We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 West University Parkway, Baltimore, MD 21218   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Package
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I had room 317, which was nice and quiet. A small detail which is very nice: the soap, shampoo, etc. turned out of excellent quality. I had breakfast in the bar downstairs once, which was good, but in my view a little expensive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We appreciate you choosing the Colonnade for your stay in Baltimore, and glad you enjoyed one of our quiet rooms. I am also glad you enjoyed the little touches we offer in the room as well as throughout the hotel. We hope the overall experience provided you a value that you felt is worth another stay at our hotel. Thanks again!

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    135
    93
    45
    13
See reviews for
187
72
52
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've lost power and trees have come crashing down on our roof, so this time we reserved a room for three nights at the warm and charmng INN AT THE COLONNADE, a DOUBLETREE BY HILTON HOTEL.

Our suite was so sweet! Plenty of space, a fabulous bed, delicious meals at Alizee Restaurant, reasonably priced, and, best of all, they never lost power! General Manager, Steve Nyitrai, was at the reception desk to personally welcome each of the guests who were also checking in to get out of Sandy's way. Although we've eaten plenty of meals at the Inn At The Colonnade, this was the first time we actually lived there for a few nights. We enthusiatically recommend it without reservation. The "C" in Colonnade surely stands for COZY!

Room Tip: You can't miss no matter where your room is. Promise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you are visiting JHU, this is right on campus and you will probably want to stay here for the convenience. But if you are in Baltimore for any other reason, you have many better options. I've now stayed here 3 times (not by my choice) and every time the room has had the stale smell of old smoke. Rooms are decent size, though, and furnishings are nice enough (for a Doubletree.) Bathroom is small. Room service dinner was actually good-- crabcake w/potatoes and spinach. But they forgot to include the cheese in my omelette (breakfast room service.) And the lunch they service for our meeting was decidedly sub-par deli food both days. Here's an example of the kind of service you can expect at this hotel -- someone rang my doorbell at 7 am and handed me a newspaper i didn't want (USA Today or similar) and a couple of packets of toothpaste -- meant for someone else. If i had been sleeping, that would have been quite unfortunate. Conclusion: if you are in town to do something at JHU, you'll have to put up with this mediocrity, but if you are doing something in another part of town, try the Monaco instead.

Room Tip: Don't choose the "suite" -- very bleak little windowless extension with a pull-out sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review of your experience with your guest room. At our property, we often utilize guest reviews to help us improve our hotel operations. We’ve reviewed your feedback with our hotel team and are now actively taking steps to freshen our guestrooms as well as work on the level of service that is provided to our guests. We appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is our go-to hotel in Baltimore when visiting our daughter at Hopkins. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, spacious and bright with both good relaxation and good work spaces, excellent breakfast and free Internet for Hilton members, and of course the easy access to Johns Hopklns University. There is low-cost and free street parking nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A very nice hotel with semi-posh accommodations. You definitely pay a premium for being across the street from Johns Hopkins.

However, Double Tree clearly doesn't pay too many visits to the hardware store because the lighting in this room is awful. They definitely don't believe in having guests see what's in their rooms.

Our double queen bed room had exactly two average desk lamps and a small light in an alcove to light up this entire room. If you like doing shadow puppets on walls, this would perfect room for you. Otherwise, I recommend you bring your own floor lamps or flashlights if you hope to have your room lit up in any normal way.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for the best lit room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I recently spent one night at the Inn at the Colonnade. It had been many years since I had been there and they have done a very nice upgrade.

Rooms - decent-sized, clean, nice toiletries, free internet, comfortable bed
Breakfast - the continental buffet isn't all that impressive, but I got the bed and breakfast option and was able to order off the menu. Staff was very attentive and good food came quickly.
Location - this is unbeatable if you have business at the Johns Hopkins Homewood campus. Even if you have business elsewhere in Baltimore, it is only about a $15 cab ride to downtown.

I recommend this for anyone with business at Hopkins.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade is an average hotel. Positive aspects include its' proximity to Johns Hopkins main campus, convenient self parking, very comfortable bed with an abundance of pillows, and of course, the warm cookies. I'll preface my negatives by saying I arrived at 1:30am after a few delays and an arduous rental car experience. Our room was a bit of a haul from the elevator and the keys didn't work when we got there. The front desk staff member accompanied me on trip #2...mentioned something about having to know the "trick". My key never worked all weekend. Our room was dingy and smelled of old smoke, and the coffee machine didn't work. Overall, it worked out to being average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Address: 4 West University Parkway, Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#32 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.