We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2.5 - Not Acceptable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court to your Saves list
Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   612 Cathedral Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Formerly the Latham Hotel) (Mount Vernon)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #31 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Detroit
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“2.5 - Not Acceptable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I was disappointed with my hotel choice for a few reasons. First, I’ll start with check and the room itself. I had requested an early check in at 3:00 (check in is at 4:00). We arrived at 3:30 and our room wasn’t ready. We were told it would be 4:30. We made the best of it and went and grabbed a drink. When returning to check in at 4:30 I was then told there was only a queen available when I had requested a double. We had to settle for that with a rollaway bed. Once again we made the best of it. The rollaway bed was awful! The mattress sunk in the middle. We put it on the floor as my nephew didn’t want to feel springs in his back.

Onto the room, it was SMALL, old, cramped, loud. The queen bed was okay with ample pillows. The room had an updated TV and a wet bar area with a coffee pot and mini fridge. The bathroom was quite big and unexpected. After seeing the room I was surprised to see a bathroom so large. The bathroom had large counter space and the shower had awesome pressure and was very hot! The shower was the best part of the room.

I had called the hotel before I checked in to verify that they provided blow dryers. They confirmed that they did. Our room was missing a blow dryer. I had requested one the night I checked in and I was told that they could not supply me with one as they were sold out. I was promised one Sunday morning. They still couldn’t supply on Sunday morning, and I was promised that I would have one later that day. After spending the day out and returning Sunday night there was still no blow dryer. To me this is just basic customer service.

Another problem with this hotel were the elevators, there were two very small and old elevators. Don’t expect to be down to the lobby quickly when staying here.
We also had a problem with valet. I was told to call 15 minutes before we needed our car. Early Sunday morning I called 20 minutes before we needed our car. We had to wait an additional 15 minutes for our car to arrive and then we were rudely reminded that we should have called beforehand.

The location was okay. We walked to Camden & Inner Harbor. We cabbed back at night. I felt safe in this area and I had no problems while walking around.
The hotels clerks at the front desk that I spoke and dealt with were all nice and polite. I realize that most of what I encountered wasn’t because of the clerks.

I realize this is an older property and usually I'm a fan of hotels with history, character and charm but this hotel had none of the above. I think with some updating that this hotel would have some potential.

I travel frequently and I think that I’m fairly easy to please. Almost all of my reviews are positive. I feel like this is a fair review of this hotel. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    237
    132
    59
    15
See reviews for
219
154
34
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The dark grey grim elevators need a new paint color and mirrors inserted in the panels. The ID system for the elevator is annoying and frustrating. Having been to hotels all over the world, I have never been entangled in a security system like this one. What about CCTV in the elevators. The lobby area around the front desk is too dark and a more aesthetic lighting system plus flowers would help. The huge debilitated white tree trunks serve no purpose and thus look ridiculous. They didn't work in the library seating area and they don't work at the front desk. The entire hotel needs a revitalized color scheme and rearrangement of lobby furniture, plus better more attractive lighting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I found the staff at this hotel to be warm, friendly and helpful, so I really hate having to post a negative review. My negative impressions began on entering the hotel. The lobby is shallow and somewhat shabby, with steps leading down to the small checkin area. The decor and fittings throughout the hotel feel old and dated. The room was large, but the furniture was chipped. Given the recent updates to beds made by big hotel chains, I found the bed in the room to be sagging and uncomfortable. Finally, the real killer was that I returned to my room after the first full day and found that the room had not been serviced. Although the front desk apologized profusely, the damage had been done - the thing that mattered most was that the supplies (including coffee) were not replenished. This has never happened to me before in all my years of traveling.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We ended up at the Wyndham after a disastrous night at the Mount Vernon Hotel around the corner. What a difference!

The hotel evokes the old charm charm of an era gone by with its beautiful Renaissance Revival facade. The rooms are very clean and extremely spacious, with all the amenities you would expect from a nice hotel. There even was a towel warmer in the bathroom!

The kingsize bed was very comfortable, sheets and bedding crisp and clean (something we definitely came to appreciate after the previous night).

The only drawback was the fact that most rooms apparently connect with the adjoining rooms, having a door on either side. Luckily, we had quiet neighbors and we were able to enjoy a restful night of sleep.

We did not have any contact with any of the staff since we only stayed one night, but the lady at the front desk was very professional and friendly.

We will definitely keep this hotel in mind for our future trips to Baltimore, since it is close to the Peabody Institute and a great value for the money!

Room Tip: Ask about a room without connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I chose the Wyndham initially because of price, but I was very pleasantly surprised! The location is surrounded by beautiful architecture as well as the hotel itself has old world beauty and charm. The rooms were very high quality for the price, large in space, towel warmers in the bathroom, and again full of charm. The staff was amazing from the door man to Debbie at the front desk. Very helpful and friendly! I would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court

Address: 612 Cathedral Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Formerly the Latham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#29 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court is a downtown Baltimore Hotel providing boutique lodging accommodations in the historic Mt. Vernon neighborhood. Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court is within walking distance to many area attractions including Walters Art Museum, Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore’s Inner Harbor, Ravens Stadium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, National Aquarium and much more.From the moment you enter Wyndham Baltimore Naltimore Peabody Court, there’s no mistaking our mission: to surround you with the warmth and charm of a historic hotel and to provide you with the gracious amenities and services that are the mark of our world-class hospitality.You’ll experience our attentive staff that caters to your needs. Quietly. Unobtrusively. You’ll see it in antique furnishings, original artwork, period furnishings, full marble baths, European heated towel warmers… and the dramatic six-foot Baccarat crystal chandelier in our tiered lobby. We know your stay with us will be special in every possible way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court Hotel Baltimore
Clarion Peabody Court
Clarion Hotel Baltimore
Clarion Baltimore
Baltimore Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Baltimore Peabody Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.