We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place; incredible bell/valet staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Customize Your Stay!
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jersey Shore - Ocean County
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome place; incredible bell/valet staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here just this past Monday. Got a great deal on Priceline and was absolutely pleased with the whole experience. I brought two bicycles to tour the city with and the bellmen (I truly wish I had caught their names....both days they were so accommodating and extremely helpful) were more than helpful in offering to store them for me overnight and again after I checked out and walked the Inner Harbor by foot (it was pouring rain Tuesday and we chose to run in the rain rather than bike).

The room was perfect. Soft, comfy bed and nice flat screen tv. Keurig coffee was available also. Clean. Absolutely no complaints here.

I will absolutely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Jen, thank you for sharing your experience! Once again, the dedication of our team members led to a memorable guest experience, and we could not be more proud of our amazing Bell/Door/Valet team. We appreciate that you pointed out that our guestrooms each feature a Keurig, another feature that sets us apart from other Inner Harbor hotels--that's right, it'snot an ordinary coffeemaker, it's a Keurig! While we provide several k-cups, if you have a favorite k-cup you enjoy at home, bring it with you--no longer do you have to give up your morning cup of coffee for a generic hotel cup of coffee.

Glad you found us on Priceline! Next time we hope you'll plan to stay with us again while visiting Charm City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    167
    72
    37
    28
See reviews for
198
263
21
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Got the VROOM with a view package: free valet parking, free breakfast, and a view overlooking the Inner Harbor. Staff could not have been more helpful, professional & courteous. Beautiful indoor salt water pool and jacuzzi. Very quiet considering the location. Was the perfect place to meet my sister for a Girls Getaway. Truly loved it and were treated like Very Important Guests.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
All of our guests truly are very important guests, and I am glad to hear we accomplished our mission by delivering a memorable experience to you and your sister. As a smaller property, we excel at providing personalized genuine service. By the way, the Vroom with a View Package is my favorite package because it combines the three facets of our hotel that appeal to nearly every guest--an amazing view, valet parking (we are within driving range of tens of millions of guests along the East Coast), and full American breakfast for two. Rubi, come back to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were a little hesitant to stay here after reading the reviews. ALL employees, from James who met us at the door to Cody who found our pillows and sent them FedEx, were wonderful. We left a day early because the art museums were closed on Tuesday and the lady at the front desk waived the $50 cancellation fee. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant and were pleased with the food and service. They had the best workout facility we have seen at a hotel and nice pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing such great details about your recent stay! James and Cody are two among our dozens of shining stars, and we will take great care to make sure they both read your warm comments about the genuine personalized service that was memorable to you. We also appreciate the great comments about our large Fitness Center. As you mentioned, our facility goes above and beyond what's typically found in a hotel. We offer a large salt water indoor pool (long enough for lap swimming), a hot tub, men's and women's saunas, a racquetball court, Life Fitness equipment, free weights, a yoga room (including weekly pilates classes), and a new outdoor sport court that can be set for tennis, volleyball, and basketball. We hope you'll be back soon to enjoy our Inner Harbor hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We came here for our anniversary in 2013 and my now husband proposed here. We loved the hotel - clean and beautiful and excellent location.

This year we were scheduled to return but had to cancel our overnight stay. We asked if we could still use the lobby to do our engagement pictures although we were not paying to stay and they agreed with no hesitations or problems.

We can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
We are grateful to learn that we will always be a special part of your family's story, and we hope to always hold a special place in your hearts. Congratulations on the big day! I am glad to hear that our team was able to come through in our time of need and allowed you to take pictures on our majestic lobby spiraling staircase--and now you will have picture to match your memories for a lifetime! When your life settles down, you'll have to plan a visit to spend a romantic night with us along the banks of the Inner Harbor--perhaps in a Junior Suite with the huge soaking tub?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights and was really disappointed. First of all, room was not ready until 7 pm! They offered us a drink coupon for inconvenience. Really? And btw the bar closes at 11 on the dot! Our room was very old and tired, smelled musty, carpet dirty and worn, and furniture old and headboard dusty to boot! The rooms were large but I would trade fresh and small any day for the price! The staff is in need of some customer service training at the very least, front desk staff was rude on several occasions. The only reason I give this location 2 stars is location and valet car attendants. And the dinner suggestion for a great place down the street by a gentlemen at the front desk.

Room Tip: If you pay for a harbor room view make sure you are in section right next to water- if not your view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
I am disappointed as well--disappointed that we got off to such a poor start by not having a room ready until 7:00 pm. Though this is by no means a normal occurrence, obviously it happened to you and set the tone for a stay that did not meet our standards or yours. I am familiar with the circumstances that took place the weekend of your stay that led to this result, but the bottom line is we have to do better than this--and the stress of being backed up in having rooms ready is certainly not an excuse for any team member to treat you poorly. On behalf of our entire team, I extend our apologies to you. Thank you so much for recognizing the service excellence of our valet team, and for mentioning that our of our Front Desk team members provided a great recommendation to you.

When you are ready to return to the Inner Harbor, please reach out to me directly, and I will assist in ensuring that your next experience staying at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is a much more pleasant experience that you will rave about. Thank you for letting us know about your experience--we will use your comments in our daily ongoing training with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed at this hotel with a group for a convention the first weekend of August. It was the best hotel stay of my life!!!! We checked in at 6pm, and were extremely delighted to hear that they upgraded our room to the junior suite (added 300sq ft) which made it perfect to roll out our blow up mattress for the four of us in the room. The mini fridge was great, the tv had enough channels to occupy us when getting ready in the morning, the view was BEAUTIFUL.
And the best part? THE BATHROOM!!!!! Two sinks to speed up getting ready between 4 people, the shower was literally a room of it's own and the bath tub was larger than most hot tubs!!! On our last night, we filled it up, dumped the bath gel in it and sat around with our legs in it. Luxurious for sure!!!!!!!
The hotel staff was also very delightful! They would stop us to take pictures of our costumes and joke around with us, all while holding the doors for us when we'd get back at night and helping load up the car on our way home. They held a special place in my heart for sure!!!
And now, the thing that is REALLY going to bring us back: the location! You can either walk down the block and turn right to get food at the inner harbor, or turn left and walk a few blocks to the convention center. The street is nice and tucked away so that you aren't stressed out by the traffic, yet it is still so close to everything that's going on. And for all those amenities, you can't beat it!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Royal Sonesta as your hotel of choice during the recent Bronycon convention--we hope you'll be back next year! Your detailed review was one of the most thorough I have ever read about our 700-square foot Junior Suites. The incredible marble bath in each of these suites each features a double vanity, a six foot soaking tub (bigger than some hotels' hot tubs, as you mentioned), and an oversized marble shower stall with brass door handles. And each of these suites offers simply unmatched harbor views--imagine standing in one of the two floor-to-ceiling bay windows that allow one to be surrounded in three directions by the waterfront sites. We also thank you for mentioning that our terrific staff added so much to your enjoyment of our hotel. Make sure to book early for the convention in 2015, as Bronycon is growing by leaps and bounds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I just checked into this hotel. The lobby had all sorts of dirt on the floor. Our lovely harbor view suite has chipped paint, ripped wallpaper, and stained carpeting. It's a shame. There doesn't seem to be the maintenance equal to the lovely furnishings. Hopefully our stay will improve. We haven't tried any meals yet.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Lisa, thank you for your candid feedback. We hope that the rest of you stay was far better than the beginning, and on behalf of our entire team, I apologize for getting your stay off on the wrong foot. While our property is renowned for cleanliness, we are well aware that the property is in need of a renovation. Beginning at the end of the year, we will undergo a complete makeover that will result in all-new guestrooms, a new lobby, and brand-new public space by the beginning of spring 2015. Stay tuned to this space for more details (and pictures) to come. We hope that you will return following our renovation and give us another chance to deliver the exceptional guest service and Inner Harbor experience that are our hallmark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#9 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.