We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off 2 or More Nights!
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We only live about 45 minutes away but got a great deal through Groupon for a one night stay in a harbor view room and decided to take a romantic getaway. The hotel was great: wonderful view, clean, very comfortable, helpful staff and an amazing location just a short walk from the National Aquarium. My only complaint was that the light was flickering constantly above the shower, although I'm sure that they would have fixed it promptly if I had drawn their attention to it - it just didn't seem worth the intrusion for a one night stay. I don't know that I would pay full price for the hotel, but then again that is only because I wouldn't pay that price for any hotel, but for someone who has the means to spend $220 on a room then maybe it would be worth it. I will definitely return for another weekend trip sometime if I can find another deal on the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear jingold,
We really appreciate your great 5-star review! The Groupon deal is definitely something people have been taking advantage of purchasing, so glad you snapped it up and made your way to our Inner Harbor hotel. Sonesta is new to the Baltimore area as we started managing this property a few months ago. We definitely have great plans and upgrades in store here, so stay tuned as we transform this hotel and return it to its rightful place as one of Baltimore's great places to stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    151
    64
    35
    26
See reviews for
180
246
18
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
BRIDGEWATER
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I along with our grandson stayed at this hotel from 3/26-3/28/2013. We found the hotel to be first rate, but it was the very friendly staff from the front desk to maintenance people we met in the hallways that made our stay particularly pleasant. We especially want to mention Sherry, the breakfast server we had for both of our breakfast meals and who remembered what juices we had the previous morning, and Cameron, our dinner server who made our meal a real pleasure. The food was also excellent The next time we are in Baltimore we will stay at this hotel again.

Tom C..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello THOMAS C,
Thanks so much for your great 5-star review! Our staff takes great pride in providing memorable customer service for our guests and it sounds like Sherry and Cameron provided 5-star service. A hotel is only as good as the staff who maintains it, so we will pass along your comments and they will serve to motivate all of us even more to be the best for our guests. Thanks again for your great review and we look forward to perhaps seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a mixed review.
First, we booked this hotel with miles - so there was no money spent out of pocket. We arrived and checked in early. They said our room was ready - so we headed up to our room - only to find that the room had not been cleaned yet. There was food on the floor, trash in the trashcan, crumbs on the bed...the room also just seemed sad. The light fixture was falling off the wall and one light was on - the other off...just really sad looking. We went down to the front desk and they said they would get us another room. Well - this room was so much nicer (although located by the elevator...we never heard any noise from inside our room) - always a bonus being clean and no fixtures broken. They were very nice about the whole thing and we left the hotel for a day of sightseeing. When we got back that night - there was milk and cookies and a personalized note apologizing for the mix-up when we checked in etc...How nice is that? We only stayed one night - so we didn't use the pool or library etc...everything looked nice. The thing is...the beds. Too soft and too small for my liking. But the soft thing is a matter of opinion. I like a semi-firm mattress with pillow top - this was just soft. Husband and kids didn't have a problem with the softness. Loved the ease of self parking - that was a total bonus. Minus the first room that just hadn't seen maid service yet...the hotel was clean, the service was great, and we would definitely stay here again. oh - and my husband signed us up for their membership plan? and we got the bottle of water in the room (usually $5) for free. the keureg in the room - didn't use it - but it had 6 or 8 assorted teas and coffees - and random..there was a tv in the bathroom. lol. didn't use it.
One more thing - you can't beat this location. It's right across the street from the Science Museum and the water. The visitors center was also across the street. Great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear bpilko,
Thank you for your great review and glad we were able to turn things around for you after your initial impression. Sonesta just assumed management of this property a few months ago, so I can tell you that we have big plans in store for the hotel which includes significant upgrades and changes. While the physical plant will certain get a facelift, it is our staff that takes pride in providing excellent customer service and engaging with our treasured guests. Sounds like they did a great job with the nice surprise, so I am pleased our associates took ownership to go above and beyond to make your stay special. Please consider us again when your travels bring you back to Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel over the Easter holiday, but had a couple of complaints. We had booked a city view room with a king bed through Booking.com. The room was spacious, but the bed was not a king. The room was also next to the elevator shaft so all night we heard the elevator shaft going up and down. I asked for a different room, but no luck due to the holiday weekend. The staff were excellent and provided free breakfast to make up for the room. The amenities (gym, pool) were spacious and the on-site parking was a plus. Location was convenient to the Inner Harbor attractions and cabs were always on-site to go to other parts of the city. Overall, a great value for a decent hotel central to the Inner Harbor.

Room Tip: We stayed in 751...DON'T stay there because you will not sleep. We heard the elevator shaft goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello jen f,
Thank you for your review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and you are right about our being at capacity this past weekend. We have some room improvements on the way and we plan to address the issue you raised. However, I am pleased that our staff was able to soften your view with the items offered to you during your stay. Overall, we have great plans for this hotel as we just started managing the property in the last few months. I hope when your travels bring you back to Baltimore, you will stay with us again so we can better meet and exceed your expectations. Thanks again for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great stay. All the hotel staff were 100% focused on guest comfort and happiness. Our stay was very brief (check in at 8, checked out around 10) but we enjoyed every minute of it.
Thanks! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear jembuffetfan,
Thanks so much for your 5-Star review! Albeit a short stay, we appreciate your noticing our staff's efforts to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Please come back when you can spend more time and truly enjoy what our Inner Harbor hotel and the city of Baltimore has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The staff at Royal Sonesta are awesome, from the valet staff to the front desk. They made sure my daughter had a fabulous stay for her 16th birthday getaway! Special thanks to Marc at the valet and Andy, assistant front desk manager. You guys are the best! I will be looking for the Sonesta name for future travels.

Room Tip: Corner suite with the harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear StaceyC,
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! I will certainly pass along your comments to our staff as it is always great to hear such wonderful reviews about our dedicated staff. Thanks, too, for choosing the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court as the place to share your daughter's 16th birthday. Great to know she had such a wonderful visit on such a special day. Thanks for sharing your story and your 5-star review and we hope to see you again in Baltimore soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallastown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here! Had a beautiful harbor side room, the view was spectacular and worth the few extra dollars. Super clean, spacious, beautifully appointed room with a comfy king bed. We were there for an anniversary and had a wonderful time. Every staff person we encountered was cheerful, helpful and pleasant. The pool,fitness center were excellent! The Explorer Lounge was small, and a pricey but had a real cool European vibe to it. The Hotel is right across from all of the restaurants and activities of the Inner Harbor, don't need a car at all. We used a Groupon deal that made it an incredible bargain. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The Harbor View is worth the extra few dollars over the city/courtyard views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello craig p,
We really appreciate your awesome 5-star review! We have had many guests claim the recent Groupon offer and pleased to hear your experience was an exceptional one. Please tell your friends about us and when you return, please come back to Explorers and try the Harbor Court Honey Wings as they are prepared with honey harvested from our own apiary. Very tasty! Thanks again for your great 5-star review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.