We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade to your Saves list
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 West University Parkway, Baltimore, MD 21218   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spa Package
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Best Ever Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Johns Hopkins University invited a guest to one of our seminars. When our guest became ill overnight, the Inn at The Colonnade did everything imaginable to make this guests' stay as pleasant as possible given the circumstances. Chasity Michailov was outstanding! We tip our hat to you Chasity! Top notch service and people and I recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    143
    111
    45
    13
See reviews for
207
78
58
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Colonnade and we had a wonderful experience there. The room was very nice and spacious and looked like it had been recently renovated. The hotel was also very clean and maintained well. The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. The location was also very convenient and close to many attractions. The hotel restaurant was also excellent and the food was wonderful. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Recently stayed at the Colonnade. I must say I was extremely impressed with the staff and overall appearance of the hotel. It is obvious that the employees put their customer first and they take every opportunity to ensure your stay is the best it can be!! First rate!!The rooms look like they have been recently renovated. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I will start by saying that I see a lot of effort from employees at this property and this is mostly the saving grace. Room was little worn down, but acceptable. Main issue is this property is not polished, there appears to be a slightly lax method of maintenance which the owners/managers have determined is best overcome by "great costumer service" from what I can tell. Ok, fine...but funny how people dont think about that when the property runs like a well oiled machine. THis one doesnt. To be fair, this is only a 3* hotel, but that should only be reflected in the amenities, not the subtle feel that there is a little neglect in upkeep and "polished" nature of the property.

Here is some examples:
1) walking in, there was a janitor spraying plants next to the elevator with some kinda chemical shine spray....didn stop as I walked by. Kept spraying as I walked through a cloud of who knows what. Who does that? Next time, look behind you and spray when there is no one within 50 feet of the elevator...or do it at night.
2) tub drain plug...took 5 minutes to get to stay closed both times I used tub. These little details should be checked. Also, electric lock was erratic.
3) BIG ONE: $160 per night for a room and I am watching a $1000 HIGH DEFINITION flat screen tv with an ANALOG signal. AN ANALOG SIGNAL? Why? Many of the lower channel numbers were clouded with snow. Unacceptable. Spend some money on digital and HD channels.
4) BIG ONE: A loud trash truck was operating for at least 5 minutes right outside my room at THREE IN THE MORNING. Woke both me and my GF up and we watched the truck from our window, laughing and shaking our heads. WHO DOES THAT OR ALLOWS THAT AT A HOTEL? Seriously.
5) Pool was out of commission. Apparently closed permanently? I asked the front desk upon arrival what was going on and commented that a good portion of the reason we chose the location was the pool WHICH HAD PICTURES ON THE WEBSITE AND IS LISTED AS AN AMENITY. This is false advertising. Unacceptable that this isnt immediately noted on the website the day the pool is closed.
6) Gym: The elliptic trainer was broken. Nice...but didnt surprise me. Called front desk and kinda got a disinterested "ok".

Bottom line is this: I stayed here 4 nights from Jan 16th and was lucky enough to pay $70 a night becuase I KNEW going in which hotel it was via Hotwire. But even at that discounted rate, I still chose this hotel. Overall, ok, its satisfactory, maybe deserves slightly more than a "poor" rating, but if I had paid $100 more a night (which is about the cheapest you will see at the normal rate) I would have left with a pretty sour taste in my mouth. To many little things need to be addressed. As is it, it was functional and a place to sleep, but little more. Management needs to stop saying "sorry" to people who have complaints (plenty on here) and make it so the complaints are actually reduced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Recently spent two nights at the Colonnade when I dropped off my son at Johns Hopkins. Excellent location, right next to the athletic facilities of the Homewood Campus of Johns Hopkins University across the street.
Comfortable rooms, very helpful friendly front desk personnel and the General Manager, Stephen Nyitrai was, was extremely helpful and considerate in straightening out a messed up reservation and relating charges. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I had an unexpected change in plans and the desk clerk forwarded me to the GM. I left a VM and heard back shortly thereafter and he was very accommodating.

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

It's very convenient if you just go to Baltimore to visit your friends there. Rooms are large, and the service is not bad. Free wireless Internet access was useful too. Generally it's typically a DoubleTree hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snyitrai, General Manager at Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear exzx, thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased that you found the location convenient for your needs. Our location is great for anyone visiting JHU or the hospital. We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Thanks again!

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Address: 4 West University Parkway, Baltimore, MD 21218
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#30 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.