We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolatea

Chocolatea
3811 Canterbury Rd, Baltimore, MD 21218-2340
410-366-0095
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #287 of 1,805 Restaurants in Baltimore
Restaurant details
Montville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Small place - could be cute - no thanks.
We ordered two omelettes. One with cheese & turkey sausage, the other with mushroom and tomato; one coffee and a bottle of water. The cashier rings it up at $31.00 - - WHAT? for 2 omelettes? Oh, let me see - she rings it up again - $18.00 - - never "I'm sorry"

The omelettes were the DRIEST / BLANDEST eggs we have ever eaten. The coffee was good, except that they charged me $1 for a refill, that I had to pay BEFORE she poured it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge, Maryland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best tuna melt Panni I ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I happened to stumbled by this small cozy cafe in the Ambassador Building one day while apartment hunting in the Charles Village area during lunch time. I was so impressed with the tuna melt with a slightly different kick - wasabi mayo, melted swiss cheese and fresh avocado slices. It was the most delicious tuna melt I ever had! I was even given a couple of % discount off by paying cash.Will be back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Small cozy little cafe in the corner that you spend hours in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I definitely recommend the Wonton soup and the rojak (indonesian noodles with peanut sauce). I get either one every single time i go. The chocolate tea lattes and sangrias are also so yummy! love this place!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Oodles of Noodles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Oodles of Noodles

What Janice serves is our delight
Be it her croissants or her noodles
And be they served by day or night
Of noodles there are always oodles.

Here aromatic coffees steam
Her teas are fragrant to the palate
While she and her assistants beam
When serving me my rudjak salad

Of chocolates, different kinds abound
From Switzerland they all have come
I could of them devour a pound,
So tasty and delicious – yum!

To her we go with appetite;
She feeds us and gives us to drink
A feast it is with every bite
As in our seats we sated sink.

Naar haar gaan wij met appetijt
Zij voedt ons en geeft ons te drinken
Een feest is het met elke bijt
Wij, zot, in onze zetels zinken.

By Hans Koeleman

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy cafe with great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My whole office dines here several times a week for lunch. The staff is always friendly. I have only ever ordered tea drinks here and all of them have been delicious. I usually order unsweetened tea and they taste naturally sweet. I love flavored teas. The tuna melt is my absolute favorite sandwich! With a wasabi kick and granny smith apples, it is so delicious. I also like the Rojak- noodles with a peanut sauce and chicken, very good. The chocolate is definitely pricey, but if you treat yourself to just one piece it's worth it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolatea also viewed

 

Been to Chocolatea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chocolatea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.