We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Experience our new look!
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel was beautiful, extremely courteous, and prepared. Warm, welcoming room, beautiful, clean bathrooms, and very quiet. I would (and plan to) stay here in the future!

The only downside was our view was badly skewed by dirty windows (on the outside).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello BeccaG,
We are very pleased you had such a pleasant stay with us. Thanks for the tip about the outdoor windows - with spring approaching, it is probably not a bad time to make sure the outdoor part of our windows are spotless. We will certainly address it. And with the warmer weather, that means plenty of things to see and do around the Inner Harbor, so we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    176
    73
    39
    28
See reviews for
202
268
23
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The pictures of the hotel online are amazing compared to that of the actual property. It's nice, but not amazing. It feels a tad dated and not overly clean. The gym is a bit odd as are some of the views.

My room was spacious, but noisy and not overly comfortable. Just average. The staff is certainly friendly. The food and bar aren't that exciting compared to other areas of downtown.

Money not being an issue, I would definitely stay at the Four Seasons next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Lax4man,
Thanks for your review and constructive comments. Given Sonesta started managing this property less than a year ago, we can tell you that significant improvements are planned and we are excited for the future of this Inner Harbor hotel. However, that doesn't diminish the fact that your stay was less than exceptional. You certainly have other options in Baltimore, but we hope you will consider us again if your travels bring you back to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Great deal with a Priceline courtyard view room - paid a bit extra for an upgrade to the harbor view ....it was gorgeous. Excellent spotless room. Large enough for my grandson to play without us falling over anything! Close to everything at Inner Harbor.....we walked everywhere....great shopping, museums, aquarium...a little something for everyone. This is the place to stay...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
MaryMG1,
Thanks so much for your great review. I saw the photos you posted from your stay, too, and yes, you did have an awesome view of the Inner Harbor. Our location is definitely an asset as we are walking distance to really everything around us. We can't wait until spring when the days are longer and warmer as the Inner Harbor is always buzzing with conditions like that. I'm pleased you had such a great stay and look forward to hosting you again if your travels bring you back to Charm City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We purchased a groupon deal for a harbor-view room. We booked the room with no problems. Arriving at the hotel, we were happy to see the location was right in the middle of everything. We opted to use the parking garage instead of the Valet that came with the groupon. The front desk gave us a ticket to park for free; this worked out well and parking was a short garage walk. We checked in at 3pm (checkin time); about a 10 min wait in line. We were told our harbor view room was not ready. I had reservations and had to leave the hotel at 330. They told me it wouldn't be ready by then either. I have two young children that spent the entire day at the aquirium and needed to freshen up before dinner. They had a Courtyard room available for us and offered my kids two cookies. This was a down grade but they reassured me that Groupon would call them and reimburse us the difference. Our view was a BRICK wall which was very dissappointing to the kids. Our stay was fine, hotem was charming and clean, very quiet. Pool was nice. On the way out the next day, i had the front desk call the manager to confirm that i could be reimbursed; he said yes. This morning Groupon told me to read my fine print and that i would not be reimbursed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear MichShel,
Thank you for your detailed response and while we appreciate your kind words, it is clear your stay with us did not meet your expectations and that is unfortunate. So, I wish for you to call me directly here at the hotel as I wish to discuss with you how we can best arrange for a better experience next time. Please call and ask for me at (410) 234-0550. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Right in the middle of the Inner Harbor close to all attractions. Courteous staff. We had drinks at the Explorers Bar, very quiet and relaxing after a hectic day at Fells Point and Fed Hill. We will stay again!

Room Tip: Look for a rate on groupon. Our room cost $112 including valet parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello CarolannJoyce,
We appreciate your taking time to submit such a great review. The Groupon offer was defintiely a nice one, so glad you were able to take advantage of it. Explorers is definitely a hidden gem and a great dining/bar experience. Next time, you have to try the Harbour Court Honey Wings as they are absolutely sensational. In fact, we have an on-site apiary and harvest our own honey which is used in preparing those wings. The meatloaf is also down home good! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I wanted to make my 6 year old's birthday a memorable experience, and it was truly memorable! I booked a suite at the Royal Sonesta. The pictures on the web do not convey the beauty of the room! My daughter was amazed from the time we checked in until we checked out! Everyone wished her a happy birthday, and treated her as if they knew her personally. Room service brought her a piece of chocolate cake with her name on it to our room. My guests and I were completely impressed across the board! The room was flawless and the service was impeccable. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hello LaurenAlix,
Thanks for sharing your story and wonderful review. Sounds like your child had a great birthday and we are pleased you chose to spend such a special occasion with us at the Royal Sonesta. Next time, you will have to check out the 7th floor pool area as it is always a favorite with the kids. Once again, thanks for such kinds words and please spread the word about your experience with family and friends. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went on a spur-of-the-moment Mom-&-daughters (ages 12, 14) road trip from CT to Baltimore. Booked the hotel online at a great rate. After our long drive, Khadija and Jennifer at the front desk upgraded us to the 1000 sq. ft corner suite! Opulent; two baths, lots of marble and brass, a bed to die for, huge tub with TV! Amazing views. Everything three "princesses" could ask for. The next morning, we inquired about staying a second night, fully expecting to pay a higher rate and move to a "regular" room. The rate quoted was not in our budget (though it was extremely fair!). When I found a lower rate at the same hotel online, Jennifer matched the rate and told us that it would not make sense for us to move rooms....so of course, we stayed! I was incredulous, and you would be too, if you knew how little we paid! She was outstanding in her commitment to customer service and won my loyalty to the brand (we also had tried the Royal Sonesta Boston last summer-- sleek and modern, and a lovely stay). Both Jennifer and Khadija represent the best of the hospitality industry, and all other employees were gracious and helpful as well. Thank you so much for helping this weary Mom have a lovely time with her girls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s):

*Non-commercial No promotional material of any kind, including URLs that are irrelevant to the review in question. We reserve the right to reject any URL.

Please consider resubmitting a response which meets our posting criteria using the management response form on our site. Please let us know if you have further concerns.

Best regards,
TripAdvisor Support Team
[302]
---original management response-----
Subject: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Location: Baltimore
Title: Owner response
ID#: 152783117

Dear DebJohnandgirls,
What a great story and one we will certainly share with our dedicated associates. One thing you will find at our hotel in Baltimore, and other Sonesta hotels in our entire portfolio, is a true sense of caring for the guest, and an honest attempt to always meet and exceed their expectations. We have a promise to deliver great customer service and our passion for hospitality runs deep with Sonesta globally. We are so pleased you had such a great stay with us and hope you will return in the future.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.