We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan your getaway at the Gramercy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gramercy Mansion to your Saves list
Gramercy Mansion
1400 Greenspring Valley Rd., Baltimore, MD 21153-0119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Plan your getaway at the Gramercy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Gramercy Mansion is located in Lutherville right off of 695.
This B&B is perfect for romantic getaway and is great for weddings.
My wife and I first came to the Gramercy since it is located near the Cloisters, where we were married. We stayed the night before the wedding and for our honeymoon night.
The Gramercy gives the impression of being away but is located close to restaurants.
As you drive up to the mansion, you see the fields that supply the vegetables that are used at the B&B.
For those who are planning a wedding, you can have the wedding either in the main building or the Carriage house. Look for the preview days where you can sample different caterers and other wedding service providers.
Be aware that the parking was limited near the mansion.
The gardens around the grounds are serene.
The mansion itself is beautiful with hard wood and antiques.
The best part of staying here is that you can purchase items around the mansion.
We purchased the lamps that were in our room so we can always remember our honeymoon.
There are different rooms for different prices and tastes.
There is a pool and a patio (great for weddings).
The breakfast is very good and there are a number of things you can chose from ranging from eggs to pancakes.
Then there is the service which is outstanding. They are very helpful and friendly. Don't forget the cat who walks the halls.
Since our honeymoon we have stayed here for our anniversary and intend on return each year.
This is a phenomenal place to go if you want to get away in the Baltimore area.

Room Tip: Book early if you are planning a getaway as there are a lot of weddings here. Go online, review t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are very glad that you returned to visit us for your anniversary this year. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come!

We do host many weddings on weekends during the summer months, but if you're ever able to get away mid-week we offer a Sizzling Summer Savings special and Room of the Month with a discounted rate - visit our website for details. It does tend to be much quieter mid-week and guests are able to stroll the grounds and truly enjoy the tranquility of the property.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    31
    4
    8
    14
See reviews for
26
182
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I just got married at Gamercy Mansion. It was such a gorgeous venue, and after spending the weekend there we didn't want to leave. The bed and sheets were so comfortable. We couldn't wait to have breakfast, as it was a delicious feast with all of our favorite foods. A gentleman by the name of Bill was such a pleasure and was very welcoming. He was our officiant, and led a beautiful ceremony in the garden. My only suggestions are that they should have better lighting and a full length mirror in the rooms. My husband and I definitely want to go back for anniversaries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you so much for celebrating with us! Thank you for sharing your experience, as well. We sincerely appreciate your comments and are so glad you enjoyed both the bed & the breakfast during your stay - two of our top priorities!

We will certainly take a look at the lighting in all of the guest rooms and the mirrors. Some rooms do have full length mirrors and seem to brighter than others. We definitely understand how important that is, especially on a wedding day. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Best wishes to you both! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, VT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We felt like family and royalty at the same time. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable at the same time. The staff is outstanding and breakfast was top notch. The grounds are beautiful for walking and the gardeners do an amzing job. My neice was getting married there and the wedding spot was perfect.

Room Tip: They do not have a fitness center but the review seemed to force me to answer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience! We very glad you enjoyed your guest room, breakfast and the grounds and hope you'll visit us for a future getaway.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

you won't be disappointed! This lavish estate welcomes you into an oasis of nature, Victorian splendor, such gracious staff and owners--so desirious to help at every moment. We arrived for a stay in the Blue Garden Suite to find a 3 room suite with definite individual charm in each room, but theview from the bedroom a complete panoramic view 8 large windows overloooking trees filled with all species of singing birds, a view of lush gardens below, overlooking the pool. Ann,Bill,and Heather were so gracious and kind. We were so fortunate to stay during their room of the month special! Bill esorted us out for a stupendous scrumptious breakfast-DELICIOUS AND SO FRESH--through a formal didning area outside w/a garden/pool view cooled by overhead fans and white twinkle lights. We then ventured off on a few trails decorated throughout w/benches, gazebos, exotic plants, and teeny scampering chipmunks glimpsed before they disappeared into the mulch. The mansion itself was so romantic and the chandeliers/paintings/ and exotic wood furnishings were a welcome addition of variety to the beauty of the valley and gardens enveloping the property. I tell you the truth when I relate that this is an "EXPERIENCE", not just a boring hotel room. If you love the variety of luxurious accomodations and stepping into tranquil beauty of nature-incredible trees and romantic walks with well placed benches to rest, cuddle, and have those special talks and moments--you can experience all of this and more quite naturally and comfortably HERE!!! Can't wait to return. In fact,am taking a friend with a large family that visits from out of town to see the property for her incoming visitors to enjoy this week. not a room--AN EXPERIENCE!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to share your experience with future guests!
We feature a different room of the month each month, so be sure to check our website frequently and visit us again to enjoy a stay in another unique and elegant suite.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I put tea in quotation marks because what we wetr served was as far from a tea as you can get. The menu was a motley mix of fruit, mozarella and tomato skewer (???) a tiny croissant and devilef egg (again - ???). Then came sloppily cut overstuffed shrimp salad, chicken salad, and fried green tomato blt sandwiches. The shrimp salad had chunks of shrimp falling out everywhere, i cluding into my lap, ruimimg a new skirt. Dessert was a grainy (warm) cheesecake with a tartlike gel and fruit topping and the ubiquitous chocolate covered strawberry. I was hungry so ate what I could but all very unappetizing and super weird assortment. No scones or jam or cucumber sandwiched. I hate it when people try to get fancy with afternoon tea. It never works. They also kept filling the teacup halfway so three or four sips and then you had to wait for them to come around again.

The tour was all about selling us the place as somewhere to rent or stay. The woman giving the tour was nice but knew practically nothing.

We also had to wait 20 minutes to start the tour because a group came in very late and took their time eating. They should have been told the tour would go on and they could finish in time to go or just go on the garden tour.

This whole thing was ridiculously priced $44 per person with tax and "service" charge. Reynolds Tavern in Annapolis is still the best tea in the state. And only $16! Will never go to a tea here again.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and opinion of our Fragrance of Summer Tea & Tour. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to continuously improve special events at Gramercy.

We continue to work with our partner caterer to customize and improve the tea menu seasonally and based on comments from our guests. The menu is posted along with all of the reservation information in the e-mail blast sent to our mailing list as well as on any fliers and online event listings publicizing the event. We apologize that you were dissatisfied with the meal. Many of our previous guests have enjoyed both the quality of the food and the attentiveness of the service.

Pricing is a bit higher than restaurants or hotels because we do contract a caterer to provide the meal. Our staff then serves it as well as the served hot tea. Guided tours of the Mansion and gardens are also included during the 3 hour event.

As far as the tours, our innkeepers are thoroughly knowledgeable of the history of the Mansion and what is blooming in the gardens. Once again, we have received numerous compliments regarding this portion of the event. After viewing the Mansion's first floor public rooms, groups are escorted through the bed & breakfast rooms. We do not do this to sell the B&B or venue to our guests, but rather because the majority of the Mansion is comprised of overnight guest rooms and most visitors are interested in seeing the unique rooms and suites.

Thank you again for your time. We will take your comments into consideration when planning future teas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I fell in love with Gramercy years ago when I was a bridesmaid in my best friend's wedding. The mansion was absolutely amazing and the surrounding gardens were exquisite. When it came time for myself to get married, my now husband couldn't resist when he, too, saw how beautiful this place is and we made Gramercy our venue as well. Each room in this bed and breakfast has a different theme, with beautiful furniture, wall coverings, and fabrics. It is so cute how each room is named differently. The gardens outside are well manicured. We visited the mansion several times during the planning of our wedding and not one day went by where the staff was not outside caring for the gardens. The staff at Gramercy are very accommodating and made sure that all details were covered to make our day special (and I am sure that they also do this with bed and breakfast guests as well). Our favorite was Bill, who made us feel very comfortable that everything would go smoothly; he is a gem and we were very thankful to meet him. Another thing that was wonderful, was the cooked breakfast that is served to guests in the morning. The food was amazing and an actual hot breakfast, cooked to order, was great to start the day with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

As described on their website the Inn is in a historic mansion which is really neat. It feels very independent, not at all like a corporate place. You pretty much have the run of the place after 9 PM which makes the stay more enjoyable. The grounds are really pretty and there is a good bit of outdoor stuff that you can do. The pool was closed while we were there, as it was early spring, but it looks awesome. We stayed in the Blue Garden Suite and got a discount rate because it was the room of the month (be sure and look for specials). If we had paid the full rate I would have felt that it was a little pricey, but the discount rate made it seem really worth it. The suite is huge - very much like renting a full apartment - it easily sleeps 4 with plenty of privacy. The breakfast is awesome as it can be delivered to your room (it might just be an option for the suites) and you can have as much as you want and the selection is pretty nice including vegetarian options. The french toast was really good. Also, the breakfast was included in the rate, making the room expense feel especially worthwhile. Many of the reviews said to avoid weddings and I can totally see that - a wedding could easily make it too close for comfort. We stayed on a weeknight. While we were there we saw a deer, a weird water varmint and lots of chipmunks and birds - neat! The drawbacks are as follows: some things about it are weird grandma core (nothing wrong with grandmas, just saying). Scattered around the house are antiques and non-antiques for sale, including a list in the room of what you can buy literally off the walls - not my favorite thing and it also highlights that many things are really not antiques at all plus it clutters up the place. The clutter and such isn't limited to just the sale items. However, regardless, it's, overall, a neat place to stay and the house is really pretty.... despite the clutter and sales - the house and grounds are beautiful. Be sure to check in before 9 and let the desk know when you're arriving if it is later than 3ish, look for specials on the website.

Room Tip: Look for specials on the website - for one they have a room of the month, we save about 40%, The Blu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gramercy Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Mansion

Address: 1400 Greenspring Valley Rd., Baltimore, MD 21153-0119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gramercy Mansion is a historic Tudor mansion and bed and breakfast peacefully secluded in Baltimore county's Greenspring Valley. Boasting eleven elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites, each unique and stunning, guests enjoy the luxury of whirlpool tubs and fireplaces, the convenience of complimentary WI-FI, cable t.v., in-room refrigerators and microwaves, decadent full breakfast prepared to order each morning, and the beauty and tranquility of landscaped gardens throughout the property. The Mansion and Carriage House may also be reserved for private and corporate events year round and provide a breathtaking backdrop for wedding celebrations and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gramercy Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gramercy Mansion Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.