We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rooms & Classy Decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off 2 or More Nights!
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Rooms & Classy Decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I regularly stay at this hotel, the rooms are fabulous and value for money. I am almost always greeted by staff who recognise regular guests. Khadija, Mary and Andy have been very pleasant in managing my frequent stays. Though the loyalty program is not well coordinated between the corporate and local hotel, I would recommend this as a good retreat from the hussle of urban travel. A harbor view room is well lit and opens into fresh sunlight daily.

Room Tip: Has a racket and ball court & tennis court ! Good sports amenities .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Kanishka M,
Thank you for your review and comments. We appreciate your being a loyal customer of the Sonesta brand and glad you have chosen us as your preferred place to stay on your visits to Baltimore. I can tell you that our Travel Pass loyalty program is in the midst of implementing some enchancements, so stay tuned for those developments. Also, we will soon embark on major upgrades for the entire hotel, so again, more improvements to bolster the guest experience. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charm City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    151
    64
    35
    26
See reviews for
180
246
18
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Yes, it is a little dated yet the service and location was wonderful. I was upgraded to a King suite on the 6th floor and didn't even ask for it. The front desk clerk just gave it to me. I assume because I had signed up for the travel members. I had no complaints about this hotel, even my peers were jealous and said they would stay here next time. I didn't have a chance to try the restaurant, pool or gym maybe next time. One thing that wasn't a good experience was the parking which I know wasn't ran by the hotel. Parking is expensive and if you don't work all the tickets correctly, you get sent back to the front desk. Excellent stay!!

Room Tip: Sign up for Sonesta's frequent traveler program to get upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear richvabrew,
Thanks so much for your great 5-star review. Yes, our Travel Pass program does have its privileges, so we appreciate your signing up! Sonesta has managed this property for slight more than one year, so that "dated" look will definitely be addressed with a full property upgrade literally from top to bottom. We look forward to you and your friends staying here when we return to our rightful places as one of Baltimore's best places to stay. As for parking, every hotel charges in the city and we are very competitive despite not managing the garage connected to the hotel. We recommend the valet parking as it allows you to leave and return as many times as you wish - definitely a great value. Overall, thanks for your great 5-star review and we look forward to seeing you - and your friends - here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent 1 night in the Royal Sonesta after a Baltimore O's baseball game. Our room had an amazing view of the inner harbor and was within walking distance from numerous shops, restaurants, bars, Baltimore Aquarium, and Camden Yards Stadium. It is an absolutley perfect location. The service was amazing and we frequently used the concierges service to help us choose places to dine. The staff is extremely knowledgable and helpful. Most importantly, the room was immaculate. We had a beautiful suite over looking the harbor. At night the city looked gorgeous. Room service was prompt and the food was delicious. We were extremely impressed with the cleanliness and the amenities within the room and will definately return and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear CK,
Thanks so much for your 5-star review. We feel our location is the best of any Inner Harbor hotel and your review simply reinforces that reality. Glad you had a chance to catch the Orioles play and explore all the wonderful places Charm City has to offer. Please spread the word about our hotel and thanks again for your great 5-star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Reserved our room through hotels.com; due to miscommunication, reservations were not admitted into the hotel's system. Members of the front desk were VERY accommodating and provided excellent customer service in this matter. Despite having a full house, a luxurious upgrade was provided without extra charges. The suite had breathtaking views of the inner harbor and was very private. This hotel is centered in a perfect location when choosing to visit "touristy" type of activities (i.e. aquarium, inner harbor, etc.) In addition to the front desk staff, all those employed by the hotel were friendly and surpassed any previous interactions I've encountered with valet or a bellhop. I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE visiting the Baltimore area despite what type of trip they are engaging in. I also plan on planning another trip in the near future due to the hospitality of employees of the hotel! They honestly made this Father's Day weekend trip absolutely perfect and beyond what was expected!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jenelle W,
We really appreciate your taking time to submit a great 5-star review. It's great to hear that our staff was able to examine a situation, then meet and exceed the guests' expectations. One thing you will realize about this hotel that you will not find anywhere else in this city - our staff is not just about providing great customewr service, but also about creating personal relationships with many of our loyal guests. Many guests return and know our staff by name, and vice versa. Our staff considers the hotel their home and we only wish for our guests to feel the same way each time they visit. Thanks again for your 5-star review and we look forward to seeing you at your home away from home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent two amazing nights at this hotel and my family and I had a wonderful time. It was our first vacation with our baby boy who can enjoying things more now that he is older. He loved this hotel and the view of the harbor. He stood at the window and just enjoyed the boats, cars and just loved watching everything happen. It was amazing to see things through his view. The hotel is fantastic. Rooms amazing and the food is excellent. Just a wonderful staff who makes you feel so welcome and comfortable. Looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear exceptional29,
What a great 5-star review, thank you so much! We are very pleased that you and your family had such a pleasant stay with us. As a new family, we hope you return often and view our Inner Harbor hotel as a family tradition whenever your travels bring you to Baltimore. Thanks again for taking time to submit a very thoughtful 5-star review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the hotel and would stay again in a minute - we liked it that much.

Likes: Friendly and efficient bell staff and front desk staff; the unimpeded harbor view (worth the slightly higher price), THE GREAT SHOWERHEAD - a bracing, blast of water (yay) pool & fitness center; weekend breakfast buffet at Brighton's restaurant; the quiet rooms; comfortable pillows; in-room refrigerator; the location - across the street from the harbor area attractions and within walking distance to the football and baseball stadiums, Fells Point, Federal Hill. The valet parking costs were within reason for a city hotel location.

The only dislikes I had were: bed was slightly uncomfortable - the added pad didn't pad the older mattress. The room temperature was hard to regulate - it didn't feel as cool as the thermostat indicated.

Room Tip: We had a "harbor view room" on the 6th floor - the view was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hello 2havtrav4,
Thanks so much for taking time to submit a 5-star review about your stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. As a TripAdvisor Top Contributor, your 5-star review is much appreciated given you have only awarded this level of excellence in about 25 percent of your reviews. This says a lot about your feelings about your stay at our hotel. I am pleased to inform you that our Inner Harbor hotel is about to undergo a complete upgrade from top to bottom, so every detail will be addressed to ensure that this hotel returns to its traditional and rightful place as one of Baltimore's finest places to stay. Thanks again for your 5-star review and we hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband booked our stay at this beautiful hotel through Groupon. The staff was friendly, professional, and accommodating. The room was one of the nicest we have ever stayed in. We had a wonderful view of the Inner Harbor. The bed was exceptionally comfortable; the room was quiet (did not hear people in hallway, doors opening/closing, etc.). There was even a TV in the bathroom and a Keurig coffee maker with a good selection of beverages. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Gracie0412,
We really appreciate your taking time to submit a great 5-star review. Our recent Groupon offer was definitely a great deal, so good for you for taking advantage of it. You stay sounds like it was a pleasant one, so please spread the word among your friends to seek us out when their travels require a visit to Baltimore. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.