We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, good for Johns Hopkins patients” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5625 O'Donnell Street, Baltimore, MD 21224   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #35 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
St. Catharines, Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very clean, good for Johns Hopkins patients”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

I stayed here for one night when I had an appointment at Johns Hopkins. Although the Outpatient Clinic was a good drive away (taxi $15), the hotel offers a free daily shuttle service which is great.

The location of the hotel is great for drivers coming from out of town as it is right off the highway, close to a truck stop, McDonald's and a food court (could have healthier food choices though!). This Best Western is also adjacent to the bus terminal for those traveling by Greyhound.

Hotel room was spacious and very clean. Shower pressure was a little too low for my liking but seeing as how the bathroom was very clean, I didn't mind too much. I've attached a picture of the amenities found upon my arrival.

Buffet breakfast was plenty.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Cons: The Greyhound bus terminal area could use a renovation and healthier food outlets would be nice. The store needed restocking in items such as milk and water.

  • Liked — room was very clean
  • Disliked — shower pressure
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    193
    103
    55
    53
See reviews for
240
135
30
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

We stayed 1 night here on a 16day tour of the capital region. This was an excellent hotel with no problems (and yes we had some in others!!) This is a going places hotel-the room was large, well serviced and excellent air con. Reception staff were excellent polite, helpful and although we didin't try the theatre on site we wished we had.
The free shuttle service which you need to book on arrival runs on the hour from hotel except over lunch and dinner and collects on the half hour at the inner harbour.

We returned from a full day at the harbour and ate in the restaurant which was excellent and also produced a great breakfast.

Baltimore itself is undergoing major development and is shabby except for the harbour area.

Personally we were delighted with everything at this hotel AND its so convenient to the I 95 it means its a good easy overnight stay when travelling on.
Clearly it had problems in 2005 reading your reviews but this is no longer the case.

  • Liked — Free shuttle and food
  • Disliked — indoor pool too small
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2007

I booked this reservation online some 8 months earlier in January. My son and I were in Baltimore for one night to see two Red Sox/Orioles games, we had flown into Washington and drove a rental up to Baltimore. Originally the Saturday game was scheduled for 7pm but due to national TV was moved to 3:55. Checkin at the hotel was 4pm. Due to the new gametime we went directly to the hotel to check in and give our credit card information. We did this at 1pm. The hotel took our credit card, gave us a parking pass, booked us on their shuttle to the Inner Harbor and booked us on a return shuttle at 11:30 pm after the game. They told us that rooms were presently not ready and that our key would be waiting when we got back. After the game most of the restraunts in the inner harbor had two hour waits so we decided at 9pm to take a cab back to the hotel, shower, eat somewhere close and take a cab back to go to the ESPNZone. When we got back to the hotel there was commotion at the reservation desk and the manager on duty wanted to speak to me off to the side. He told me that there was a problem with the pipes in four of the rooms and that as the hotel was full that these four rooms needed to be moved to another hotel. One of these people was us. The only available hotel was a Days Inn which was 20 miles north on rte 95. Needless to say I was not happy and could not understand why we were chosen as we were there at 1pm. I still dont understand. The people at the hotel said it was because we had a car. When I booked the hotel I had an AAA discount with a price of $118 per night, most of the hotels in the inner harbor were going for over $300 per night. My son noticed that behind the desk that there was a sign stating not to honor discounts for weekends when the Orioles play either the Red Sox or the Yankees. Were we part of this policy? Did they find someone to rent for $300 for the night and stick us in a fleebag with a rate of $72? This ruined our night which we had been looking forward to for more than half a year. We ended up driving an additional 5 or 10 miles out of the way to find the only open restraunt, a TGI Fridays and eating dinner at 10pm. We were not compensated for gas. Had to get up earlier on Sunday morning than we wanted to in order to backtrack the 20 miles. Never had time for breakfast. What would the hotel had done if we had gone to the ESPNZone after the game and had been drinking? With shuttle and cab service available we more than likely would not have been able to drive. Never ever again will I step foot into a Best Western.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsysvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

We arrived Fri. evening before the preakness race. Check in was a breeze.Our room safe did not work properly, hotel maintenance came immediately to fix it. He was very friendly and pleasant. Rooms were clean and I am very picky about that.If you put your housekeeping tag on the door , they will clean again for you the next day.The only negatives are the bar needs to stay open later and the breakfast buffet needs to be monitered more efficiently.We had to wait for some items to be replenished.

  • Liked — pleasant staff
  • Disliked — bar closed early
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

Hotel is okay but the staff(except the pool boy) was the most unfriendly, unhappy group of people. room was comfy, bathroom was a nice size.Liked the breakfast,shuttle and gift shop. Noisy on weekends!

  • Liked — gift shop,pool,restaurant,shuttle
  • Disliked — most of the front desk staff never smiled
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

Upon arriving to the hotel, we joined the many guests standing around in the lobby waiting for our rooms to be ready, this was at 6PM, 3 hours after our check-in time. Finally we were checked in by the less-than-friendly front desk staff, and went up to our rooms. We found used condoms in the trash can in one of the rooms, hair on the bed, and dirty bathroom. It looked like housekeeping did a rush job of the cleaning of the room. Our 2nd room was just as bad, only the tub in the bathrrom actually was BLACK on the bottom, instead of ivory. The black was mold or dirt built up on the bottom. When brought to the attention of management, they commented "What the [--] are those [--] doing down there, I'm gonna have to have a talk with them." in those exact words. The N word was used quite often by staff members... I also was told "Oh, you guys are nit-pickers" when I first complained about the room. The hotel is in a terrible location, but offers convenient shuttle services. I would not come back here again, after the bad experiance we had with 2 rooms.

  • Liked — The name had "Best" in it, that's about it.
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

Room was in disrepair and telling the hotel did not good. Door would not even lock. Housekeeping did not replenish toilet paper or kleenex and calls to the front desk provided no results. Housekeeping had not cleaned the floors or rugs in quite a while. Security was a major concern. Both of my sisters were threatened by a drunk and I was confronted. The room two doors down had an extremely loud argument about 2 AM of the first night.

  • Liked — Front Desk Staff
  • Disliked — Staff attentiveness to problems
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 5625 O'Donnell Street, Baltimore, MD 21224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#28 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel & Conference Center is conveniently located off I-95 with plenty of free parking. We offer a complimentary scheduled shuttle to the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore Convention Center and Johns Hopkins Hospitals. As seating is limited, guests are required to sign-up for this service at the Front Desk. Room amenities include a microwave/refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/ironing board and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Hotel Baltimore
Best Western Plus Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Hotel Baltimore
Best Western Baltimore
Baltimore Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.