We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like "Royal"-ty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #9 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
“Treated like "Royal"-ty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Went on a spur-of-the-moment Mom-&-daughters (ages 12, 14) road trip from CT to Baltimore. Booked the hotel online at a great rate. After our long drive, Khadija and Jennifer at the front desk upgraded us to the 1000 sq. ft corner suite! Opulent; two baths, lots of marble and brass, a bed to die for, huge tub with TV! Amazing views. Everything three "princesses" could ask for. The next morning, we inquired about staying a second night, fully expecting to pay a higher rate and move to a "regular" room. The rate quoted was not in our budget (though it was extremely fair!). When I found a lower rate at the same hotel online, Jennifer matched the rate and told us that it would not make sense for us to move rooms....so of course, we stayed! I was incredulous, and you would be too, if you knew how little we paid! She was outstanding in her commitment to customer service and won my loyalty to the brand (we also had tried the Royal Sonesta Boston last summer-- sleek and modern, and a lovely stay). Both Jennifer and Khadija represent the best of the hospitality industry, and all other employees were gracious and helpful as well. Thank you so much for helping this weary Mom have a lovely time with her girls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Listing Owner,

Thank you for taking the time to write a management response on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot publish your response because it does not meet the following guideline(s):

*Non-commercial No promotional material of any kind, including URLs that are irrelevant to the review in question. We reserve the right to reject any URL.

Please consider resubmitting a response which meets our posting criteria using the management response form on our site. Please let us know if you have further concerns.

Best regards,
TripAdvisor Support Team
[302]
---original management response-----
Subject: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Location: Baltimore
Title: Owner response
ID#: 152783117

Dear DebJohnandgirls,
What a great story and one we will certainly share with our dedicated associates. One thing you will find at our hotel in Baltimore, and other Sonesta hotels in our entire portfolio, is a true sense of caring for the guest, and an honest attempt to always meet and exceed their expectations. We have a promise to deliver great customer service and our passion for hospitality runs deep with Sonesta globally. We are so pleased you had such a great stay with us and hope you will return in the future.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    134
    55
    23
    20
See reviews for
159
214
11
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our visit to this property on our visit to Baltimore Inner Harbor. Nice rooms, clean, nice indoor pool and whirlpool area.

We recommend that the Hotel add some photos of the pool to your site.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello Nancyg64,
We appreciate your staying with us and very pleased you had such a plesant experience. Great feedback about the pool area and we will see about how we can add images of this area to the website as you mentioned. The pool area is a great asset for us, as is our Fitness Center, so thanks again for our great review and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved the Royal Sonesta. It had the charm of an older hotel, but has been maintained well and was in beautiful condition. The room was large and well furnished. The restaurant was great and the service was excellent! We would definitely return in hopes of getting room with a water view!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello Conwaya2,
Thank you for your kind words about our Inner Harbor hotel. Since Sonesta took over this property last summer, we have been making strides to create a great experience for all of our guests. There are more exciting things to come in 2013, too, so spread fhe word for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliquippa , Pa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed all over Baltimore'a Inner Harbor over the last three years and this is the first hotel my wife said " I would stay here again ". The room had a great view of the harbor , the beds were very comfortable and the room very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello PaSoccer,
Thanks so much for your review and high praise for the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. As you know, there are plenty of places to stay when visiting Baltimore's Inner Harbor, so knowing you have placed us tops among some fine properties is surely humbling and much appreciated. Given you travel to this area often, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed there for a romantic valentines get-a-way and chose a harbor view room. It was a little more but it was worth it. Let's step back to our arrival. We had a package and the valet parking was included. We pulled in and asked if we could view our room before getting our luggage and they said that was fine. We checked in and went to our room and it was spotless. We went back to our car and turned over the key and asked if we wanted to go somewhere with it could we and they said no problem. We settled into our room and came back down and asked about the business center and pool and everything was pointed out. It had a beautiful pool and changing area. The only down side was it closed at 8pm (I'd prefer 11pm but have rarely found any open that late). The gym was 24 hours and had many pieces of equipment.
There is also a very nice outside area to sit at and enjoy the fresh air or watch the stars.
We then went down to get directions and our car they told us the free bus was just across the street and our destination less than a mile. We chose to take the bus and enjoy the scenery and not have to worry about parking. We asked about dining near our destination and they gave us a few suggestions and they were on the money.
When we returned we were treated to a hot shower with lots of pressure and plenty of towels and a robe to cuddle in. The beds were great.
The next day we had some hot fresh coffee and hit the pool. The hot tub was relaxing and the temps of both just right. When done we spent a little time in the sauna and showered and changed and returned to our room to check out. We asked if they could get our car so we could put our luggage in it and then park it again. They said they could simply hold our luggage until we were ready to leave for home. A good suggestion and they said no need to rush. We again asked about a restaurant we were interested in lunch at and another for dinner. They told us what bus to take and said they were good choices. Again they were right.
Joe at the front desk was the greatest. He knew the area and was so helpful.
When our stay ended he made a point to give us his card and said when we return to call him and he'd see what he could do to make our next trip as enjoyable as this one.

There was only one thing I missed...a microwave in the room...Other than that I see no reason to look elsewhere on my next visit to Baltimore.

Room Tip: Harbor view is worth the few extra dollars. We were on the 3rd floor and even that floor had a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear GaryG,
Sounds like the perfect stay! It is only topped by the fact that you enjoyed such a wonderful experience at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. Thank you for the detailed review, too. Judging by the fact you submit numerous hotel reviews, it speaks volumes for you to provide such a strong endorsement for our hotel. I am also pleased that our staff was so helpful, not only with making your stay more comfortable, but also with suggested dining outlets and experiences around the Inner Harbor and Federal Hill areas to enjoy. Thanks again for such a great review and please share your time with us with friends, so they can visit as well. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I were very impressed by the service we got. When we made our reservation there were no king size bed rooms available for the days we were there. We were a bit sad but resigned. When we arrived at the reception desk however, Khadijah went out of her way to help us. She got us the room we wanted and offered us complimentary wine. She then surprised us with a special newly weds gift of chocolate covered strawberries and cake.
It felt like home away from home with attention to detail and first class service.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Noticesdetails,
We take great pride in recognizing those who are celebrating special occasions with us and we are happy to hear you had such a pleasant stay. Congratulations on your marriage and we wish you many years of happiness! We hope as you continue to celebrate your bond and all the special things to come, you will think of returning to the Royal Sonesta to make those moments extra special. Thanks for your great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in the Pride of Baltimore Suite at the hotel and I do have to say, my wife and I were impressed with the accomodations. I have to give a special thank you to the following individuals who made this weekend possible, Steve S. and Phil W. are hands down, the best management staff. Andy and Michelle at the front desk are amazing and make you feel very welcoming apon arrival, I can't remember the name of the chef who made our omelettes at breakfast, but he too was great, and Don, who parked our car, great attitude, even working under the pressure of having 6 cars pull into the courtyard at the same time.
After arrival, a knock came at our door, and we were greeted by a bottle of wine and cheese. Thank you.
While I am aware of the transitions that the Harbor Court has made over the years, they are definitely improving. There were still some minor areas that needed extra attention to detail though, and maybe I am nitpicking, but the top of the four post bed (I know, who feels the top of the bed) had dust on it as well as the lamp on the desk. Also the sink made some strange noises, but that can probably be attributed to the dual sink. The TV next to the sink also was oddly placed and made it a little strange when using that sink (especially for someone who is left handed). Finally, the sofa was a bit outdated although very comfortable to sit on though. Maybe I should have contacted someone in housekeeping, but to be honest, it was really no big deal. I am just pointing out areas of improvement.
On to the positive, the room was amazing, the bed was comfortable and I loved the sheets. The Royal Sonesta should have a place on their website for people to purchase the linens or other items that the hotel offers. I am sure it would make for a great addition to the business and increase revenue. I would be first in line to purchase the Egyption Cotton sheet set. The 6 foot bathtub was also great. I must have sat in there for 30 minutes relaxing.The Breakfast Buffet was also great with fresh fruits and made to order omelets. The staff was friendly and came by every few minutes to make sure that we were alright.
Overall, it was a great experience at the Royal Sonesta Hotel. I have been there many times for functions, but this is the first time that I have ever stayed the night there. I would definitely come back and would gladly recommend the hotel to all my friends, family, and business associates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello JustJason1,
Wow! What a fantastic review and thanks for the great details. Thank you for mentioning our amazing staff members and we will share your comments with them. We appreciate your comments about our bed linens as they are amazing and we receive requests for those products often. Yes, since Sonesta started managing this property in June 2012, we have made a concerted effort to improve all aspects of the hotel from top to bottom. Expect more changes and upgrades as we move into 2013 as we plan to raise the bar here significantly. Thanks again for your great review and please spread the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.