We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Potsdam, New York, United States
1 review
“Amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had the pleasure of stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, this past week as I went to interview for a local company. The front desk help was very helpful and professional, helping me find my way around the great city of Baltimore for the first time. They had a cab waiting for me exactly when i needed it the following morning. And the food I got for dinner via the hotel room service was delivered fast and was outstanding. Overall a great trip and would recommend anyone going to the Baltimore area for business, or vacation to stop and stay you will not regret it.

Room Tip: i stayed on the 5th floor king size rooms, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We are glad to hear the staff was able to accommodate you during your visit. Our staff strives to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return to Baltimore and have the chance to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    150
    64
    33
    23
See reviews for
179
241
18
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I cannot express enough how excellent my experience was at the Baltimore Royal Sonesta. I stayed there as part of a professional meeting, and I was met with nothing but courtesy, kindness, and attentiveness. The front desk staff assisted me, with especial initiative: check in early, check out late, etc. They went to extraordinary lengths to assist the peculiarly difficult arrival and departure flight arrangements that I made, and did so with a kind professionalism.

The concierge staff, especially, is expert at offering customized arrangements for your stay: offering informative suggestions of local activities and eateries, and much more.

The hotel itself radiates an elegant ambiance, with the finest arrangements attuned for that effect: a remarkable library brimming with leather-bound books hailing from all over the world (and some very uncommon first editions!). The facilities are always polished and clean, and the hotel staff clearly takes pride in the maintenance of their hotel.

The Explorer Lounge is a particular delight: with unique character, softly played live music (chiefly jazz), and a phenomenal range of Scotches, Cognacs, and Gins.

I would not choose to lodge at any other establishment when I visit Baltimore in the future.

Room Tip: Call the front desk and tell them what you seek (a quiet room, one near the fitness center); they g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property and your kind words. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our number one goal is customer service and from reading your review it appears we were able to meet all of your expectation.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Again thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coplay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff for made our recent weekend stay a very enjoyable one. From the minute we drove up and were greeted by the personable, cheerful valet attendant, my husband and I encountered the most professional, pleasant and helpful staff we've ever met. To top it off, the hotel overall and our room specifically, were charming and comfortable. Before we left Royal Sonesta we already booked two nights for New Year's Eve 2013, and if we have the opportunity to come back sooner we will definitely do so. We'll also recommend the hotel to any of our friends who come to Baltimore. Thanks again for a very pleasant weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property and staff. We strive to make each guest feel as though they are walking through their own “front door”. It is nice to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your weekend and we absolutely look forward to welcoming you back New Year’s Eve 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Traveling with my 16 year old son on a college visit trip. When a 16 year old boy notices dust, there must be a lot of it! The furniture was not dusty, but the floor behind the beds and nightstand was. The bed was also very soft for my taste.

Location is good for Inner Harbor. The room was very large and we had a nice bay window overlooking the harbor. The bar/lounge area was also quite nice. Staff was very pleasant.

I had a travelzoo package that included valet parking, but had to remind the person who checked me in... evidently their systems don't show these packages right off the bat.

Overall... with a few fixes this can definitely be a great place. For the price I paid, I was satisfied, but I would not have been happy paying rack rates.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. Your comments will be shared with our colleagues to ensure these types of incidents are not repeated in the future.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond,va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I just loved the royal soneta harbor court I really felt like a queen I can't wait to come back I really felt like a queen and every one was so nice and pleasant keep up the good job because y'all are number one in my book

Room Tip: I stay in room 423 you can see the harbor from your room good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you’ll be able to visit us again in the near future. It sounds as if we exceeded your expectations and thank you for sharing your visit on TripAdvisor.

Thank you again and we look forward to being of further service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Larger than average rooms which were comfortable and I understand are going o be renovated next year, to restore to former glory. Enjoyed the sports facilities, indoor pool and hot tub. All positive. Friendly front of House staff and chatty valet parking and bell hop. We thought we had landed on our feet for our one night stay to attend a function on a tall ship moored opposite the hotel. But.....all spoilt by the awful service from the waitress/ bar person who seemed to want to be on her smart phone all the time and not serve! Having sat in the bar for some time around 5 pm, had to get up, go ask her to come and serve us and after we had our drinks and food once again I had to go and get her...yes she was still on her phone...to ask for the bill. Please ban your staff from using their phones if they are supposed to be serving!! It detracted from our stay and let the hotel down.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words in regards to our friendly staff. We apologize for the unfortunate situation in our lounge. We do have a policy in regards to cell phones and we appreciate you brining this matter to our attention. It is comments such as yours that help us strive to provide our guests with the ultimate hotel experience and customer satisfaction.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just spent the weekend at the Royal Sonesta. As noted by others, nice location.
The best part of the hotel was the view from our room. The best views are on the 6th floor, bay side. They have nice arched windows from the floor to the ceiling...the 7th and 8th floors have a ledge below them that does not give as nice a view...at least I was told...

The staff was great...the only exception was the attitude I got from the waitress in the Explorer's Club for asking what kind of beer they had...she obviously didn't want to be bothered even though we were the only ones in the bar at that time.

The workout facility was great. There was an outdoor tennis court, a racquetball court, and an indoor swimming pool...with a proper locker room.

As others have noted, the decor was a bit too much "old English countryside" for my taste. The bed was also a bit too soft, giving me a backache.
Don't valet park. Just self park in the attached garage and pay at the machine on the lobby level of the garage when you leave...much cheaper and just as convenient.

Room Tip: 6th floor bay side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The harbor views from the hotel are amazing and at times surreal. Our apology for the incident you experienced in the Explorers Lounge. Please know we are further investigating this issue. We take these types of comments very seriously and work with our staff to further educate them on the true meaning of customer service.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#14 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.