We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feb 2012 getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1840s Carrollton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baltimore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1840s Carrollton Inn
Save
You added 1840s Carrollton Inn to your Saves list
50 Albemarle Street, Baltimore, MD 21202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Havre de Grace, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Feb 2012 getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had a wonderful time. We stayed in the Caton Suite with our toddler and there was enough room in the parlor area for our packnplay so that baby had his own space. The staff were so friendly and helpful and breakfast was so tasty every morning. We really enjoyed all of the information provided in our room about the history of the house, family members, and local area. The Inn is located within a couple blocks of the Inner Harbor area, steps from little Italy, and across the street from a shuttle stop for the free Charm City Circulator which takes you to all points around Baltimore. It was a great getaway! Just remember that this is the city, so for us suburban folks the sounds of traffic might take a little getting used to at night and early morning. But, the coffe service to our room in the morning made everything better ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    49
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
27
327
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Patriot's room of the 1840's Carrollton Inn after purchasing a Groupon last year. If it wasn't for the Groupon, I doubt we would have known to stay here. Once we arrived, we were delighted by the accommodations! The exterior of the building facing the street is very unassuming, but once you walk through the front door, it's obvious that the owners and employees care very much about the inn. They have thought of everything, literally. The room was superior in every way - stunning decor, comfortable bed, marble and granite bath with jetted tub, robes for the two of us. Breakfast wasn't just the ordinary bagels and donuts. We both had omelets, bacon, juice, and toast.

What a refreshing weekend stay! I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. The Inn is in a fairly quiet area, so street noises weren't a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Carroll suite and it was amazing. It was the first time we have been away since our baby was born and it was truly worth it. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was delicious. We ordered almost everythng on the menu. The house juice is delicious. We are planning another trip here in September for our anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed for a week in the Declaration room and what a stay I had! With the location so close to the inner harbor and little italy, I enjoyed some great museums, wonderful food and terrific shopping. This was a great deal from GROUPON. BReakfast every morning was amazing. My partner had eggs benedict twice and he said they were fantastic. I checked out just about all the dishes in the morning, and my favorite was the french toast... the eggs are fabulous too. THe servings are more than ample.... and the service was terrific! REally, if you want to stay at abed and breakfast, this is the one to stay at! Laundry facilities are also available here at no cost. Trying to get everything in this review.. but really, it is a worth while experience. I look forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: you can park on the street if you look hard enough. The parking garage is a block or two away, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here to have a weekend away. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was exquisite. We stayed in the Carroll Suite and it had everything we could ask for. The Inn is just a couple blocks from Little Italy, Parking, and close to downtown. The breakfast was wonderful and we loved that we could have it in our room or downstairs in the dining room. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Booked this B&B through Groupon deal for a birthday celebration. When we first drove up and saw the outside of the property, we were a bit worried but let's just say we were far from disappointed. We stayed in the Senator's Room and it was beautifully decorated and clean with attention to detail. The mattress was extremely comfortable and the bed linens as well.The bathroom was amazing with large marble shower and jacuzzi. The refrigerator and microwave were nice amenities along with the coffeemaker, microwave popcorn, coffee and tea bags. Breakfast was delicious and they give you a menu to select what you want the night before and you get your own private table in the dining room--something you don't get at all B&Bs. The only negative we saw was the noise level. I know that really can't be helped because of the location in the city but we were awakened several times during the night by people yelling right outside our window and by ambulances driving by. Perhaps there were some rooms located in a quieter inside location of the inn. The validated parking at a locked garage was convenient and safe-- a savings of $21. We would love to go back and try a different room and stay longer next time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This was our first stay here; we happened to stumble over it on the internet while looking for traditional hotels, and we are so glad we did! We were graciously greeted by a friendly and very helpful staff member who personally assisted with our luggage, escorted us to our room, explained where the parking garage was and how to navigate through Baltimore. Our room was perfectly clean and beautifully decorated. Our favorite feature was the incredibly romantic 4-poster bed, draped overhead with sheers, and the double whirlpool tub. The bed was not only beautiful but extremely comfortable. Our only regret - we could not stay for another night! Breakfast was made to order and tasty. If you are up for exploring, this B&B is in a great location. You can easily walk to the Inner Harbor, Little Italy, Harbor East and Fells Point (or take a short, inexpensive taxi ride) providing an array of options for activities and dining. We loved this place and will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1840s Carrollton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840s Carrollton Inn

Address: 50 Albemarle Street, Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Jonestown, the 1840s Carrollton Inn is just blocks from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, Little Italy, Harbor East and Fells Point. Luxury rooms and suites are decorated with boutique furnishings and artwork and feature whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1840s Carrollton Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1840s Carrollton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.