We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yacht Club Ball” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Experience our new look!
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yacht Club Ball”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I made a reservation to stay here months ago and the hotel reconfimed on Tuesday but unfortunately the staff was total overwhelmed when guests began checking in. My wife and I waited over an hour before our room was ready.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Duke,
We are completely aware of the event to which you are referring and rest assured we are taking measures to assess, evaluate and take action to ensure experiences like the one you are reporting are minimized, if not eliminated. We appreciate your feedback and hope that once you were able to check in, you were able to enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again under more pleasant circumstances, especially upon arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    172
    72
    39
    28
See reviews for
200
265
21
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Absecon, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I recently got married on Feb 2nd, 2013-- just one day before the Ravens won the Superbowl. We had the pleasure of staying at the Royal Sonesta just in tome for the Ravens Parade, and we had the time of our lives! We had a beautiful honeymoon suite and were greeted by beautiful roses on our bed arranged in the shape of a heart. We were also greeted by a bottle of champagne and delicious chocolate covered strawberries. Thank you to everyone at he Royal Sonesta for making our wedding weekend one that we willnever forget!!!

Room Tip: Harborview suites offer the best Baltimore experience ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Lori,
First, congratulations are on your nuptials and for selecting the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court as the place to spend your first evening as a married couple. Second, as for the parade, it was partly meant for the Ravens and partly to celebrate your wedding (but we can keep that a secret). We are so pleased you had such a great experience with us and we hope you decide to return for another visit soon. If not this summer, perhaps for your first anniversary!?!?!
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I am a supervisor with the U.S. Capitol Police. We recently had a congressional retreat at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Hotel, Baltimore. We stay at dozens of hotels every year. The accomodations and staff at this hotel were outstanding. The Members of Congress were very pleased with this hotel and let us know at every opportunity. This was the best trip I have had in my 28 years of law enforcement. We ask a lot from the staff when we have these events and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed for a successful event. I am planning a trip to this hotel with my wife for our 25 year anniversary.

Room Tip: I trust the staff. Just let them know what you like and they will make sure you are accomodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Blaine,
Thank you for such an outstanding review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting the VIPs and working with your staff was an absolute pleasure. Given you and your staff travel often, it is very rewarding to know we stand out from the variety of excellent properties I am sure you visit. We look forward to hosting you when you plan for your 25th wedding anniversary. Congratulations on the pending 25 years of wedded bliss and we are honored we are considering us for celebrating such a wonderful life event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We recently hosted a 2-day event at the hotel, with rooms for our team and a small conference room with service throughout the day. Several in the group also had the opportunity to try the restaurant and room service. Our concensus was that every element of service (and the food) was significantly beyond our expectations. There was absolutely no glitches in entire stay. And the rooms are nice, quaint and very clean. The travelers in attendance are in hotels every week for business, and have been for probably the last 15-20 years. It is extremely rare for us to feel this way about a hotel. From the greeting we received at vallet, throughout our stay, everying really was extraordinary. Every request was handled with absolutely no stress.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello Kevin,
As a seasoned traveler, you see things through a very experienced lens, so your feedback of your experience at our property is much appreciated. Our goal is to raise the bar and provide exceptional service and guest experiences every day, not just for special occasions. The business traveler is very important to us and we appreciate your choosing to spend your conference and invest your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Planned a one-night hotel stay in Baltimore to celebrate my wedding anniversary with my wife. Originally tried to book at the B'more Four Seasons but the price there was ridiculous. Spent the night instead at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court and it was absolutely the right choice. Room was large and immaculate, beautiful view of the Inner Harbor, beds were soft and comfy. Service was impeccable, considerate and friendly. Staff even sent a bottle of champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries for our anniversary - great touch. We ordered room service for dinner - food was delicious and service was fast and professional. Overall there was nothing I can think of that was not first rate. Great hotel, great value. Four Seasons has nothing on the Royal Sonesta. I will come back again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Bronx,
We are humbled by your response and deeply appreciate your amazing review. We pride ourselves in providing the utmost in customer service and creating lasting memories for our guests. Its reviews like yours that further motivate our staff to meet and exceed all guest expectations. Our high service levels are already part of our culture, so hearing such great feedback why we enjoy the hospitality industry so much. we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Last year, this was the Intercontinental. Today, it's the Sonesta, but the service is still great.

We try to visit this hotel, even though we live in the Baltimore area. We stay there on New Year's Eve. The hotel is directly across the street from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. If you get a harborview room on the 6th floor, you have a great view of the fireworks. There's no need to go out in the cold or adverse weather. Just sit by the floor-to-ceiling window and have some dessert or a glass of wine. We brought our own and keep it in the mini-fridge in the room.

The rooms are large and very clean. Despite it being New Year's Eve, everything was very quiet on the 6th floor.

While a number of the good-location hotels require a 2-night stay on New Year's Eve, the Sonesta does not. They do not increase their prices either. We get the package deal that includes the harborview room, valet parking and breakfast.

The staff is very helpful as well as friendly. We never had th wait long for assistance. This was true even for the friendly lady that took my reservations for this coming New Year's, almost a year in advance.

There was only one request that went unanswered. We really liked their bath towels. We are not the type of people who walk out with towels. I wanted to buy a couple of towels. The hotel would not sell me any, nor could they tell me where I might purchase them. The website that they gave me carried no towels at all, only bed linens.

Brighton's is the Hotel's restaurant. We had dinner and breakfast there, but, I will cover that in another review.

My wife and I arrived way before check-in time but had no problem in getting into our room immediately. This gave us plenty of time to walk around Inner Harbor and contribute to the economy of Baltimore City. We enjoyed lunch at Lenny's Deli and a casual stroll around the Harbor. The usual work crowd was missing, so there were no lines or waits.

The restaurant was not crowded for breakfast. Driving out of the Inner Harbor felt strange. The roads were empty.

A very enjoyable time was had. We look forward to do it again this year.

Room Tip: 6th floor Harbor-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Alan C,
We really appreciate your detailed review and helpful information. One of the best kept secrets is the vanatge point guests can have while watching fireworks on New Year's Eve - so glad you chose to stay with us for a great local escape. Keep us in mind for the 4th of July, too, as that same view can be had for the fireworks then, too. Thanks again and we look forward to the pending reviews of our restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was in attendance at a 3 day conference, held at The Royal Sonesta Baltimore and now want to come back for leisure purposes! The food provided, both from the conference team and in their outlets, was truly art on a plate! Everywhere I went, I was friendly greeted and asked if they could be of service to me. And I highly recommend reserving a junior suite with a view of the harbor. The view at night was spectacular and having the additional living room allowed for team break out meetings and just relaxing. I will be back soon!

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve a harbor view room, the view is worth it, especially at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello Brent,
Thank you for your kind words. I'm pleased you had such a wonderful experience at your conference. Our culinary team takes great pride in the quality and presentation of our food products as it is a major focus of what we do here. We look forward to seeing you again when you can visit on your time, and explore everything our hotel and the city of Baltimore has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.