We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1840s Carrollton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 1840s Carrollton Inn to your Saves list
1840s Carrollton Inn
50 Albemarle Street, Baltimore, MD 21202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Discount winter rates
Ranked #5 of 18 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a great stay here. It was a beautiful B&B and very romantic. The room was a little tight and did not leave a lot of room for luggage, but for the price and quality, it was great. The bathroom definitely made the place, as well as the big comfy bed. The food was great as well. The area is a little questionable at night, but we did not have any problems. It is in great proximity to the Harbor and mall. We felt like the only ones there and the only time we were aware of others was at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    38
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
290
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linden, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The room was elegantly appointed in furnishings of the period. The bed, most comfortably overstuffed for a great nights sleep. Breakfast in the courtyard... private, romantic and surrounded by fully landscaped gardens. Highly recommend this one folks!

Room Tip: Great location in walking distance of all Baltimore's finest restaurants and attractions. Any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my second time staying here and was once again a great experience. Everyone is friendly, the breakfast great and the rooms very well decorated. Nice walking distance to little Italy and the inner harbor! The owner even drove us to the train station when we left, now that's service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed one night here for a relaxing getaway before our first baby arrives and it was the perfect spot! Everyone on the staff was so accomodating and friendly so we felt comfortable as soon as we got there. We were even able to check in a couple hours early. The location is fantastic - short walk to the Inner Harbor and basically in Little Italy close to many great restaurants. We walked everywhere. Parking was no problem - easy directions to a garage very close to the B&B for a reasonable rate for 24 hours. We were really impressed and happy with our room. It was larger than we expected and I loved the complimentary teas, along with the cute teacups! The decor was lovely, very comfortable, spacious...No complaints at all!! We chose our breakfast the night before from the menu and it was ready right on time for a wonderful meal in their outdoor courtyard. Delicious and fresh, great portions and we were not rushed at all. All in all - it was exactly what my husband and I were looking for to have a stress free, fun and relaxing time together in a great city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff and experience was simply amazing. We had a wonderful time at this very special historic landmark. It's within walking distance of very nice restaurants and entertainment. The breakfast that was included really hit the spot. The rooms are even nicer than the website and have very high quality furniture. We are going back again!!

Room Tip: We stayed at the Annapolis suite, highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The location was great. Parking was a bit of a hassle, but I expect that downtown. The staff were courteous and moderately engaging. Our room was great! The bed was comfortable and the sheets were sumptuously superb! My only reservation was our breakfast the following morning. It arrived on time, but parts of it were cold and the poached yolks in my eggs Benedict were hard. This, albeit small, was very disappointing to me. Overall great experience, would recommend for. A downtown getaway.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Carrollton Inn. Everything about the room was beautiful...the decor, the linens, the fireplace. The bed couldn't have been more comfortable and the bathroom was clean and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a coffeemaker in our room but they offered to bring us a fresh pot anytime and told us just to let them know and they'd be happy to deliver it. We enjoyed our breakfast in the courtyard. There were so many options to choose from...I went with raspberry pancakes and eggs benedict and was not disappointed. Delicious! I was a little worried about the parking situation, but we were able to pull up near the entrance to unload our car during check-in. Then we were given a voucher for a nearby garage. It was a great rate and the garage was not more than a couple blocks away. Not bad at all! Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1840s Carrollton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840s Carrollton Inn

Address: 50 Albemarle Street, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Jonestown, the 1840s Carrollton Inn is just blocks from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, Little Italy, Harbor East and Fells Point. Luxury rooms and suites are decorated with boutique furnishings and artwork and feature whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your 1840s Carrollton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840s Carrollton Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1840s Carrollton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.