We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #25 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waterford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here on a busy Preakness weekend. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location of the hotel is ideal; right on the Inner Harbor you are only minutes away from restaurants, bars and all the attractions the Inner Harbor has to offer. Also convenient to lite rail and metro if you want to visit other parts of the city. The room was clean and well appointed. We would stay here again on our next visit to the city

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    468
    182
    48
    34
See reviews for
298
251
49
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had two rooms at this hotel. One of the rooms had an exquisite view of the harbor. Both rooms were extremely nice and comfortable inside with very quiet a/c system and a good bed.

But we had problems with the hotel. First off, the self parking is a nightmare. We got a ticket from the garage, had it validated at the front desk and it couldn't be read by the equipment at the exit. In the end, someone from the front desk had to go to the garage and get us a new ticket which would let us out. That's not a very good process and it also resulted in our being quite late for dinner. In addition, we received an unrequested wake up call at 6am. There's no excuse for the hotel to take a request for a wake up call and not check the room number the request is coming from. That's sloppy. And finally, you can hear everything in the rooms. The windows are so poor that even though we were on the 9th floor I could hear the street performers quite clearly. Anyone in the hallway and every door slamming could be heard as well. My daughter informed me in the morning that she heard someone drunk at 2am singing in their room for over 30 minutes.

Overall, a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The only reason we stayed here was because of friends from Kentucky, who we were meeting to join to go on a cruise to Bermuda, were here. Large hotel with one set of elevators that can leave you a long road trip to your room, pack a lunch. Staff was very friendly but I found it odd that they would charge for internet when they charge so much for a room, lesser hotels have this service for free. We spent 2 nights and the location close to the the Inner Harbor was excellent. Overall for the cost of the room we were not "overwhelmed" by any means. Clean and comfortable for 2 nights but we will definitely look at a less cost alternative on a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators, if you have a number of pieces of luggage use one of the lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our room was a decent size and the view was lovely. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They made people feel very welcome. The room didn't have a refrigerator and when we asked the desk to put one in they said engineering would bring one up but they never did. The pool area was clean and nice. The only odd thing is that housekeeping cleaned the room with a closed door which I have never seen anywhere in the world. It's odd when you come back to your room and there is a cleaning cart blocking it and then the cleaning person is inside your room with the door closed. Also the hotel left a trash bag and a breakfast tray in the hallway overnight. If you are looking for a hotel near the harbor this is a nice choice but it had a few minor issues.

Room Tip: Rooms were quiet in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJU
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Last minute reservation thru Priceline got us the room at more than 50% off so we were happy.
The location is right in front of the harbor so perfect if you are doing the tourist things. Room huge, bathrooms nice, tiny thin towels, Aveda toiletries, nice decor. Very friendly valet and front desk.

But if we had paid listed amount we would have been extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Delaware
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location, twice as expensive as another hotel we stayed in on the Inner Harbor, yet not that much better. Valet parking was available, expensive, but available, and for that I am grateful. Staff helpful and attentive. No mini-bars!. Would have been nice. A good place, but a little expensive for Baltimore.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillsville, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night before we left on a cruise. Then we stayed for a day after disembarking from the cruise at 8:00 AM before we took the train home in the afternoon. It was nice to have a place to "land" after the cruise. We did not have to wander around the inner harbor with our luggage. The location could not have been better. It was right across the street from our small ship. We had a courtyard room the night we stayed. It was very nice and quiet. There were three of us, so we had a roll away bed delivered. Even with the extra bed, there was plenty of room to move around, and my mom is in a wheelchair. For our short day stay after the cruise, we had a harbor view, which was so nice; great memory for our last day in Baltimore. It was very convenient to all the venues along the inner harbor. I want to mention the employees who made our stay so wonderful: Sainabou and Patrice, thanks for the great rooms; Derrick, you are so special .. thanks for helping us get our bags to the dock boarding area; and finally, Terrance, Howard and Dianne . . you are wonderful people. If I ever come back to Baltimore, I would absolutely stay at this property.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#23 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the vibrant atmosphere of Baltimore's famed Inner Harbor from the distinctive Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, where waterfront views, luxury accommodations and remarkable service set the standard for downtown Baltimore hotels. Laced with the city's charm and surrounded by an abundance of landmarks, our sophisticated hotel puts guests near upscale shopping, fine dining and fun things to do in downtown Baltimore, Maryland. Offering a variety of accommodations, guests will find it easy to relax as all rooms feature luxury linens, marble bathrooms, Enhanced High-Speed Internet access and room service so they can make the most of their travel time. On-site amenities include our popular Watertable restaurant and lounge, a 24-hour fitness center and refreshing indoor pool. Conveniently situated near the Baltimore Convention Center, our luxury hotel's impressive meeting and event space is ideal for hosting downtown conferences and elegant social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.