We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade to your Saves list
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 West University Parkway, Baltimore, MD 21218   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Package
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Kingsville, United States
1 review
“Weekend stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The staff was very nice and attentive. Parking is under the building and you can either pay as you go or pay up front. Valet parking is also available. The restaurant's food was very good. Literally across the street from Johns Hopkins Homewood Field...couldn't be more convenient. I thought that the individual rooms needed a bit of updating with fresh paint and wall paper but other than that it was fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    143
    111
    45
    13
See reviews for
207
78
58
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
River Forest, Illoinois
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Although the rooms are spacious and clean, and the public spaces are also commodious, this is a disappointing hotel. There are no electrical outlets around the workdesk (I had to re-charge my laptop in the bathroom in the shaver outlet). Even by hotel standards the lighting is dim; there is a lamp on a nightstand on one side of the bed, but not the other - the lamp on the desk is far from the bed. One day I got washcloths, the other day there were none. All of these things add up to frustration. Laundry must be in at 8:30AM to get it back the same day - that is earlier than most hotels - and they mean it; I got my laundry in at 8:35, and it was too late. Breakfast menu is somewhat limited, though the preparation is good. Staff is pleasant. If the items I specified are not important to you, you might be more satisfied than I was.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick , MD, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very well located for the Homewood campus of JHU. Very well appointed hotel, with great amenities. Highly recommend staying here. Excellant room, parking on premises, very friendly and knowledgeable hotel staff. The warm cookies were a great treat. Well located next to the Baltimore Museum of Art, in an excellent section of the city. Rooms were spacious and clean, apx 60 channels on the TV, great lobby area, and outside patio for dining and meeting guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The lobby staff were very cheerful, helpful, and friendly. The rooms were very clean but the bathroom set up was not so great. No towel racks and the only door is to the very time shower/commode area. If you want privacy while changing clothes then forget it. No road noise, very quiet. I did object for being hit for $20/day for self parking, especially at the nightly rates they charge. Left a bad taste on check out that we were being nickel and dimed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We arrived a bit frazzled, having gotten lost in downtown Baltimore. We were tired and maybe a bit cranky. We were greeted by a charming young man from Valet Parking. He helped us get to the front desk. He was attentive outside as my parents were unloading the car. He knew I was self parking and gave me hints on where to park. He set the tone for us. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We chose to stay at The Doubletree Inn because of its proximity to Johns Hopkins University. My son was at Hopkins for a Lacrosse camp. The location was perfect as it is directly across the street from Homewood Field!
The staff were very friendly, always greeting you with a smile. Most hotels are cordial, but these folks always had a smile & genuinely encouraging word for the day. Such a nice touch!
The Alizee restaurant was enjoyable, food quality good. Just around the corner and north one block north is a small restaurant, Chocolatea Cafe. What a pleasant surprise! They have a variety of coffee and tea drinks and nice selection for breakfast and lunch.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quechee, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip, and put into room 272, which is the smallest North American hotel room I have stayed in. The room was also very dark (both the main room and the bathroom) as the lighting was inadequate. Food that was served (I was part of a large group) was sub-standard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Brian,

Thank you for your response, as you know the group you were with purchased ALL of our rooms, and unfortunately you received one of our smaller rooms. When you deal with a huge group as yours, not everyone can reserve the rooms they request, since your group paid for your room, they were made aware of room types for their guests. In regards to the food, I am surprised, we heard nothing but positive feedback about how deliceous everything was. I am sorry we did not meet your expectation.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Address: 4 West University Parkway, Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#30 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.