We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced "Tea" and Tour” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gramercy Mansion to your Saves list
Gramercy Mansion
1400 Greenspring Valley Rd., Baltimore, MD 21153-0119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced "Tea" and Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I put tea in quotation marks because what we wetr served was as far from a tea as you can get. The menu was a motley mix of fruit, mozarella and tomato skewer (???) a tiny croissant and devilef egg (again - ???). Then came sloppily cut overstuffed shrimp salad, chicken salad, and fried green tomato blt sandwiches. The shrimp salad had chunks of shrimp falling out everywhere, i cluding into my lap, ruimimg a new skirt. Dessert was a grainy (warm) cheesecake with a tartlike gel and fruit topping and the ubiquitous chocolate covered strawberry. I was hungry so ate what I could but all very unappetizing and super weird assortment. No scones or jam or cucumber sandwiched. I hate it when people try to get fancy with afternoon tea. It never works. They also kept filling the teacup halfway so three or four sips and then you had to wait for them to come around again.

The tour was all about selling us the place as somewhere to rent or stay. The woman giving the tour was nice but knew practically nothing.

We also had to wait 20 minutes to start the tour because a group came in very late and took their time eating. They should have been told the tour would go on and they could finish in time to go or just go on the garden tour.

This whole thing was ridiculously priced $44 per person with tax and "service" charge. Reynolds Tavern in Annapolis is still the best tea in the state. And only $16! Will never go to a tea here again.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and opinion of our Fragrance of Summer Tea & Tour. We appreciate all feedback as it allows us to continuously improve special events at Gramercy.

We continue to work with our partner caterer to customize and improve the tea menu seasonally and based on comments from our guests. The menu is posted along with all of the reservation information in the e-mail blast sent to our mailing list as well as on any fliers and online event listings publicizing the event. We apologize that you were dissatisfied with the meal. Many of our previous guests have enjoyed both the quality of the food and the attentiveness of the service.

Pricing is a bit higher than restaurants or hotels because we do contract a caterer to provide the meal. Our staff then serves it as well as the served hot tea. Guided tours of the Mansion and gardens are also included during the 3 hour event.

As far as the tours, our innkeepers are thoroughly knowledgeable of the history of the Mansion and what is blooming in the gardens. Once again, we have received numerous compliments regarding this portion of the event. After viewing the Mansion's first floor public rooms, groups are escorted through the bed & breakfast rooms. We do not do this to sell the B&B or venue to our guests, but rather because the majority of the Mansion is comprised of overnight guest rooms and most visitors are interested in seeing the unique rooms and suites.

Thank you again for your time. We will take your comments into consideration when planning future teas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    31
    4
    8
    14
See reviews for
26
182
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I fell in love with Gramercy years ago when I was a bridesmaid in my best friend's wedding. The mansion was absolutely amazing and the surrounding gardens were exquisite. When it came time for myself to get married, my now husband couldn't resist when he, too, saw how beautiful this place is and we made Gramercy our venue as well. Each room in this bed and breakfast has a different theme, with beautiful furniture, wall coverings, and fabrics. It is so cute how each room is named differently. The gardens outside are well manicured. We visited the mansion several times during the planning of our wedding and not one day went by where the staff was not outside caring for the gardens. The staff at Gramercy are very accommodating and made sure that all details were covered to make our day special (and I am sure that they also do this with bed and breakfast guests as well). Our favorite was Bill, who made us feel very comfortable that everything would go smoothly; he is a gem and we were very thankful to meet him. Another thing that was wonderful, was the cooked breakfast that is served to guests in the morning. The food was amazing and an actual hot breakfast, cooked to order, was great to start the day with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

As described on their website the Inn is in a historic mansion which is really neat. It feels very independent, not at all like a corporate place. You pretty much have the run of the place after 9 PM which makes the stay more enjoyable. The grounds are really pretty and there is a good bit of outdoor stuff that you can do. The pool was closed while we were there, as it was early spring, but it looks awesome. We stayed in the Blue Garden Suite and got a discount rate because it was the room of the month (be sure and look for specials). If we had paid the full rate I would have felt that it was a little pricey, but the discount rate made it seem really worth it. The suite is huge - very much like renting a full apartment - it easily sleeps 4 with plenty of privacy. The breakfast is awesome as it can be delivered to your room (it might just be an option for the suites) and you can have as much as you want and the selection is pretty nice including vegetarian options. The french toast was really good. Also, the breakfast was included in the rate, making the room expense feel especially worthwhile. Many of the reviews said to avoid weddings and I can totally see that - a wedding could easily make it too close for comfort. We stayed on a weeknight. While we were there we saw a deer, a weird water varmint and lots of chipmunks and birds - neat! The drawbacks are as follows: some things about it are weird grandma core (nothing wrong with grandmas, just saying). Scattered around the house are antiques and non-antiques for sale, including a list in the room of what you can buy literally off the walls - not my favorite thing and it also highlights that many things are really not antiques at all plus it clutters up the place. The clutter and such isn't limited to just the sale items. However, regardless, it's, overall, a neat place to stay and the house is really pretty.... despite the clutter and sales - the house and grounds are beautiful. Be sure to check in before 9 and let the desk know when you're arriving if it is later than 3ish, look for specials on the website.

Room Tip: Look for specials on the website - for one they have a room of the month, we save about 40%, The Blu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

For a beautiful weekend getaway, try any room at Gramercy Mansion. It's not far from Baltimore so the location is great and the setting could not be more tranquil. The beautiful gardens come alive in the Springtime and beg to be explored. The rooms are super comfortable and the staff is top notch. Breakfast is served in a lovely setting and the food is excellent. I also loved Romeow...the house kitty. We will definitely return to this property again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

A very romantic getaway to relax and rekindle your love with that special someone. Peace and quiet great beds, it was my birthday and we enjoy our stay very well the romantic decoration of candles & rose petals was perfect after dinner it set the mood for the night. And the breakfast in the morning was prefect we felt like royalty in our own way the staff treat us everything was prefect..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spectacular property! This was our second visit, and every bit as wonderful as the first. Breakfast was outstanding, as was the room. Staff were extremely helpful with dinner recommendations and driving directions to Baltimore attractions. We'll be back.

Room Tip: We love the Blue Garden Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our daughter's gave us a two night stay at Gramercy as a gift. We selected the Hunt Room. Wonderful king size comfortable bed, view of the gardens and the Olympic size pool(not open yet this season). The large bathroom had a fabulous jazucci which we both enjoyed relaxing in, and a nice shower. You order your breakfast the night before and it is probably the best breakfast we have ever been served at a B&B. We sat at a table by the fireplace. Very elegant. Chandeliers and artwork all over the inn. We had been at a wedding there a number of years back but it was nice to be there when no wedding was taking place. We enjoyed sitting, relaxing, reading in all of the big rooms. There was warm cider to sip on and some treats during the afternoon. Even though we are "dog" people we loved meeting Romeow the resident cat. Stayed in his chair on the 2nd floor and loved attention. The room also had a closet with a mini fridge and microwave. We enjoyed walking the trails around the mansion. It would be lovely when all of the plants are in bloom. The staff are very nice and helpful. The bed was made when we were at breakfast and chocolates on pillow at arrival. Special touches. A quiet, relaxing, romantic place. Near many great places to see. Easy to get to places for dinner. Excellent experience for us and not too far from home. Will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: I have heard from others that all of the rooms have their special touches as did ours. Check out th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gramercy Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Mansion

Address: 1400 Greenspring Valley Rd., Baltimore, MD 21153-0119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gramercy Mansion is a historic Tudor mansion and bed and breakfast peacefully secluded in Baltimore county's Greenspring Valley. Boasting eleven elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites, each unique and stunning, guests enjoy the luxury of whirlpool tubs and fireplaces, the convenience of complimentary WI-FI, cable t.v., in-room refrigerators and microwaves, decadent full breakfast prepared to order each morning, and the beauty and tranquility of landscaped gardens throughout the property. The Mansion and Carriage House may also be reserved for private and corporate events year round and provide a breathtaking backdrop for wedding celebrations and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gramercy Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gramercy Mansion Hotel Baltimore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.