We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very romantic night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramercy Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baltimore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gramercy Mansion
1400 Greenspring Valley Rd., Baltimore, MD 21153-0119   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$50 off room rate
Ranked #6 of 18 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Baltimore
1 review
“A very romantic night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Despite being only a few miles outside of the city, this BandB is a secluded, romantic oasis. We checked in late but service was still wonderful. The winter season prohibited a full appreciation of the grounds but the decor of the mansion was truly stunning. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    20
    3
    7
    13
See reviews for
17
135
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, Maryland, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in the Ambassador Room- wood burning fireplace and snow outside the window. Wonderful breakfast. Only regret is we only stayed one night. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I bought this night's stay as a gift to my spouse. We were looking forward to a nice getaway and this place was great. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The service was very good - coffee in the morning as ordered, breakfast just as we had asked. The grounds were beautiful as was the house itself. We enjoyed taking advantage of one of the many sitting areas in the house as well. The area around the Mansion was also great for driving and feeling like we were really away, but the proximity to Baltimore allowed for good entertainment. We were glad that there was not a wedding happening that weekend as I'm sure it would have made for a less quiet time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The customer service was excellent from booking to completion. Upon our arrival, there was a wedding party setting up for the evening. It would have been easy to overlook guests that were not a part of the main event, but that was not the case. I felt welcome and valued immediately and throughout our stay. We enjoyed the cozy Ambassador room, warm fireplace, efficient staff and excellent breakfast. It was well worth the stay during the Historical Inauguration of 2013. Easy to locate and a beautiful drive to and from Washington D.C.

Room Tip: The Ambassador room is quiet, yet a little drafty but a space heater is provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Gramercy Mansion isn't just a bed and breakfast or an inn... it's an experience. Nestled in the woods, we were 45 minutes from home but a WORLD AWAY. The staff welcome you like an old friend, no worries, no stresses - all is taken care of. The room we had, the Tudor, was exactly what we expected and more. They had guestbooks dating back to the opening and we enjoyed reading the stories and tales of other Tudor room guests - you feel a part of history.

The mansion was fun to explore - beautiful artwork everywhere - unique ecclectic pieces and most were available for sale, including some pieces of furniture. The place was so quiet and relaxing.

Breakfast - let me tell you was wonderful! We wish we could have spent more time - but only had the one night getaway.

Room Tip: The TUDOR room is top notch - it's off to the end of the mansion - TWO small balconies and a por...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunt Valley, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was a day getaway for my honey and I. The innkeepers were very friendly and accommodating. We forgot to leave our breakfast request on the door by 9 pm and ask for a late checkout before they left for the evening. So we decided to leave the breakfast request on the front desk at 10 pm and left a voicemail message requesting the late checkout. The next morning we were a little concern about our tardiness... Exactly 9 am there was a knock on the door and in came a very hot and delicious breakfast!!!! IT WAS ABSOLUTELY A WONDERFUL STAY!! We will certain visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I purchased a Groupon for the Gramercy for my husband and I. We were both very excited--we both work hard all week and we were looking forward to a weekend to unwind in an elegant setting. Moreover, we have a 23 year old daughter who is getting married and we wanted to scout out the Gramercy to see if it could be a venue option for the wedding. Well, after doing my homework and looking for our room of choice on-line, I called to make reservations. The phone, unfortunately, was answered by a surly man named Bill who was condescending and rude.I couldn't see him but I knew he had his nose in the air. He informed me that the only rooms left were those available during the week and suggested I call Groupon and get my money back. No attempts or suggestions were made to accomodate the Groupon later in the spring nor did Bill drop his rude, butler attitude. So glad I got my money back, Bill! You won't be seeing me, my husband, or our wonderful daughter anytime soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We sincerely apologize that you were dissatisfied with our innkeeper’s customer service and were unable to use your Groupon for a weekend stay with us. Our Groupon deal launched this past November and guests began calling immediately to book getaways. As an 11-room B&B, each room is unique and priced to reflect the amenities in that particular room. The two rooms with the most amenities for which a Groupon can be applied (your preferred rooms) were booked for weekends right away and were only available for midweek reservations at the time of your call. Bill provided several options including the option to stay later in the spring at which time the Groupon would be honored at face value. When none of his suggestions were satisfactory, he recommended you contact Groupon for a refund.

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your experience and will continue to strive to provide professional and courteous customer service to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gramercy Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Mansion

Also Known As:
Gramercy Mansion Hotel Baltimore
Gramercy Mansion Hotel
Address: 1400 Greenspring Valley Rd., Baltimore, MD 21153-0119
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gramercy Mansion is a historic Tudor mansion and bed and breakfast peacefully secluded in Baltimore county's Greenspring Valley. Boasting eleven elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites, each unique and stunning, guests enjoy the luxury of whirlpool tubs and fireplaces, the convenience of complimentary WI-FI, cable t.v., in-room refrigerators and microwaves, decadent full breakfast prepared to order each morning, and the beauty and tranquility of landscaped gardens throughout the property. The Mansion and Carriage House may also be reserved for private and corporate events year round and provide a breathtaking backdrop for wedding celebrations and special occasions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramercy Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gramercy Mansion to your Saves list