We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to like, but a few flaws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 West University Parkway, Baltimore, MD 21218   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Package
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Lots to like, but a few flaws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My true rating is probably 3-1/2, but I'll bump up to 4 for some intangibles (more pluses than minuses). Stayed at the hotel, based on location for a business meeting, the hotel is very convenient to campus. If you are cabbing it from BWI, beware that it's a mid-$40-ish cab ride.
I hustled through the airport and got to the hotel earlier than plan, only to discover the bar and restaurant were closed (it was about 9:40pm). My only nearby option was the vegetarian restaurant across the street.
The rooms are nice. As a Hilton Diamond, I received a suite, with a sitting room (flat screen TV, couch, fridge, mic), separated by a hallway, to a decent-size bedroom area (also with flat screen TV, and chair). The bathroom had a whirlpool tub, but I just used the shower. Counter top space was very good. Overall the room was nice and reasonably quiet. There were a couple waters in the room on the first night, were never replaced.
Wifi was free and the signal was good. I visited the restaurant once for the free "elite" continental breakfast. It was pretty bad (meager offerings, and empty restaurant), so I skipped the remaining mornings and just opted for coffee. On subsequent nights, when the bar was open, service was great. Olga is a great bartender on the weekend.
The staff here tries very hard, so good marks for effort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I will ensure your comments are shared with our F&B Director, I am glad you had a great experience with Olga, she does a great job. We appreciate your business, and hope to see you back soon.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    134
    93
    45
    13
See reviews for
187
72
52
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I can always count on double tree to be charmingly outdated which is what i prefer--very bice hotel, outstanding location right across from John Hopkins, what made me very happy was that despite the valet parking, there was some great restaurants to walk to that was extremely close.
staff was very friendly, rooms were lovely.
I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for the great comments! We love the brand too. We hope to see you back soon, don't forget to grab one of our famour cookies.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Make sure you take a room where the air does not blow directly over the bed. The rooms are dark unless you are given a suite. The floors, carpets, and walls need upgrading in terms of markings, tearing, and odors. It was depressing to be there. With a renovation, the hotel would be more than acceptable. It is the only up-market place to stay near Johns Hopkins, so perhaps they are not motivated to spend the funds for renovation.

Room Tip: Check location of air vents before you accept a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I am sorry your experience was not as expected. We are in the midst of a lighting upgrade throughout the entire hotel, which will address any light issues. We are always touching some part of our hotel to ensure it is always a product we can be proud of and our guests enjoy. I will make sure your feedback is shared with our engineering department. Thank you, and feel free to contact me at 410-554-7566 with any other concerns or suggestions.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a classic elegant hotel. The lobby is huge and you will want to find time to nest in it's nooks and crannies with a cup of coffee or cocktail. The staff are exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. All requests, big and small, were met promptly and the customer service exceeded my expectations. If you have business at JHU or are doing the college exploratory visit this is THE hotel to stay at. It is literally right across the street from JHU I would also recommend it over the chain hotels in the harbor area. This is the most elegant and upscale Double Tree I have stayed at and I look forward to another visit when I'm in the Baltimore area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to JHU and our hotel. I am a little biased, but I agree we have a beautiful lobby. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you back very soon! Happy Holiday's from the Inn at the Colonnade, a Doubletree by Hilton hotel.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed at the Colonnade for a business meeting at Hopkins for a few days. The location of the hotel was realistically the only redeeming feature. The decor of hotel was dull, dated and uninspiring. Not only did the plug in bathroom not work when I wanted a bath, but the bath didn't drain when the plug was out!
I've lived in the US for 10 years, and the restaurant served quite possibly the worst ribs I've ever had - and they were ordered on the recommendation from the bar maid! The wait staff was surly, unintelligible and not that useful. Be prepared to seat yourself for a limited breakfast selection - though the breakfast wait staff were really friendly and should be commended.
I think I've worked out where all the old cathode ray tube televisions have been placed...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences that you endured and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your next stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Chose this hotel for its location, across the street from Johns Hopkins Homewood campus. Very nice rooms, conformable beds and very friendly staff. Kids loved the cookies at check in. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Colonnade, and glad you enjoyed our famous Doubletree cookies. Hope to see you back soon for your next visit to JHU.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A wonderful atmosphere and a quiet and friendly enviroment for a "get-together" of friends and family. To those planning a "get-together" in the near future, we highly recommend Inn at the
Colonnade.
Hotel service was really satisfactory and the staff considerate and helpful. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a survey regarding our hotel, and we appreciate you choosing our hotel for your stay in Baltimore. I realize you have many choices when staying in Baltimore and hope to see you back soon at the Colonnade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Address: 4 West University Parkway, Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#32 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.