wolves, and a number of other animals. You can walk through the animal viewing area and look at these animals. There is an antique car building. The owner is a collector of rare automobiles (among other things). There are walking trails. There is their own Caddy Shack mini-golf course. There is a spa and swimming pools. There are a number of shops on the property those interested in shopping. In the winter, they have their own small scale downhill ski hill and chair lift. There is a zip line, off road driving experience, shooting academy, equestrian, and on and on it goes. You would need to spend some time on their web site to understand it all.

It is just a special place. We love it. Of course, it is expensive. That is a given for a place like this. But, you will have special memories if you stay here.

Room Tip: The Lodge rooms are unique, each is different. Warm and cozy. Especially the corner rooms of the L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa is the best place for business or pleasure in the entire world! The staff is amazing, the activities that the resort offers are unbelievable. I go to Nemacolin every chance I get & I have never had a bad experience. It doesn't matter if you are young or old, the staff caters to you the minute that you step foot on property. It's a great place if you want to escape the stress of every day life or if you need a little "pick me up," or if you want to bond with your family. I am grateful for Nemacolin and recommend the resort to every traveler. The food is always superb. The spa is amazing. Alec and Rick have just the right touch if you would like a massage. The golf courses are perfect and in great shape. The zoo speaks for itself. But the STAFF - the staff is always there no matter what time day or night and will always go the extra mile. Try it...you will never want to leave!

Room Tip: For the family - try the lodge. For a romantic trip try the Chateau Club and for business go to Fal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I accompanied my husband on a business trip here this week. The first 2 nights we stayed at the Chateau and were very pleased by the huge guest room and bath. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the food was prepared and presented very nicely. The last night we moved over to Falling Rock...wonderful! Large suite, beautiful views, accommodating staff (complete with butler) and wonderful food at Aqueous. A trip to the spa for a couple's massage yielded, yet more relaxation. The staff there, very professional. The only downside to the trip was the 7 hour drive. Regardless of the travel time though, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Not familiar with rooms in The Lodge, but don't know how you could go wrong on any room/suite in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

First time visitor with a good friend, just a week day escape for some spa treatments. Excellent services from the valet all the way to check out. Spa services were really relaxing and just the thing for hard working professionals to get a few days off. Dinner at Autumn was excellent and service outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Wonderful few days with big clouds and the chance of rain but it all worked out . We had been disappointed one snowy April day so golf was important. Everyone was able to accomodate our need to go in between rain showers ,so tee times were amended , radar was watched and pro were consulted. We did tee off about 12, were rained on at the third hole for about 10 minutes but went on to play out the rest of the holes. Terrific.
That was followed by a good dinner, great accomodations and a staff that makes us feel like we are special friends.

Room Tip: corners are nice with a view to the sky
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

First time at Nemacolin. My wife and I went there on a Sunday to Wednesday for relaxing and golf. We had heard a lot about it and read the reviews, so maybe we had very high expectations. We stayed at the Lodge. Our overall impression was that the facilities passed their prime about 10 years ago and while the maintenance was good, some of the buildings, landscaping, grounds, etc. were getting dated and a little worn. It is a little confusing for first-timers in terms of how to get around and where things are. The place is huge. While there is something for everyone I think they could do a much better job of communicating the what, when, and where of the activities.

But, there was also a lot of positives. All of the restaurants were really good. We had a great dinner at Aqueous. We went trap shooting (first time trying it) and that facility was terrific and our instructor was a lot of fun.

We played golf on the Mystic Rock course and it was in excellent shape and a very nice layout. We were paired with a couple from DC area. We had golf carts but, the course requires that you all have a fore caddy. I like doing this when a play a course for the first time because they can really help. Our fore caddy was new -- only been there a few weeks. The couple we played with had the tee-time in front of us, but by the time they got us organized we went out on our tee-time which meant that there was a gap when we went out. We had a threesome of men behind us so they were waiting on us. After a few holes their fore caddy was starting to tell ours to speed things up because he saw the gap in front of us. We were playing at a pace to finish the front nine in 2hrs 10 minutes which is fast for a resort couse, but he kept on complaining. We were starting to get angry at the guy and our guy being new did not know what to say to him. When you pay alot of money for golf you want to enjoy it -- especially in such a nice setting. At the turn, we sat, had a sandwich and waited for them to go through us. When they came up we told them that we were going to let them go and all 3 of them said it was not them -- it was their fore caddy who was complaining -- they were fine and were going to also have a sandwich, etc. They said relax we were playing fast. We finshed the front nine in 2 hrs. and 5 minutes. After talking to the guys, we relaxed on the back nine and enjoyed it a lot more. The total round ended in 4 hrs. and 30 minutes. When we finshed, the couple we were with went into the pro shop to complain about the fore caddy behind us. The pro shop knew what time we went out and what time we finished. They were going to give us a free round the next day -- but it was our last day, so they refunded us 1/2 of our green fees for the trouble. I think this represents what others have said about the quality of the service.

Our room was very comfortable and large and the general service was very good.

We will go back. I think it is a place where the more often you go the more you will enjoy it. The couple we played golf with said they come there once a yeart and it does take a few times to learn the place and appreciate all that is offered. Maybe in a few years I will say excellent instead of very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa

Address: 1001 LaFayette Drive, Farmington, PA 15437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Farmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Farmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 2,000 acres in the Laurel Highlands of Western Pennsylvania and just 70 miles southeast of Pittsburgh, Nemacolin Woodlands Resort is consistently recognized in the travel and hospitality industry for superior service, luxurious accommodations, large selection of amenities and as a first-class meeting destination. Nemacolin is one of only 11 Resorts in the world to feature both Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five-Diamond lodging and dining. With activities and amenities galore you can expect the unexpected at Nemacolin Woodlands Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nemacolin Woodlands Hotel Farmington
Nemacolin Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.