We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Stay For The Race!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking & breakfast!
Ranked #10 of 69 hotels in Baltimore
Woodstock, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Stay For The Race!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in Baltimore for the Grand Prix of Baltimore and we had a wonderful time. Our "Base of Operations" was the Royal Sonesta Hotel and it proved to be the perfect host. First of all, if you select a harbor view room, you are in for a treat. The view is magnificent. The location in relation to the inner harbor is superior. Everything is within easy walking distance. We usually ate as we walked about but we did experience room service for one breakfast and had another in the hotel itself. Both were done very nicely.

As I mentioned we were there for the Grand Prix of Baltimore and the view of all the races from our window was unparalleled. We were right above the hairpin turn in front of the hotel and our view proved to be better than the seats we reserved across the street! The room was naturally air conditioned and the seats were in the sun and it was about 90 degrees that day. We watched the main race from the comfort of the room and had the race on the TV behind us with the fridge stocked with beer. Perfect!

The hotel staff was beyond compare. The guys at the door were so friendly and helpful. The maid service was prompt and kept our room like it was new. I want to make special mention of Carmen at the front desk who helped us with our trek to visit the Edgar Allan Poe grave site. Not only were her directions perfect, she mentioned we should visit the bar where Poe had his last drink and collapsed outside. Poor Poe, but we had so much fun there! All thanks to Carmen. The Royal Sonesta should be very proud to have her in their employ, she was super helpful and always cheerful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Dave_Healey2013, thank you for the five star review and details regarding your stay during the Grand Prix. Our location is ideal for guests looking to enjoy the Inner Harbor and surrounding restaurants and attractions, however it is our professional staff that makes this hotel such a great place to stay. Thank you also for mentioning Carmen by name. She is just one example to the exemplary service delivered to our guests every day. I’m glad you had a chance to try the room service and one of our restaurants. Our menus rotate according to the season, with locally sourced ingredients selected by our culinary team. Thank you again for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    103
    44
    14
    17
See reviews for
120
171
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here using a groupon offer and definitely enjoyed it. The hotel has great views of the harbor and excellent on site amenities. The service was great too. Our concierge Jonathon gave us some excellent recommendations for restaurants in the city. He was very patient with us when we checked in and even helped us out with our last minute requests. Couldn't have asked for better service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello craigerham, thank you for the great five star review! I’m delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. While our rooms and our location are great amenities, our professional staff deliver exemplary customer service to our guests and make the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court a great place to stay. Thanks again for the great review, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Was hesitant about buying the Groupon for this hotel after reading poor reviews but did anyway...and I'm glad we did. The staff was helpful, polite, and were able to help us with everything from places to the best restaurants in the city. We purchased the Courtyard view and once we arrived we were immediately upgraded to the Harbor view free of charge, which was beautiful. We arrived early and the staff offered to hold our bags until it was time to check in. It is perfectly located between Camden Yards and the night life of Inner Harbor. The water taxi, which takes you to Fells Point, is a short walk from the hotel along the harbor. The hotel is clean, up to date, and perfect for a couples getaway. My only regret is that we only got to stay 1 night, if it were possible we would have stayed longer. Thank You for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the Harbor View, it is amazing to see the sun rise over the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello Shane Y, thank you for the five star review via TripAdvisor! Our team members pride themselves on the customer service they deliver to our guests; we feel our staff is the best in the city. Our location is ideal for guests looking to explore the Inner Harbor and other attractions nearby, and it sounds as if you did just that. Thanks again for sharing your experience and the five star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. When we arrived, we decided we wanted to upgrade our room. Andy, at the front desk, was very accommodating. He gave us a nice, lovely room with a great view of the harbor. Thank you for a great weekend. It always has and always will be one of our favorite hotels in Baltimore. Thanks Andy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear thesandoval, thank you for the great five star review and sharing details of your recent stay at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. Our location provides beautiful, unobstructed views of the Inner Harbor. Thank you for mentioning Andy by name; he is one of many examples of great team members that deliver exemplary customer service to our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again. s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Room wasn't cleaned. Had to go to the front desk to request. Lighting was horrible. Carpets were stained. Room was mostly clean. Wallpaper was coming off the wall. Good location though. If it wasn't for the groupon deal I had, would have been upset spending that kind of money on a room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Jennifer1878, thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court did not meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies for your experience; I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping department to determine where the breakdown happened. This type of situation is atypical for our guests. Sonesta has been managing this property for a little over a year now and we do have plans for a full renovation in the near future to address some of the issues in the guestrooms and give them a much needed update. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

With so many hotel options to choose from in this area, we are very glad we chose the Sonesta! The concierge, Jonathan, is FANTASTIC! From the moment we arrived, to our departure, he was nothing less than stellar. He anticipated our needs, answered every question, and went out of his way to ensure this recent visit will not be our last.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

They seem to have deals on a regular bases, so booking a harbor view is easy. The bathroom was amazing, and the room was a nice size and well kept. My only gripe was that the rule is that if you hang a placard saying the linens don't need to be changed, they shouldn't be changed regardless. And the TV went in and out of sync for some reason, but if you're not going to be watching TV a lot, that can be overlooked.

Room Tip: You're on the harbor, wait for a deal and book the harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Devin H, thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. The location and views of the Inner Harbor are enjoyed by our guests. Our housekeeping department changes the linens upon request or every 3 days, however they do honor the signs asking the linens not to be changed within that time frame. I have passed along your feedback about the TV to our maintenance department as well. Thanks again for the review and we would love to have you stay with us again next time you are in Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel
Intercontinental Baltimore
Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.