We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picky wife was pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #9 of 68 hotels in Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Picky wife was pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We needed to stay in Baltimore for one night and wanted a hotel that was close to everything. I was surprised at how quiet our room was considering its location in the heart of the Inner Harbor. Parking was convenient, the view was lovely, and all the staff members we dealt with were wonderful and seemed genuinely interested in helping us when we had questions (not the typical mechanical, rehearsed tone one expects to hear). Several restaurants, shops, and attractions within a quick walk from the hotel made this an excellent choice for us. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a harbor view; was a beautiful sight to wake up to.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear htschena, thank you for the great five star review! I’m happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you sharing details of your stay on TripAdvisor. Our location to the Inner Harbor is popular with our guests for its walkability to many of the attractions. Our staff strives to deliver personable, excellent customer service to our guests and your experience speaks to that. We look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    134
    54
    23
    20
See reviews for
159
212
11
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

From our arrival till our departure simply a fantastic experiance. The hotel is located directly across the street from the inner harbor and walking distance to great entertainment and eats. The room was perfect as was the gym. I would not change a single thing. Kuddos to the front desk staff and the town car service.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear andycrna, thank you for the great five star review! I appreciate you sharing details of your stay and delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. Our hotel staff is the best in the city and deliver exemplary service to our guests. We look forward to having you stay at any of our properties when you are traveling. Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had an amazing experience last week, facilities were great valet attendant cliff was awesome!!! Ask for a room higher then the third floor facing the inner harbor. The room service is spectacular the food was great, I would highly recommend when visiting

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear thisfamilyisluvinhhi, thank you for the great five star review! I’m happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you as well for mentioning Cliff by name. We are very proud of our staff and the excellent service that is delivered to our guests. Thanks again for the great review, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just married the weekend before and returning wedding items to our florist in Baltimore, my wife and I planned a "staycation" mini-honeymoon, checked in late and were immediately upgraded to a magnificent 1 bedroom suite by Khadija at the front desk. It was larger than our apartment at home! We enjoyed a huge soaking tub and a magnificent view of the harbor, along with our own dining room! Extremely friendly staff and reasonable overnight parking accommodations. Gym, jacuzzi, and pool facilities were generous and relaxing. Minor issues with a bathroom light bulb and a power outlet. Many fond memories -- we will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Daniel Y, congratulations on your marriage! Thank you for the great five star review and choosing to spend your “staycation”/mini honeymoon with us. Our views of the Inner Harbor are very popular with our guests, and I’m glad you had a chance to experience it from one of our suites. Thank you as well for mentioning Khadija by name; it is our goal to deliver great service to our guests and Khadija did just that. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've stayed here once a year for years and have always enjoyed the property. But this stay was different. Maybe I just got a bad room? The room itself had all the charm of a hospital room. Sterile is the word. The beds had no duvet and lacked any color at all. They looked very uninviting. I saw the wall paper pulled away from the wall in several places, the furniture was scuffed and rough in places, and amazingly, the "nice" chair in the room had it's dust ruffle missing with only a row of strings hanging in the front. This is a super nice hotel? The bathroom wasn't great. The toilet top was askew as though it had been fixed recently. It flushed in an odd wheezy way. The toilet seat was lose and slid from side-to-side. The tub drain stopper was jammed in place and not attached properly. I had to dig it out to keep the tub from filling during my shower. There was no spot to plug in and recharge my electronics and the flat screen TV was small and ancient. Frankly, this room needed a refresh desperately. My experience was not four star or even three...Come on Royal Sonesta! Shape up this well located hotel!

Room Tip: The front side gives you both great harbor views and all the noise from the busy downtown street jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Phil U, thank you for your review and sharing your feedback. Please accept our most sincere apology as we did not live up to your expectations during your visit. Your experience is certainly not acceptable and is unfortunate. Our hotel is indeed known for exceptional customer service as witnessed by the dozens of favorable reviews here; however, this does not make your experience any better. The issues you experienced during your visit have been investigated and please know each concern has been discussed with our department managers and staff in an effort not to have these types of incidents repeated in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Advised of a late check in part of a wedding party. One night stay at a $149/nt rt has went to $450+ hold and now $300+ charge on my account. Contacted accounting dept advised they were not responsible for the $40 over draft but would look into reversing the no show charge due to late check in...really disappointed in the property liked it and recommended it in the past but will certainly think about it going foward.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Explore 21, thank you for your review. We investigated your case and our accounting department confirms the no-show charge was credited to your card on the same day you called. Please contact us if you have not seen the credit in your account or if you would like to discuss this further.

We take great pride in providing the utmost in customer service as evidenced by other reviews here. We will look to improve our processes so that your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Hotel is right on the Inner Harbor in downtown Baltimore. It is one of the few affordable venues that is actually right on the water (well, okay, so there is a four-lane road between you and the water, so not exactly on the water). If you get a harbor view room you really do get a treat both in the daytime and the night view.

We were a family of four and stayed very comfortably in a 2 double bed room. The room was very spacious -- more than enough for us not to have to coordinate movements. The staff at checkin (Khadija) was extremely kind and helpful. Not that false sense of politeness or simply going through the motions, but clearly keying in on what our needs were (parking, room, and dining options). The other gem about the hotel is the small cafe in the lobby where they served Illy coffee. The staff member there (just him alone against the world) efficiently served everyone and even was calling up eggs and sandwiches from the kitchen for other guests.

For the price, location and service this place is unbeatable in the Inner Harbor area.

Room Tip: Harbor side is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.