We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home at the Harbor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Save Saved
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #13 of 69 hotels in Baltimore
Berryville, Virginia
1 review
“Home Away from Home at the Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

From the moment we pulled into the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, I knew we were in for a treat. Guest Services greeted us at our car, unloaded our luggage, and took care of everything. They were attentive to our needs, friendly, and were ready to show us why first impressions are critical to the success of any business. Upon entering the lobby, we were greeted by the General Manager who welcomed us warmly and explained the layout of the hotel and the surrounding attractions; he also made certain that we had a magnificent view of the inner harbor. The front desk was very professional and courteous in all of our interactions with them. They greeted us by name and accommodated every request we made. We arrived at the hotel by 10:30 in the morning and to our surprise, our room was available. The room was spacious, extremely comfortable and the bed made you feel like you were sleeping on the clouds! We did not get to use the exercise facilities or the pool, since we were in town for a family function, but they were inviting and well maintained. We had lunch in the Explorers Lounge, which we thoroughly enjoyed. It was delicious and the staff was very attentive and friendly. The following morning we awoke to a simply breathtaking sunrise over the inner harbor – well worth waking up early to view! We started our day with breakfast at Brightons Restaurant and they remembered us from lunch the day before. They staff asked how we were enjoying our stay and couldn’t have been friendlier. (I wish I could have remembered their names because they were wonderful.) The breakfast buffet offered many options and the “made to order” omelet station was simply the best! This is truly a hotel that makes you feel like it is your “home away from home.”

Room Tip: You will want a room with a view of the Inner Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your visit to Baltimore. We truly appreciate your wonderful review of our property and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our purpose is to strive for perfection with our guests and it appears we were able to accommodate you all of your needs. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    121
    50
    21
    20
See reviews for
146
199
10
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at this beautiful hotel, formerly the InterContinental, for an impromptu weekend getaway in Baltimore. It's a lovely, expensive hotel, so if you can get it on Priceline, you can get an excellent deal.

ROOM: The rooms are standard, though the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. There were some minor mishaps--there was something obviously wrong with the window seal as there was condensation on the window of our 7th floor room, and the Keruig coffee maker sometimes didn't work--but these did not detract from our stay and we got a great deal regardless.

PROPERTY/SERVICE: The hotel is very pretty, with a clean gym and indoor pool. We enjoyed the cafe on the first floor, which serves delicious Illy coffee. The front desk and bellhops were extremely helpful with checking in/out, holding bags, etc. The housekeeping knocked on our door promptly at noon the day we checked out as we were running a few minutes late, though we were not charged extra or really bothered about it again.

LOCATION: The location cannot be beat if you're exploring Baltimore, as you're walking distance to the Harbor, the American Visionary Art Museum, the restaurants and bars of Federal Hill and the theaters. You're also a quick cab ride from Fell's Point.

Overall, it was a great stay and I'd be happy to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you the lovely review of our property. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issues you encountered during your visit. A staff member will look into having these issues investigated. Our hotel does have an excellent location for walking to almost anywhere in Baltimore and we’re happy you had the opportunity to go out and explore our wonderful city.

Thank you again and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had the pleasure of stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, this past week as I went to interview for a local company. The front desk help was very helpful and professional, helping me find my way around the great city of Baltimore for the first time. They had a cab waiting for me exactly when i needed it the following morning. And the food I got for dinner via the hotel room service was delivered fast and was outstanding. Overall a great trip and would recommend anyone going to the Baltimore area for business, or vacation to stop and stay you will not regret it.

Room Tip: i stayed on the 5th floor king size rooms, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We are glad to hear the staff was able to accommodate you during your visit. Our staff strives to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return to Baltimore and have the chance to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I cannot express enough how excellent my experience was at the Baltimore Royal Sonesta. I stayed there as part of a professional meeting, and I was met with nothing but courtesy, kindness, and attentiveness. The front desk staff assisted me, with especial initiative: check in early, check out late, etc. They went to extraordinary lengths to assist the peculiarly difficult arrival and departure flight arrangements that I made, and did so with a kind professionalism.

The concierge staff, especially, is expert at offering customized arrangements for your stay: offering informative suggestions of local activities and eateries, and much more.

The hotel itself radiates an elegant ambiance, with the finest arrangements attuned for that effect: a remarkable library brimming with leather-bound books hailing from all over the world (and some very uncommon first editions!). The facilities are always polished and clean, and the hotel staff clearly takes pride in the maintenance of their hotel.

The Explorer Lounge is a particular delight: with unique character, softly played live music (chiefly jazz), and a phenomenal range of Scotches, Cognacs, and Gins.

I would not choose to lodge at any other establishment when I visit Baltimore in the future.

Room Tip: Call the front desk and tell them what you seek (a quiet room, one near the fitness center); they g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property and your kind words. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our number one goal is customer service and from reading your review it appears we were able to meet all of your expectation.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Again thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coplay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff for made our recent weekend stay a very enjoyable one. From the minute we drove up and were greeted by the personable, cheerful valet attendant, my husband and I encountered the most professional, pleasant and helpful staff we've ever met. To top it off, the hotel overall and our room specifically, were charming and comfortable. Before we left Royal Sonesta we already booked two nights for New Year's Eve 2013, and if we have the opportunity to come back sooner we will definitely do so. We'll also recommend the hotel to any of our friends who come to Baltimore. Thanks again for a very pleasant weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property and staff. We strive to make each guest feel as though they are walking through their own “front door”. It is nice to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your weekend and we absolutely look forward to welcoming you back New Year’s Eve 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Traveling with my 16 year old son on a college visit trip. When a 16 year old boy notices dust, there must be a lot of it! The furniture was not dusty, but the floor behind the beds and nightstand was. The bed was also very soft for my taste.

Location is good for Inner Harbor. The room was very large and we had a nice bay window overlooking the harbor. The bar/lounge area was also quite nice. Staff was very pleasant.

I had a travelzoo package that included valet parking, but had to remind the person who checked me in... evidently their systems don't show these packages right off the bat.

Overall... with a few fixes this can definitely be a great place. For the price I paid, I was satisfied, but I would not have been happy paying rack rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our colleagues to ensure these types of incidents are not repeated in the future.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond,va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I just loved the royal soneta harbor court I really felt like a queen I can't wait to come back I really felt like a queen and every one was so nice and pleasant keep up the good job because y'all are number one in my book

Room Tip: I stay in room 423 you can see the harbor from your room good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you’ll be able to visit us again in the near future. It sounds as if we exceeded your expectations and thank you for sharing your visit on TripAdvisor.

Thank you again and we look forward to being of further service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#17 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.