We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Party - VIP Package” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Baltimore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lord Baltimore Hotel to your Saves list
Lord Baltimore Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 West Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Party - VIP Package”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The party areas of the hotel were very nice, the staff was exceptional! The room overall was good, the bathroom is really old and needs updated. I am a little picky but the wallpaper was coming off the wall and the bathtub is worn looks unclean. The hotel as I said is lovely. The host of the party Charm City Countdown did a poor job with the party. The food was excellent but the bars were very overcrowded and the comedian never showed up for the show. Overall, I probably would not spend the $560.00 this cost again!

Room Tip: This hotel is under renovations I would ask for a renovated room before staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Operations Manager at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Thank you for being part of our New Year's Celebration. I am sorry to hear to you were not 100% satisfied.

As you mentioned we are under renovation and our first half of our guest rooms will become available in a couple of weeks. So call us, we would love to have you stay with us again! Give us the opportunity to make your stay memorable the next time you are in Baltimore, Inner Harbor.

The Lord Baltimore has more than eight decades of hospitality and is once again poised to become the Premier Baltimore Destination! Many more changes are ahead as the hotel begins its rebirth! from our Guest Rooms and our public spaces we are just excited! We want you to be part of that...

Again, thank you for your patronage, and we look forward to serving you the next time your schedule brings you back to Baltimore. If you need assistance don't hesitate to contact me at 410-539-8400 Ext. 3305.

Sincerely,

Abraham Esquivel
Dir. of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    121
    42
    25
    17
See reviews for
59
75
26
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Easily the worst hotel I have stayed at in the last year. The room was filthy. I stayed on 01/06/14 and found a Champagne cork on the floor which I can only imagine had been there since 01/01. A simple vacuum or just looking down would have caught that.Hair could be found throughout the bathroom.The shower water temperature was in constant flux and I was grateful to escape without third degree burns or frostbite .Taking the elevators was an adventure. I felt lucky every time the door opened and I was within 2 feet of the floor selected. They are renovating but seem to be concentrating on cosmetic lobby improvements. The rooms are were outdated in the '80's. It's just a very old run down building with terrible housekeeping . It would take many years and probably more money than anyone is willing to spend to help this property.
On a brighter note, the location is great.





Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Operations Manager at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I want to apologize for the poor experience you had while staying at our hotel because of the elevator and your overall experience with your room. Clearly we let you down.

The Lord Baltimore Hotel is going through a remarkable transformation right now. I know you'll love the hotel next time you visit we ask you to give us the opportunity to assist you again. We are not just revamping our lobby it's the rebirth of the Lord Baltimore Hotel with brand new boutique style rooms completely redesigned along with all the outlets of the hotel which is only a couple of weeks away.

“The bones of the hotel are historic and regal…” is one of the comments from our guests that have research the history of The Lord Baltimore established 1928.

I sincerely hope you will accept our apologies and give us another chance to show you that we can do better. Please call me at 410-539-8400 ext. 3305 and I will be happy to discuss your stay personally.

Sincerely,

Abraham Esquivel
Director of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel was an art-deco period style hotel which I imagined would have been very grand back in its day - we did see a piano player at one point in the lobby. I still found the architecture very beautiful even though there was a vast amount of scaffolding in place. We checked in easily and our room although a little dated was clean and charming. We were on one of the upper floors where there was an ice machine. The room was warm, the WIFI didn't quite reach the room but we didn't really need it. The hotel was in walking distance of the harbour and midtown, it is surrounded by shops and restaurants. It is only two minutes to subways and even closer to bus stations which is how we arrived. The staff were friendly and very helpful with directions. I would like to return to see the hotel once the renovations are finished.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Operations Manager at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our staff, thank you for your feedback on Trip Adivisor. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Thank you for allowing us to serve you.Our Historic Lord Baltimore Hotel has begun the renovation and restoration on all guest rooms and public spaces and we have a few floors already renovated. I hope you get an opportunity to stay with us again on your next visit to Baltimore and see our renovated hotel!

Don't hesitate to call us directly to book your reservation the next time you are in the Charm City of Baltimore.

Sincerely,

Abraham Esquivel
Director of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
410-539-8400 ext 3305
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I wanted to treat myself as part of my road trip out of town to the Sun Shine State. I saw that Lord Baltimore had a wonderful deal on Christmas evening. Why not? I knew that it was recently purchased and was undergoing a major renovation to a 4-5 star hotel, back to retro Art Deco - Great Gatsby era. I saw the poor reviews; knew of the age of the hotel (but I knew the quality of the people that worked within). Again, why not for a night. It fit in with the budget.

Room Tip: Even the bathrooms have windows! Upper floors for better views, south of building (front) Within wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Operations Manager at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Thank you for allowing us to serve you on your way out of town. Thank you for mentioning our dedicated customer service staff and on behalf of them I want to say Thank You! for choosing the Lord Baltimore Hotel. Please come back and see our newly renovated rooms and public space.

Don't hesitate to call me directly to book your reservation the next time you pass through the Charm City of Baltimore.

Sincerely,

Abraham Esquivel
Director of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
410-539-8400 Ext 3305
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is gorgeous! They are currently renovating so there is room for some basic changes but the hand-carved ceiling, winding staircases, and elegant chandrliers make it easy to overlook. We booked this hotel for a New Years event they were holding. The party is thrown by Caring Communities and is always at a different venue. This year the theme was Great Gatsby and the Lord Baltimore was the perfect fit. I felt like I was back in the Roaring 20's. The room was nice but the beds could be a bit nicer. I liked that all the toiletries were natural and the wrapping was recyclable. The staff made our stay very pleasant. Everyone was on point and very polite. Can't wait to go back after the renovations are complete!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Operations Manager at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. On behalf of the staff we can't thank you enough for your business! Thank you for celebrating the new year with us!

The hand-carved ceiling, winding staircases and the elegant chandeliers make The Lord Baltimore the Premier Baltimore Destination! and many say "A Must See" from our new French Kitchen Restaurant to our newly renovated and redesigned boutique guest rooms and much more. Many more changes are ahead as the hotel begins its rebirth! We want to invite you back to see it all! Please give me a call the next time you are in Baltimore, Inner Harbor.

Sincerely,

Abraham Esquivel
Dir. of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
410-539-8400 ext 3305
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I recently attended a wedding and the service was incredible. As soon as I walked in I was greeted by the General Manager Abraham, he was very helpful. He also help me with my luggage and made sure my room was good. The restaurant was amazing the food and service. I was well informed of the attractions around Baltimore, the best in charm city!!! Would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBH1928, Director of Operations at Lord Baltimore Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Jenny,

I am the Director of Operations here at the Lord Baltimore and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay here at the Lord Baltimore Hotel. We appreciate all feedback, and I'm thrilled to hear that your stay with us was as pleasant one. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the new French Kitchen Restaurant.

We are excited to share with our guests of our renovation. Our first half of our guest rooms will be available towards the end of January 2014. So call us, we would love to have you stay with us again!

The Lord Baltimore has more than eight decades of hospitality and is once again poised to become the Premier Baltimore Destination! Many more changes are ahead as the hotel begins its rebirth!

Again, thank you for your patronage, and we look forward to serving you the next time your schedule brings you back to Baltimore.

Abraham Esquivel
Director of Operations
Lord Baltimore Hotel
410-539-8400 Ext. 3105
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Baltimore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Baltimore Hotel

Address: 20 West Baltimore Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#30 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lord Baltimore Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Elegance in the heart of Baltimore Welcome to the Lord Baltimore Hotel, housed in a stunning French Renaissance building and located in the heart of downtown Baltimore, MD and just three blocks from the famous Inner Harbor. The historic Lord Baltimore Hotel features complimentary services such as high-speed wireless Internet access, HD televisions with sixty complimentary channels, custom designed linens, plush pillow top mattresses and much more. Guests at this grand hotel enjoy easy access and exclusive offers at area attractions including the National Walters Museum, and Visionary Museum, Baltimore Museum, Peabody Library and concert venues. The Lord Baltimore Hotel is in the City's Business and Financial Districts and is one of the best Baltimore Inner Harbor hotels. Towering over the Baltimore skyline at 23 stories with 440 guest rooms, the hotel offers more than 20,000 square feet of meeting, banquet and event space including two roof top garden decks for private events. Lord Baltimore Hotel offers a magnificent and historic 1928 grand ballroom that features Baccarat crystal chandeliers. A mirrored replica of Versailles, in the grand French style is the setting for our dining room - the French Kitchen. Additional dining is offered in the lobby bar, the LB Tavern and our signature LB Bakery which features freshly baked products, soups and sandwiches created by our own pastry team. Fully renovated and restored in the spring of 2014, all guest rooms and public spaces feature authentic and unique designs that incorporate state-of-the-art technology while embracing the historic ambience of this National Trust treasured property. In 2014, the hotel will also re-launch the long hidden Speakeasy that was closed with the repeal of Prohibition. The hotel is located in the city center near the intersection of Baltimore and Charles Street in the heart of Baltimore (at Baltimore & Hanover Street). Join us and explore the history, class and charm of the Lord Baltimore Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Lord Baltimore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Plaza Lord Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Radisson Baltimore
Baltimore Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Baltimore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.