We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Name, but Same Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off 2 or More Nights!
Ranked #14 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“New Name, but Same Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Last year, this was the Intercontinental. Today, it's the Sonesta, but the service is still great.

We try to visit this hotel, even though we live in the Baltimore area. We stay there on New Year's Eve. The hotel is directly across the street from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. If you get a harborview room on the 6th floor, you have a great view of the fireworks. There's no need to go out in the cold or adverse weather. Just sit by the floor-to-ceiling window and have some dessert or a glass of wine. We brought our own and keep it in the mini-fridge in the room.

The rooms are large and very clean. Despite it being New Year's Eve, everything was very quiet on the 6th floor.

While a number of the good-location hotels require a 2-night stay on New Year's Eve, the Sonesta does not. They do not increase their prices either. We get the package deal that includes the harborview room, valet parking and breakfast.

The staff is very helpful as well as friendly. We never had th wait long for assistance. This was true even for the friendly lady that took my reservations for this coming New Year's, almost a year in advance.

There was only one request that went unanswered. We really liked their bath towels. We are not the type of people who walk out with towels. I wanted to buy a couple of towels. The hotel would not sell me any, nor could they tell me where I might purchase them. The website that they gave me carried no towels at all, only bed linens.

Brighton's is the Hotel's restaurant. We had dinner and breakfast there, but, I will cover that in another review.

My wife and I arrived way before check-in time but had no problem in getting into our room immediately. This gave us plenty of time to walk around Inner Harbor and contribute to the economy of Baltimore City. We enjoyed lunch at Lenny's Deli and a casual stroll around the Harbor. The usual work crowd was missing, so there were no lines or waits.

The restaurant was not crowded for breakfast. Driving out of the Inner Harbor felt strange. The roads were empty.

A very enjoyable time was had. We look forward to do it again this year.

Room Tip: 6th floor Harbor-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Alan C,
We really appreciate your detailed review and helpful information. One of the best kept secrets is the vanatge point guests can have while watching fireworks on New Year's Eve - so glad you chose to stay with us for a great local escape. Keep us in mind for the 4th of July, too, as that same view can be had for the fireworks then, too. Thanks again and we look forward to the pending reviews of our restaurants. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    151
    64
    35
    26
See reviews for
180
246
18
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was in attendance at a 3 day conference, held at The Royal Sonesta Baltimore and now want to come back for leisure purposes! The food provided, both from the conference team and in their outlets, was truly art on a plate! Everywhere I went, I was friendly greeted and asked if they could be of service to me. And I highly recommend reserving a junior suite with a view of the harbor. The view at night was spectacular and having the additional living room allowed for team break out meetings and just relaxing. I will be back soon!

Room Tip: Make sure to reserve a harbor view room, the view is worth it, especially at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello Brent,
Thank you for your kind words. I'm pleased you had such a wonderful experience at your conference. Our culinary team takes great pride in the quality and presentation of our food products as it is a major focus of what we do here. We look forward to seeing you again when you can visit on your time, and explore everything our hotel and the city of Baltimore has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Royal Sonesta has quickly become our favorite place for a quick get-away.
This trip it was my husband's 50th Birthday which was nice enough to fall on a Ravens Home Game. The Staff was gracious as always and after the game this time we ate in the Hotel restaurant. The Staff and clientele were couteous and fun and the food was excellent.
Can't wait for our next visit:)

Room Tip: I always ask for Harbor View-upper floors provide better view-it is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hello Leslie,
First, Happy 50th Birthday to your husband - we wish him 50 more! Wow, what a great way to celebrate, too, with one of the greatest Ravens wins and playoff games in NFL history. Second, thanks so much for your kind words. The next time you visit, you must try the Harbor Court Honey Wings, made with honey harvested from our own on-site bee apiary. Our location on the Inner Harbor is amazing, too, and so glad you chose to stay with us for your quick getaway in downtown Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester Twp, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at your hotel this past Saturday night (1/12/13). In "a prior life" I used to travel the whole country and averaged over 100 airline flights a year, so I have had many experiences with hotels. First, let me say that your hotel was outstanding. The rooms were a nice size, extremely clean with very nice amenities. Everyone, from the front desk, room service and the valet truly understand customer service. You should be commended.

The purpose of this email is one person who really stood above even the high standards that you have already established, Jennifer at your front text. When we checked out, we told Jennifer that the Keurig that was in our room did not work right. It was no big deal with us as we have one at home and know that if someone prior tried to operate it and did so incorrectly, it messed things up for the next person. There is no way you would know this ahead of time. We were just telling Jennifer so they could have someone fix it for the next guest.

Immediately, Jennifer offered to get us two cups of coffee from the coffee shop comp'd. She didn't just call them up, she walked us over there personally and handled it. To add to things, my wife picked up a yogurt parfait that she had money out to pay for ourselves (you shouldn't have to pay for that, the coffee offer was more than enough). Jennifer would hear none of it and had that comp'd too.

We are not talking alot of money here, but Jennifer's attention to personalized customer service and going the extra yard really makes her stand out. You are doing a wonderful job with the standards you have set at the hotel and with people like Jennifer, I am confident that she will have a great career with Sonesta. She is a definite "keeper".

My son lives in the Baltimore area and we do periodically come down to Baltimore to visit. We enjoy staying on the Harbor. We will definitely return to the Royal Sonesta.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello Jim S,
It is reviews like this that bring joy to those of us who serve in the hospitality industry. We appreciate your sharing this story about how Jennifer took personal ownership of your experience and turned it into one that created a positive experience. I am pleased to say the culture of our hotel is such that I am confident any of our associates would have acted in the same way. While we hope you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, we are keenly aware that it is the people who serve here who make it a place where you wish to return and recommend to others. Thanks for taking time to share your story and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

One night for business. Location is wonderful and close to the Harbor. The hotel has changed its name a few times. The round about for the taxi a little tight and small and may have to wait to be dropped off or picked up. Cabs are not always present. Be careful if they offer you a hotel "car" they charge double a tax. Check in easy and extremely pleasant, upgraded without asking to a junior suite. Wonderful space, but furnishings, bathroom, wall paper, carpet form the late 1980s... Really needs a total make over an update, small flat screen TV. Bathroom very large, but again dated, small shower. Nice Bulgari products. Internet easy to use and free. Had in room breakfast, really subpar food, scrambled eggs resembled fraternity food, coffee cold, toast limp. Check out, very easy. All in all ok, Please update the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello Mikegol,
Thank you for your candid comments about your recent stay. The hotel transiitoned to the Sonesta hotel brand in mid-2012, and we are committed to restoring this Baltimore gem back to its rightful place as one of the landmark properties in the city. While we have a detailed strategy about how to attain that vision, our goal is to always meet and exceed your expectations. We will certainly share your comments with our staff and hope we will see you again, so you can rate our ongoing progress. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed the weekend of January 5/6, 2013. From my initial contact to make the reservation which was with Steve Szalecki until I left on Sunday EVERY member of the staff were wonderful. They were smiling, engaged, and really cared!! Everyone went out of their way to help us have an awesome time. In addition the Royal Sonesta is lovely and well kept. We used the pool and spa which were great. Everything in the room worked perfectly and was clean and fresh upon arrival. I travel extensively internationally and I'd put the Royal Sonesta up against any of the competition.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the harbour. It's well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello pamcolumbia,
Thank you for your wonderful review. Our goal is to make every guest's stay with us as pleasant as yours. We also appreciate your mentioning staff members by name, so we will be sure to share your comments with Steve, too. Given you travel extensively, it is great to know we stack up well with other properties you have experienced. When your travels bring you back to Baltimore, we look forward to the opportunity to serve you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent 2 nights at the Royal Sonesta to celebrate New Year's Eve. Check-in was very efficient and the staff was most hospitable. The room was nice but a bit tired. Learned that Sonesta had purchased this hotel from the Intercontinental chain recently and has long range plans to upgrade the facility. Watching the fireworks over the Inner Harbour at midnite from the top floor was awesome. We could see both the big fireworks being set off out on the floating dock and the smaller ones being set off from the ground - and we stayed warm. Maid service was a bit spotty and could use more emphasis. Proposed to my wife here 21 years ago, so staying here brought back good memories.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello Mikeyluvstravel,
Thanks for your review and for choosing the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore for your visit to ring in 2013. First, Happy New Year and all the best to you and your family in the coming year. Second, we are pleased that returning to our hotel brought back such pleasant memories. Sounds like you had a great view for the fireworks, too. You are correct about Sonesta Hotels and our management of this property. We are keenly aware that this property holds special significance for many people and our intention and plan is to return this hotel to its rightful place as one of Baltimore's true gems. I think you will witness this for yourself upon subsequent returns to see us. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.