We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inner harbor location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great inner harbor location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was in Baltimore for business and I chose this hotel because my client had a corporate rate there (still pricey, though!). My room had a harbor view which was fantastic. The room itself was spacious and well appointed but just starting to show just a bit of wear. The wireless-only internet offered decent speed and the TV offered a wide variety of channels of which many were in hi-def.

The staff was very good, especially the doormen who had to summon my cab every morning. There was a sign at the elevators promising improvements but I did not find them that bad.

I ate a couple of meals in the restaurant, which were OK. There are dining options galore, however, ranging from fast food at the directly-attached mall to the many restaurants across the street in the Inner Harbor complex. If you have access to the Concierge Lounge, you will get a basic breakfast but the evening spread is enough to construct a full meal (per-diem business travelers take note).

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms rule!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    434
    171
    44
    33
See reviews for
286
231
45
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, NB
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

There for conference. Recommend pay for upgraded room on inner harbour side. Spectacular views. Be prepared to pay for everything. Nothing comes for free here. Internet was $12.95 for the day. Rooms are spacious and clean. City traffic was quite noisy. Walk around downtown is awesome and only across the street from hotel. Too many restaurants within 10 minute walk to mention. Hotel staff were all quite friendly and all services were above standard. Will return!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My spouse and I stayed here for a week while on business. We are offering our unbiased opinion on this establishment. Take a read!

1> The doormen/valet - They are top notch. They are super courteous and prompt.

2> Front Desk & Concierge - Again, top notch. Attentive, helpful and willing to bend over backwards for you.

3> Conference Halls - Tasteful, spacious and the electronics are state of the art.

4> Elevators - They are super slow, however, they are taking the initiative of a multimillion dollar upgrade. Props to them! So I won't hold that against them!

5> Rooms - We stayed on he 12th floor. The room was nicely decorated. Loved the colors. The view of the harbor was incredible. We were right in front of the USS Constellation. The only complaint is I wish the fridge was a bit bigger. You couldn't really place anything inside it.

6> Excercise room - The best gym we've seen in a hotel, EVER. And we travel all over the world. Super super thumbs up to you guys!

7> Room service - Mediocre. They were late each time they came in the morning, BUT they were super nice.

8> Food - Mediocre. Honestly, the omelet across the street at the Cheesecake Factory was 1000 times better. I'm keeping it real here.

9> Location - I thought it was great! You are adjacent to The Gallery Mall, and across the street from more shopping, food, tourist stops and the water taxi.

10> Internet - They internet never lost its connection, however, being on the 12th floor (the executive floor, if you will) it should have been free.

11> Housekeeping - INCREDIBLY nice - super efficient and a great touch with the 'turn down' in the evening with the chocolates!


Overall: A great hotel to stay in Maryland. Great location and we felt safe the entire time.

Why only a four star rating and not a five star? The food should have been better, room service should have been prompt and the elevators should be up to par.

That's my story and I'm sticking to it!

Room Tip: It's worth getting a room on the 12th floor and be sure to ask for a harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Very frightening place to stay, even after you are able to get past the thugs who are "employed" as valets here. After waiting nearly a half hour for their friends' cars to be cleared to provide access to the font drive to try to be able to check in, I still had to navigate through and disturb their party to get back to my car with my luggage to self park.

The front desk clerk had said she would take care of the throng in front, and she didn't.

So with no other option, I put my luggage back in the car and patiently waited for the throng to clear to provide access to the garage. After another half hour, I was able to maneuver towards the entrance to the garage. At that point, one of the employees in the throng sensed a duty called and he stepped in front to wave me onto the street.

I bypassed him and took the finally-open entrance to the garage.

Once in the garage, I saw only signs for the mall and offices so I hauled my luggage back up the ramps that I had descended moments before. The, after a 24 hour journey from Europe, I made my way past the employee thug fest and opened the door to locate the elevators. There was never an offer of any kind of assistance from anyone at anytime, and it was frightening and I felt like an intruder.

Then, the quiet room With a view I had reserved three months prior, has a view of a parking garage, fully lighted all night long and the four lane highway outside has the sound of decelerating eighteen wheelers all night long.

My first stay in Baltimore and I hope I survive it!

Pretty picture on the website is a totally deceptive scam. Do not stay here unless you bring a security detail and pack a Kevlar vest.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Came in on a Tuesday late afternoon...stayed in for room service and ironing...I know, exciting. The room was perfect except it was about a mile from the elevator...other than that it was fine. The housekeeping and room service were great. The food pretty good. Beds comfortable...had everything I needed. Free internet would be nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not close to the elevator but not a mile away either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

this place is amazing! staff is so friendly, rooms are nice and bed is so comfortable. the room we were in had a beautiful view of the harbor. I have stayed in dozens of hotel chains over 200 nights a year and this hotel is beyond the best I’ve ever stayed in. if I were to gripe about anything it would be the slow elevators that are being redone, but that's really just being nitpicky.

I pray my company sends me back to Baltimore in January just so I can stay here for 3 weeks. great job guys keep up the good work!

Room Tip: ask for a harbor view, if you are lucky enough to get one it's so worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Rooms were very nice. We were facing the harbor and the street and even though we were on the 11th floor, there was a lot of noise from the street. The water pressure was extremely low in the shower. I do think they should provide free wifi in the rooms. In the elevator, we were explaining to our 10 year old who signed up for wifi in the room without our knowledge that there was a fee to do that ($13/day). An employee of the hotel heard our conversation and came over to us with a certificate covering the wifi fee. I'm so sorry that I don't remember his name! What a really nice surprise! Found the staff to be quite friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the vibrant atmosphere of Baltimore's famed Inner Harbor from the distinctive Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, where waterfront views, luxury accommodations and remarkable service set the standard for downtown Baltimore hotels. Laced with the city's charm and surrounded by an abundance of landmarks, our sophisticated hotel puts guests near upscale shopping, fine dining and fun things to do in downtown Baltimore, Maryland. Offering a variety of accommodations, guests will find it easy to relax as all rooms feature luxury linens, marble bathrooms, Enhanced High-Speed Internet access and room service so they can make the most of their travel time. On-site amenities include our popular Watertable restaurant and lounge, a 24-hour fitness center and refreshing indoor pool. Conveniently situated near the Baltimore Convention Center, our luxury hotel's impressive meeting and event space is ideal for hosting downtown conferences and elegant social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;