We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best breakfast in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Customize Your Stay!
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newton, Mass
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I hadn't stayed at the Harbor Court in years. Now that I work for myself I am a bit more price-sensitive. However, I recalled their excellent breakfast so I walked over from my other hotel and for about the same price got unlimited fresh orange juice and a delicious vegetable omelette.

I would recommend eating here at least once if you are staying in the downtown area.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We hope you have the chance to visit us again and perhaps consider using our hotel for your accommodations. We offer many packages which may appeal to your budget. It is our hope we will have the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    167
    72
    37
    28
See reviews for
198
263
21
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We held a wedding on the Baltimore Inner Harbor at the Maryland Science Center will all guests staying at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court - within easy walking distance of Science Center and all Harbor attractions. Was absolutley MAGICAL! Beautiful bridal party pictures on winding staricase in lobby and in balcony area. Also made full use of gazebo on the roof top for unique and memorable picture taking and cocktail hour. Staff was fabulous. Rented a suite for Bride and Bridesmaids to gather to get ready for the ceremony and groomsmen had adjoining rooms for getting ready for ceremony then all walked together to the Science Center for more fabulous picture opportunities on the water front. Priceless. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Water Front Suites are fabulous - but if a suite is out of the budget (probably for most travelers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Congratulations again! We enjoyed hosting your wedding and thrilled you were pleased with our service. Our job was to make sure your day was memorable and from your review it sounds as though we achieved if not surpassed our goal and your expectations. We certainly look forward to seeing you again and hope that you’ll be able to return for one of your future anniversaries.

Thank you again for allowing us to be of service to you on one of most special days of your lives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel was in a great area-right across the street from Maryland Science Center. Walking distance to Harborplace shops and Aquarium. The room was big, TV in bedroom and small TV in bathroom, Keurig coffee maker in room-only 1 creamer/sugar packet should have at least two. They had a small pool, whirlpool, racquetball court and large fitness center. Very clean and nice staff. I thought the mattresses were too soft.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. Please accept our apology for not having adequate condiments in your guest room. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention as this will allow us to retrain our staff on the procedures when servicing a room.

We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Many many wonderful things about this hotel.

1) very convenient location, both to the highway (easy to get to) and Inner Harbor (walking distance to restaurants, shops, Science Center, etc.)

2) extremely helpful, courteous, friendly, attentive staff - especially the Guest Service people (doormen/bellhops) and valet parking fellows; front desk couldn't have been any nicer either (I wish I had noted the name of the doorman on duty when we left ~8:45am on 12/2 - a slightly older gentleman with glasses - he was the ultimate example of customer service!!)

3) beautiful building and decor, nicely decorated for Christmas, interesting artwork throughout lobby and halls and in courtyard

4) convenient courtyard to drive into and unload - so nice to be off the street and not halfway into a garage - you didn't feel crowded or rushed and received a very warm welcome from aforementioned Guest Services

5) We had the Vroom package ($199 for Harborview room, valet parking and breakfast at Brighton's for 2) - excellent value!

6) Brighton's was wonderful for breakfast. We were there on Sunday morning and had the option of the large buffet or ordering from the menu. We picked the buffet (a $20 value/person) and were delighted. Amazingly fresh fruit (and lots of variety); delicious french toast, bacon, sausage, potatoes, scrambled eggs (cooked just right) and an omelet bar. And a pastry selection and oatmeal. The omelet chef and all the staff were very friendly and attentive.

7) bathroom was clean and well-equipped

The ONLY negative (and it was a pretty big "ick" factor) was when I turned down the beds, one of the bottom sheets has a lot of short hairs and a couple of shoe prints on it! At first, I just saw one hair - didn't like it, but brushed it off; but then I saw many more (stopped counting after 15.) The other bed had a few hairs (no shoe prints though). The front desk was very apologetic and prompt in sending up new sheets with a polite gentleman who offered to change the sheets. I decided to do it myself and didn't find any other issues. I'm going to blame it on a poor housekeeping job (or maybe it was bring your cat to work day - I don't know.)

Room Tip: Harbor view is definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property during your recent stay. It was our pleasure to be of service to you. We wanted to thank you for bringing to our attention the issue you had with your bed. Please accept our apology for the situation and please know this has been discussed with our Director of Housekeeping and the housekeeping staff. Every effort is being made to ensure that an incident such as this is never repeated in the future.

Thank you again and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

What a great place to stay, the suite rooms had a wonderful view of the Harbor and was quite luxurious, the bathrooms was spotless and spacious, the staff was very helpful, Michelle and Andy was very professional......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review our property from your recent visit. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that Michele and Andy were able to assist you. Our hotel prides itself on our customer service and we are thrilled to know we lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishing Creek, Maryland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We decided to go to the Inner Harbor for our anniversary, and it was absolutely fantastic. The Harbor Court was as good as I remember from my days coming as a kid. Royal Sonesta is the property owner now, and they've done good things with the Harbor Court. The views are probably some of the best in all of Baltimore. The rooms are lovely--nothing to complain about, and not too over the top. I didn't feel like I was in a museum and afraid to touch anything, but I definitely didn't want for anything, either. Big, comfortable beds. iPod player right next to the bed. The TV in the bathroom was a nice touch, although we never used it--nor did we use the nice, big one in the bedroom, but if you had to be there for a week, you would have been quite comfortable.

The front desk staff and the valets were impeccable. Not stodgy in the least. Very personable and friendly, while still maintaining the dignity of the establishment. They definitely make you feel like you're staying in a nicer hotel and not a Super 8. The indoor pool and health club is absolutely fantastic. The hot tub is quite large and was perfect after a day of gallivanting around Baltimore. The pool is large for an indoor hotel pool, and you could easily swim laps. There was a lifeguard on duty who was friendly and seemed to be observant, without being pushy.

We went to the Explorers Lounge for a couple of drinks our second night, and the service was as good as the rest of the hotel. A friendly, jovial bartender exchanged good conversation with us, and the mood was very upbeat.

All in all, if you are staying in Baltimore, I can't recommend the Harbor Court enough. The location is ideal no matter where you're going, and easily within walking distance of the stadiums, Water Taxi, Constellation and museum ships, aquarium, and the other attractions of the Inner Harbor. Your view at night is worth the price alone, but the room will certainly please you after a long day in Charm City.

Room Tip: Make sure to get the Harbor View room. A little extra, but well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We’re so glad you had the opportunity to return to the Harbor Court and thank you so much for your kind words about the property. It is wonderful to hear you remember it just as it was back when you were a child. The staff makes every effort to go out of their way to ensure each guest receives the best possible service. We do have a great location to all the attractions in the city, everything is pretty much within walking distance with some being only a short cab ride away.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our 32nd wedding anniversary. Our stay at this hotel was very special. The suite we were given upon arrival had a wonderful view of the harbor and was quite luxurious. The room was spotless and ready upon our arrival.

We had the pleasure of dining in the Explorer's Lounge and our meals were expertly prepared. The staff was friendly and professional...attentive but not noticeably so. Cameron.l Alexa and Steven should he commended...they are an asset to this hotel. One of the other favorable and pleasant part of this trip was meeting Gina and Jonathan who made our visit very special for us.

Room Tip: As this hotel is non-smoking...any room would be a great one...but if you are looking to mane your t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are thrilled that you chose to spend your 32nd anniversary at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. We thank you for your kind words regarding our property. We will be sure and pass your comments onto the staff you mentioned in your review. They will be thrilled to hear they made your stay all the more enjoyable. Hopefully we’ll have the opportunity to help you celebrate your 33rd anniversary! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#9 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.