We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabrizi's

Tabrizi's
500 Harborview Dr, Baltimore, MD 21230-5483
410-727-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tabrizi's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #534 of 1,672 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Key Highway
Description: Named after its owner, Tabrizi's offers modern Mediterranean and Middle Eastern Cuisine and a respectful array of wines. Chef-owner Michael Tabrizi has previously owned and operated the first Tabrizi's on South Charles street in the charming Federal Hill, where he introduced the first Mediterranean restaurant to Baltimore in 1990 in an open kitchen concept. Combining casual Mediterranean elegance, an eclectic menu, intimate ambience and unparalleled service, Tabrizi's has been appreciated by the local media and many visitors as a true value for its dining experience. Tabrizi's offers Catering and Banquets events at its Marina Pier Terrace which can seat about 300 people, and another 150 seats indoors.
Linthicum, MD
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Outstanding in Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We are fortunate enough to have chosen to participate in a five-course wine-pairing dinner. Everyone was served the same five courses, with a wine especially chosen to go with the food. The only choice offered concerned the entree course, where you could have fish or steak. The meal started with French onion soup, which I love. This was a very flavorful, classic version. Next came scallops on a rosemary skewer on a bed of tomato coulis. Then came a thin slice of zucchini, wrapped around warm goat cheese. The tender filet mignon came with a delicious mushroom and wine sauce. As good as the entire meal was, the standout course may have been the chocolate mousse for dessert. All of the wines were good, although, of couse we had our favorites. There were two wines available for tasting that had not been served. When there was a slight delay in the appearance of one course, more wine was offered in order to compensate for the wait. This was a completely memorable meal that was just outstanding from start to finish. It is true that you have to pay close attention to when they are open. Chef Tabrizi said that they would close for the winter and reopen this spring. My fond memories will have to tide me over until then!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    3
    3
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

One of our favorite restaurants in the harbor due to the quality of food, service, in addition to the ambiance. The hostess and waiter were accommodating and friendly.We had the sea bass and lamb rack, both were delicious. The wine list is extensive. The view is quiet and tranquil. It is a bit pricey, but worth it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Never Open”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have tried to get into this place but they are only open at certain times when not having a banquet. You never know. So, we were glad to see that people were sitting outside. Couldn't believe they were as it was a 95 degree day in Baltimore. So, we started to go in when they informed us that they were only serving outside. Not for us on a hot day. So, I will never get to know if their food is good or bad because I won't give it another try. They are surrounded by condos and a boat marina and would be a great place to go. Don't know why they don't lease it out or sell it and let somebody bring a good restaurant to the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabrizis, Manager at Tabrizi's, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
It is unfortunate that individuals can comment on a restaurant's business choices, and not on the restaurant service, food, or ambiance. In the past, Tabrizi's level of service has been criticized, and we are committed to changing that perception and hiring and training only those servers with likeminded values. Many restaurants choose to accomodate a certain volume, regardless of the degradation of service that might incur because of it. Tabrizi's now chooses to either seat customers inside or outside, depending on weather for several reasons.
1) On a nice day, it is atypical for a group to want to sit inside. Exceptions might be made if there is a health concern for elderly or infants. Umbrellas are available. That being said, service deteriorates when one server must go back and forth between the patio area and the indoor area (we are a large restaurant), and there is not enough business inside to assign one server to one lone table inside (and vice versa).
2) Should there be a thunderstorm or inclement weather (this is Baltimore, and the weather is often unpredictable), we have to accomodate our guests with indoor tables. Should we have a full patio (as we did the day you visited), it would be unfair and unhospitable to have no contingency plan. How would you feel if your family's nice meal were rained out and the staff offered to-go containers because the indoor dining room was filled with other guests? Tabrizi's doesn't serve picnics rain or shine, we serve our guests and want to maintain the integrity of service and cuisine, even if some are unhappy with the seating we are offering for the evening.

Finally, we do choose to close for events, and post these blackout dates on our website far in advance, so that informed guests are free to make their dining decisions without regret. As you have never tasted our food, been served by any of our servers, or sat either in our al fresco or indoor dining area, I find it extremely unfair that you can post a review that claims to assess all three. There are plenty of restaurants willing to sacrifice service for the almighty dollar - I suggest you take your business there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than the ratings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It is unfortunate that some of us get distracted by some of the small glitches in a dining experience. Basically, the food and ambiance of this restaurant are superb. But all it takes is for someone to "have only one mint leaf in their mojito" and the restaurant gets pummeled with a bad review. So, don't deprive yourself of a very nice evening. This is written by two folks who come to Baltimore from Boston about three times a year - and eat out a lot. We have tried this restaurant twice, and both times it has been terrific. We can only say not to be put off - it is really worth trying. And yes, the owner does take it all personally - and does not mince words in his responses to some of the reviews. But that is likely because he is so invested in the quality of his kitchen and the restaurant. At the rate the reviews are going, not to be surprised if Tabrizi's becomes a TV restaurant show!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Would give zero stars if possible...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

but I had to give one in order to post the review. Gave this place three chances, each time worse than the last. Among the highlights: ordered pinot noir but got a white wine 20 minutes later, friend ordered a mojito which arrived with one mint leaf, ordered 12 small plates for the table to share (party of 5, nothing overwhelming,) they came out 3 at a time in 30 minute increments. The view and setting is nice, but not nice enough to make up for the lack of everything else. Save your $$$ and go somewhere else. Anywhere else!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabrizis, Owner at Tabrizi's, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Dealing with employees issues is the most frustrating part for any restaurant owner. I am sorry you feel that way. I wish you could call me in person and tell me the name of the server on the receipt so I can address it in person. This way the problem can be addressed and resolved. If you don't want to come back that is very understandable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabrizi's also viewed

Baltimore, MD
Baltimore, MD
 

Been to Tabrizi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabrizi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.