We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set your expectation correctly.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Baltimore

Motel 6 Baltimore
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Baltimore to your Saves list
Motel 6 Baltimore
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Bloomfield Ave., Baltimore, MD 21227 (Formerly Quality Inn Harbor South)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
RI, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Set your expectation correctly.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It's a Motel 6: Thin towels and bedding. Small bathroom. Mushy mattress. No iron in room. Old-style square TV. Furniture of same vintage. Stained lamp shade.

But basically clean and nothing scary or revolting about it.

It is next to a restaurant/bar/nightclub that was packed the Friday I was there. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the side away from it. Otherwise expect noise some.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    15
    10
    32
See reviews for
10
14
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here for one evening with a couple of friends. I was actually pretty surprised that the room was pretty big and that it seemed very clean.Sure, everything was obviously old, including the bathroom, but it was still pretty well-maintained. Since this isn't a high-class hotel obviously, there were less amenities (no iron or coffeemaker), but there were towels and toiletries, even though I was expecting none. The bed was very comfy too.

The frontdesk staff was great, and I had nothing but good things to say about her. She was attentive to our needs and was very easy to talk to.

The problem lay in the fact that the room we got was right across the stairs, and sometime in the evening, around 10-11pm, a drunk guy was in front of our door and would occasionally pound on it. The good thing is that the door was locked, and we were so exhausted anyway to complain/call the manager, and by the next morning he was gone, so all was well and good.

One more thing is that, the walls are kinda thin, and throughout the night we could hear people talking, occasionally a couple screaming at each other, but then again, this is what we paid for, I guess.

I emailed the motel 6 management about this, and they responded quickly with an apology and that they would do something about it. That part is impressive, so I think the bottomline is, I had a better-than-average stay here, except for that isolated event that happened to me and my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a pretty nice hotel. The property is clean, the staff is courteous, and helpful. The room is clean, as well as the bath. I would still recommend the use of shower shoes. The knock on this place is that the heat control cannot be adjusted. It is either on and the room gets unbearably hot, or it is off. I have stayed there a few times, and this seems to be the same in most rooms. All and all, it is a decent stay for the money. One tip: book online you'll save even more.

Room Tip: There is a bar and grill in front of the property and it gets a little noisy, so the back side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I know you get what you pay for, but in this day and age, really all you're looking for in a cheap motel is a clean room with decent WiFi. However, the WiFi worked only about 5-10% of the time.

On top of it, they provided only a thin blanket, so you were forced to turn on the noisy heater all night, just for the lowest heat setting.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If your only criteria is cheap price and your already in the area then this place might be okay for you. I felt nervous about whether my car would still be around when I woke up in the morning. The thing is the parking lot was full when I did wake up in the morning and yes, my car was still there. So a lot of people were staying there... at least that night they did. The room was not nice at all and not clean and the exterior areas were even worse. The ice machine on the ground level was kaput but I did manage to get some out of the machine up on the 4th (top) floor. I chose this place last minute on the basis that it was supposed to be close to the inner harbor i.e. downtown Baltimore. Well, I think now that I really should have known better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I always visit Baltimore for the Baseball Games. This is the best hotel in the downtown area to stay in, because the other hotels are way too expensive. The front desk staff is very good, and go above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. It is an old building, but is well maintained and the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Im begging you!!!!! Very old and not updated in years. If you do decide to stay please be careful, not a safe environment at all. Blankets had holes in them from cigeratte burns. There was mold in the bathroom. My room came without a microwave and iron, which is suppose to be in every room. I spoke with the property manager and talking to him is useless. He is just out to get that money and is not concerns at all about the customers.

Room Tip: Pay more, its worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Baltimore

Address: 1401 Bloomfield Ave., Baltimore, MD 21227 (Formerly Quality Inn Harbor South)
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Baltimore 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Quality Inn Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.