We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore to your Saves list
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Customize Your Stay!
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Sonesta for 3 nights over the summer. We had a wonderful time at the hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful and the room we had was wonderful. We used and loved the swimming pool. We also received great recommendations from the staff about things to do around the inner harbor. They were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us back in August. Our goal is to have our guests feel as if they are "at home" It appears our staff was very helpful in providing you excellent service during your visit. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    167
    72
    37
    28
See reviews for
198
263
21
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Sonesta is a great brand with high quality hotels. This isn't one of them. From the other reviews I gleaned that this used to be an Intercontinental hotel and is undergoing renovation to become a Sonesta. It's not there yet.

Location
Outstanding. It's across the street from the Inner Harbour where you can jog, walk, eat, see the aquarium, hit the bars, etc. It's also about five blocks from Cross Street which is a historic section of town loaded with bars and restaurants. Great location for tourists.

Entrance
Valet and doormen were friendly and pleasant. They work hard to help you get in and out efficiently.

Check In
Slow and monotone. Felt like robots were checking me in. They did give us free cookies though.

Room
Key Tip -- book a room with a view and insist on getting it. I supposedly did book one, but it wasn't available because the hotel was full. So I had a huge window with a view of a brick wall and the windows of others' rooms. My room looked like it was last renovated in the 70s or 80s. It felt like I was staying in my grandmother's house. It was big and comfortable, but outdated and yucky. The TV was a large flatscreen that didn't show in HD so the image was fuzzy.

Renovation
Be sure to ask in advance for a renovated room. Guests I spoke with who had a new room said they thought it was high quality.

View
People I spoke to who had the harbor view said it was spectacular. They awoke inspired and loved their rooms.

Gym
Large and comfortable gym. Has a pool and weight area. Opens at 7am which is a bit of a bummer.

Food
Terrible service with snotty waiters. Not a great experience. Why would you eat here when there are great restaurants all around?

Taxis
Book in advance. Sometimes they have to call them and you'll have to wait. But the doormen are very helpful with this.

Internet
Free wifi throughout. Has two pass codes -- one in your room and one in the rest of the hotel. Sometimes it runs slow, but it's good that they have it.

Maid Service
Rooms were clean and organized.

Conclusion
If you're a tourist you should stay here a) if you get a good rate, b) if you can get a new room and c) if you can get a room with a harbor view. If you get all three you will be very happy. Otherwise, stay at the brand new Hilton a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property during your recent visit to the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. We very much appreciate you mentioning the good points of your stay and will be sure to share your comments with our staff. However, we are sorry to hear that we did not live up to all of your expectations during your stay. Please know we take your comments very seriously and these will be discussed with our staff to ensure this type of service is not repeated in the future.

In late 2013 we are planning to begin a major room and public space renovation. The rooms will be completely redesigned to give the hotel a more modern look and feel for our guests. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again once this process is completed. We think that most of our guests will be pleased with the new design.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at Royal Sonesta for a weekend getaway. Nice hotel across the street from the inner harbor attractions. Staff was friendly. Only complain was no mini fridge without breaking the seal to the mini bar which = extra charges, so if you bring your own water or soda be prepared to use the Ice bucket( in room bottle of water is $5.00)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Baltimore. For future reference there is no charge for breaking the seal on the minibar and we do reserve room inside the minibar for guests to store personal items. Thank you again for your feedback and your review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were put into a fantastic king suite on the fourth floor, overlooking the harbor. Amazing view, eclectic and tasteful art on all the walls, very comfortable furniture, two bathrooms, and three TVs. I've never stayed in a more comfortable hotel. The concierge hooked us up with a folder of things that are "lesser known, even to Baltimore residents" since we live in Baltimore and were using this stay as a "hometown vacation" to celebrate our anniversary. Without sounding too gushy, I'll just say that the location was exceptional, the views, the room, the staff... everything. We stayed right until checkout time, and were thrilled with every component of our stay. Look forward to staying again!

Oh, and here's some good stuff: HUGE(!!) bathtub in one bathroom, and there's a TV in there, so I could wake up, take a nice hot bath and watch SportsCenter (while my wife was watching Say Yes to the Dress in bed, of course). The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on.

Room Tip: Try to get a harbor view room. Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us and the rest of the TripAdvisor Community. It sounds as though you had a fantastic time both on and off property. We are thrilled that the staff was able to accommodate all your needs. Our main goal is to make sure that each and every guest feels “at home” while staying with us. It appears we lived up to our expectations. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

In June, my husband and I celebrated our 17 year wedding anniversary. Since we spent our wedding night at Harbor Court Hotel (currently Royal Sonesta) 17 years ago, I planned a brunch at Brightons Restaurant with my husband and two daughters. It was extraordinary! Ms. Robin Palva was extremely courteous and made our anniversary celebration so special by providing our family with a small private seating area to enjoy an outstanding brunch, and we received a complimentary mamosa and dessert! The view was amazing. We were able to see the beautiful boats that were in the harbor for the Sailabration Event. Ms. Palva was professional, friendly, and accommodating. I called the night before this event and she was able to make this special occasion happen!
We had a fantastic brunch and enjoyed Brightons atmosphere and service. I am extremely appreciative for Ms. Palva making our visit to the Royal Sonesta so memorable.

Room Tip: Did not stay in a room. Enjoyed Brightons Restaurant only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your brunch in Brightons at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore. We are delighted to hear that Robin was able to make your visit a most memorable one. Your review has been shared with her as well as all our staff members. Please be sure and visit us again but perhaps consider staying with us for an evening to enjoy all the amenities that the hotel has to offer. Our staff is most enthusiastic to meet the needs of all our guests. Again thank you for your review and we hope to be of service to you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We chose to stay at the Royal Sonesta Baltimore Inner Harbor for one week to get married in the nearby Otterbein UMC and honeymoon in Inner Harbor. The staff was wonderful from start to finish. The first night we were given complimentary champagne, cheese and chocolate covered strawberries. My future wife was taken by the hotel to the church the next day. After the wedding we were again treated with champagne and deserts. We had a lovely view of the Harbor, had dinner in that night. We were able to relax and enjoy. The management and staff did everything to make our stay an memorable event that we will never forget. It was the next best thing to being home. Thank you one and all and we will without a doubt see you next year. Thank- You Jefferson and Deborah Davenport

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Congratulations! We are overjoyed that you selected the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore for your honeymoon. It appears from your review that we exceeded both of your expectations. We hope that we were able to help create some unforgettable memories that will bring a smile to your faces for years to come. We can’t thank you enough for leaving such a glowing review of our property and we certainly do look forward to welcoming you back for your 1st Anniversary. We’d love the opportunity to “welcome you home” once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hohokus nj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Royal Sonesta is a great deal. King size bedroom facing the Harbor, room 625. Very spacious, floor to ceiling bay window, very clean, great linens, big towels, nice bathroom, all for $267 per night, about $100-$150 less than the hyatt and others. Valet was expensive, $45 per night, but lesson learned. Still including valet (great service) was a good deal for Harbor View. Bed was a little soft for my taste, but overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Harbor view is well worth it. The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeWaite, Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you have the opportunity to return in the future. The Harbor view rooms do indeed have a spectacular view and we certainly would recommend anyone staying with us to upgrade just for the view alone. Again we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the opportunity to having you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#9 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.