We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off 2 or More Nights!
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great room and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. When we arrived, we decided we wanted to upgrade our room. Andy, at the front desk, was very accommodating. He gave us a nice, lovely room with a great view of the harbor. Thank you for a great weekend. It always has and always will be one of our favorite hotels in Baltimore. Thanks Andy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear thesandoval, thank you for the great five star review and sharing details of your recent stay at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. Our location provides beautiful, unobstructed views of the Inner Harbor. Thank you for mentioning Andy by name; he is one of many examples of great team members that deliver exemplary customer service to our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again. s
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    151
    64
    35
    26
See reviews for
180
246
18
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Room wasn't cleaned. Had to go to the front desk to request. Lighting was horrible. Carpets were stained. Room was mostly clean. Wallpaper was coming off the wall. Good location though. If it wasn't for the groupon deal I had, would have been upset spending that kind of money on a room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Jennifer1878, thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court did not meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies for your experience; I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping department to determine where the breakdown happened. This type of situation is atypical for our guests. Sonesta has been managing this property for a little over a year now and we do have plans for a full renovation in the near future to address some of the issues in the guestrooms and give them a much needed update. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

With so many hotel options to choose from in this area, we are very glad we chose the Sonesta! The concierge, Jonathan, is FANTASTIC! From the moment we arrived, to our departure, he was nothing less than stellar. He anticipated our needs, answered every question, and went out of his way to ensure this recent visit will not be our last.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

They seem to have deals on a regular bases, so booking a harbor view is easy. The bathroom was amazing, and the room was a nice size and well kept. My only gripe was that the rule is that if you hang a placard saying the linens don't need to be changed, they shouldn't be changed regardless. And the TV went in and out of sync for some reason, but if you're not going to be watching TV a lot, that can be overlooked.

Room Tip: You're on the harbor, wait for a deal and book the harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Devin H, thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. The location and views of the Inner Harbor are enjoyed by our guests. Our housekeeping department changes the linens upon request or every 3 days, however they do honor the signs asking the linens not to be changed within that time frame. I have passed along your feedback about the TV to our maintenance department as well. Thanks again for the review and we would love to have you stay with us again next time you are in Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
642 reviews 642 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A friend of mine booked a room for his girlfriend's birthday party on a Saturday night. He even informed the staff that that was the occasion.

We were unprofessionally threatened by security several times because we were being "loud" at 10 PM. We checked outside of the room to see if we were indeed loud, but that wasn't the case. We knocked on the two doors on either side of our room to see if anyone would answer. No one did, so we were surprised that there were "complaints". I honestly feel like security had nothing to do that night and just kept rounding and stalking our rooms.

As for potential housing patrons, the suites are pretty sizable. There's a large jacuzzi and a mini TV in the bathroom. The living quarters are spacious and the big is king-sized. The room doesn't wow you, but again, this isn't a 5-star hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hello Tunaidi and thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies that your stay with us at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court did not meet your expectations. Security did receive a large number of noise complaints coming from your area, and our guests comfort and security is a top priority. If you’d like to discuss further I can be reached via email dkohlasch@sonesta.com
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent the weekend at the Royal Sonesta for a wedding we attended in Baltimore. It first started on a bad note when my husband found out our reservation had been canceled by mistake. After calling the hotline, he was able to get it reinstated. As I stated earlier, we were in town for a wedding and needed help getting a cab; we asked the front door man to call us a cab and we would be back in five minutes to pick it up. No such luck, so we asked again, this time the women requesting the cab quietly said "cabby", in which no cab would ever hear from down the street. So, instead we decided to walk until we found one (in our wedding attire/heels). When we came back to the hotel that evening, the hotel bar was open until 2 AM. The waitress was standoffish from the start and literally scolded us for sitting in one of sections of the bar until she had the area cleaned up. Lastly, as the night was ending at the hotel bar, the bouncer hovered over us like we were a rowdy crew. He kept mentioning that we can't stay at the bar any longer and kept threatening that he didn't want to get a call from hotel security if we started to act up in our hotel rooms?? The whole experience left a bad taste in my mouth...we've done plenty of out-of-town weddings in the past and have never experienced such terrible service! On a more positive note the hotel itself is in average condition and has some great facilities, such as a rooftop tennis court/basket court/sunning deck. It is a bit outdated, but will do the trick if you're passing by and don't need additional amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hello Booj15, thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience here at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore. Please accept our most sincere apology as we did not live up to your expectations during your visit. Your experience is certainly not acceptable and is unfortunate. Our hotel is indeed known for exceptional customer service as witnessed by the dozens of favorable reviews here; however, this does not make your experience any better. The issues you experienced during your visit have been investigated and please know each concern has been discussed with our department managers and staff in an effort not to have these types of incidents repeated in the future. Thank you again for your feedback, and I’d like to discuss your experience further. My email is dkohlasch@sonesta.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on a business trip. Excellent location just across the street from the harbor. The staff has been helpful with all of my needs. Great deck on the 7th floor with a view of the ballpark (which is a short walk too). If I have to come to baltimore again I will definitely stay again.

The only real minus was the room I was in had older furniture (not dirty or wore out just old) as well as the bathroom. It could use a facelift it was dated as well. If it weren't for that I would have rated it with a 5.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hello NMStack, thank you for your review via TripAdvisor on your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. We feel we have an ideal location to the Inner Harbor and our team members deliver excellent customer service to our guests, making this hotel a great place to stay. Sonesta has been managing this property for just over a year with plans for a full renovation in the works. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and check out some of our exciting updates. Thanks again for your review, and staying at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.