We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phoenix Risin - Health Code Violation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast

Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1429 Bolton St., Baltimore, MD 21217   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Baltimore B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Phoenix Risin - Health Code Violation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

I recently stayed at Phoenix Risin with a few colleagues for a business meeting.
The pictures on the website are deceiving and the property is disgusting.
For starters -The property was unprepared for our arrival and the innkeeper provided several excuses but never offered a discounted
Upon entering the property, the innkeeper had all of personal items (shoes, clothes, etc) out in the junky foyer area. Upon our walk thru of the home which had lovely artwork, the rooms looked clean but was not. in-room Coffe makers with fungus in side, old bed sheets with holes in them.
The innerkeeper did not cook breakfast and kept a filthy kitchen that should be fined for several health code violations. She also eased dropped in on our private meeting and proceed to provide input interrupting our meeting. There were so many levels of unprofessionalism and filthy living conditions I couldn't ruin one's appetite.

Last but not least we checked out early due to inhospitable conditions and the innkeeper rushed downstairs to charge our credit card for 2 nights instead of 1 night in a sweatshirt and panties (Disgusting!!) singing her excuse song.
I would NOT recommend this property to anyone

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOrrEsq, Owner/Innkeeper at Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 26, 2008
First, this review and the next two (2) reviews written in November and December are from members of one group, some of whom spent one (1) night in the inn, although the entire group met here from 8:30 AM to 9 PM the following day/night. The reviews were not written by individuals who were guests of the inn on separate occasions. This is an isolated incident and not the norm for the Inn.


We take guest comments seriously. If we didn't, we couldn't have stayed in
business for over 7 years -- February 14 2008 will be our eighth (8th) year in business -- getting GREAT reviews, REPEAT customers/guests, and MANY referrals. There is a welcome letter in each room that asks for guest comments - good and bad. So, we appreciate their candor.



We have reviewed their comments and taken the following actions. We now check expiration dates on items we purchase more carefully. We continue to buy and use only the finest high thread count linen. We are constantly eliminating clutter. We also fired the cleaning staff and hired new people. Finally, we have taken steps to ensure that there will be someone available to fix breakfast for guests when the innkeeper is unable to do so. We will continue to do everything within our power to make sure that Phoenix Risin' is a place where guests can come to relax their bodies, rejuvenate their souls and return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    1
    2
    7
See reviews for
1
8
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

I was part of a women's retreat that went to the Phonix Risin over Veteran's weekend. This place was a very sad excuse for a bed and breakfast. It is in a nice neighborhood in Baltimore and the house is filled with beautiful artwork from all over the world however this place would be better off calling itself an afrocentric museum rather than a Bed and breakfast. The rooms were interestingly decorated but didn't feel clean. The owner offered us sodas and when we looked at the soda's they had expired two years prior, they filters in the coffee makers in the room had mold in them. The owner was supposed to make breakfast at 8:30am however when she didn't wake up to make us breakfast we decided that we would just fix ourselves a snack. The kitchen was filthy. The owner is a pack rat. She needs full time help with this B & B. To her defense, the owner is disabled, she either has MS or Polio or something so she walks on crutches and is hardly able to get around however i can honestly say one look at the kitchen which was filled with old papers, bills, rotting fruit, lots of fly traps, old bread in the toasters and the smelliest most packed refrigerator I'd opened in a decade, even if she had made us breakfast, there is no way I could have eaten here . This is only a place to stay at if you have absolutely no options at all. I would never recommend this place, never stay here again and if i called the health department I am 100% sure they'd close the place down. I wound up paying for two nights and didn't even stay there one (i missed my bus and arrived early that morning and met my fellow co-workers who'd spent the night.) The owner was supposed to provide separate beds in each room for two people to a room and was going to put me in an aerobed that refused to inflate. (Why am i paying full price at a B&B to sleep on the floor on an aerobed?) To top things off when we decided to cut the stay short because we were too skeeved out to stay the next night, she wouldn't be flexible with the price of our stay even though we had to foot the money for our breakfast because she overslept. Do yourself a favor and find a motel 6, it will feel like a trump hotel compared to this dump.

  • Liked — Beautiful Interesting Artwork through out the house
  • Disliked — It was filty, with stale food, flies, expired medication and moldy coffe makers
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOrrEsq, Owner/Innkeeper at Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 26, 2008
First, this review and the next review are from members of one group, some of whom spent one (1) night in the inn, although the entire group met here from 8:30 AM to 9 PM the following day/night. The reviews were not written by individuals who were guests of the inn on separate occasions. This is an isolated incident and not the norm for the Inn.


We take guest comments seriously. If we didn't, we couldn't have stayed in
business for over 7 years -- February 14 2008 will be our eighth (8th) year in business -- getting GREAT reviews, REPEAT customers/guests, and MANY referrals. There is a welcome letter in each room that asks for guest comments - good and bad. So, we appreciate their candor.



We have reviewed their comments and taken the following actions. We now check expiration dates on items we purchase more carefully. We continue to buy and use only the finest high thread count linen. We are constantly eliminating clutter. We also fired the cleaning staff and hired new people. Finally, we have taken steps to ensure that there will be someone available to fix breakfast for guests when the innkeeper is unable to do so.

We will continue to do everything within our power to make sure that Phoenix Risin' is a place where guests can come to relax their bodies, rejuvenate their souls, and return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

This has got to be the worst bed and breakfast imaginable. I hate to call it a bed and breakfast because we didn't even recieve breakfast. Every year, my fellow board members and I, book a bed and breakfast for our annual retreat. We chose Phoenix Risin because of the price and because we wanted to patronize a minority-owned business. Needless to say, I will NEVER GO BACK. The inn-keeper was not very welcoming, at all. I was the last person to get there in my party. When I got there, two of the people from my party were there so they were able to warn me about some things... but that didn't help much. The house is a old house. It looks more like a museum than a bed and breakfast. The second level has one guest room and the "inn-keeper's" room. She stayed in her room for the majority of the visit. The third level has two more guest rooms and a "sitting room." Before we went to bed, the innkeeper asked us what time did we want to have breakfast (since it was included in the price) we told her 8:00-8:30 since we had a lot of business to take care of in her conference/dining room. Since I got there rather late on the first night, we went to sleep not knowing was was in store for us the next morning.

The next day, we woke up around 8:00. The inn-keeper was no where to be found. by 9:00 we went into the kitchen to find the nastiest kitchen imaginable. The refrigerator was filled with old food, the toaster oven has a fly trap in it, the microwave oven had flies in it. We were able to find some fruit to hold us over. By 10:30 the inn-keeper surfaces claiming to be in pain and that was the reason she couldn't make breakfast for us. She then attempted to give us some refreshments which turned out to be soda that expired in 2005!!!!!

This was the worst experience I have EVER had.

  • Liked — NOTHING!
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOrrEsq, Owner/Innkeeper at Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 26, 2008
First, this review was written a member of a group, some of whom spent one (1) night in the inn, although the entire group met here from 8:30 AM to 9 PM the following day/night. The reviews were not written by individuals who were guests of the inn on separate occasions. This is an isolated incident and not the norm for the Inn.


We take guest comments seriously. If we didn't, we couldn't have stayed in
business for over 7 years -- February 14 2008 will be our eighth (8th) year in business -- getting GREAT reviews, REPEAT customers/guests, and MANY referrals. There is a welcome letter in each room that asks for guest comments - good and bad. So, we appreciate their candor.

We have reviewed their comments and taken the following actions. We now check expiration dates on items we purchase more carefully. We continue to buy and use only the finest high thread count linen. We are constantly eliminating clutter. We also fired the cleaning staff and hired new people. Finally, we have taken steps to ensure that there will be someone available to fix breakfast for guests when the innkeeper is unable to do so.

We will continue to do everything within our power to make sure that Phoenix Risin' is a place where guests can come to relax their bodies, rejuvenate their souls and return again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1429 Bolton St., Baltimore, MD 21217
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix Risin' Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.