We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Baltimore's Harbor area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking!
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bowling Green
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Baltimore's Harbor area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is quite a nice hotel, very convenient for my meeting at the Convention Center and about $75 a night cheaper than the Hilton or Marriott. The room is every bit as nice as those hotels and quite honestly is one of the cleanest and roomiest hotel rooms that I have ever stayed in and I've been to a lot of hotels coast to coast.
This Hampton Inn is near it all- Camden Yards sporting venues, the Convention Center and is just blocks away from the National Aquarium and shopping.
Breakfast is quite convenient on your way out the door, offering several good choices including fresh fruit.
I have not stayed at this Hampton Inn before but will definitely return when I have another business meeting in Baltimore because I think it is, quite honestly, the best run Hampton Inn I've had the opportunity to stay in. Thanks Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Jbx1954,

Thank you for posting such a great review of our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and that our team took good care of you while you were here. Thank you for telling us that you will be back, we look forward to your next visit. I look forward to sharing your comments with our staff.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    212
    36
    12
    2
See reviews for
241
139
37
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is an exceptionally well-located hotel, central to not only the sport facilities, but also to the convention center, and within easy walking to the Inner Harbor area. The cost for a single room with a king bed was typical for that area. The room was spacious and clean. Very updated. I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Janice P,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We know you have a lot of options when you need a hotel here in Baltimore, so we are very glad you stayed with us. We love that you found our rooms to be spacious and clean and a good value. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you need a room in Baltimore.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn when coming to Baltimore to attend a trade show at the Baltimore Convention Center. The Hampton was an easy walk to the CC and substantially cheaper to the closer hotels. The staff was great and room quiet and cool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello John L,

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we are glad you decided to visit our hotel. We hope you will come back for another visit again soon.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, KY, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was in Baltimore for a convention. I always look for a hotel that is close and has ammenities to offer. This surely fit the bill! The rooms are very spacious and clean, the beds are comfortable and I felt the breakfast was more than sufficient. Not many hotels that offer free breakfast have that many choices (Belgian waffles, eggs, sometimes bacon, sausage, potatoes, cereal, danishes, bagels, toast, yogurt, juices, fresh fruit, oatmeal... and the list goes on). Having breakfast on site saves you time and money before getting to the meetings for the day! My room mate has an allergy to down so we requested all the down pillows and comforters be replaced and they did it right away. I had a very pleasant stay and the location is very close to the convention center, easy walk and safe walk too! The only complaint I could come up with is the water pressure was a bit low in the shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Lindsay Z,

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate the feedback and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location makes us a great choice when you are in town for a convention, an Orioles or Ravens game, or just want to visit the Inner Harbor. We are glad you found our breakfast to be both convenient and plentiful. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel has a great location to the conference center. Easy walking distance to the water and some wonderful restaurants. The hotel was clean and reasonably priced. The breakfast in the morning was good and there were plenty of options to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello Sarah C,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found plenty of options for meals both here at the hotel for breakfast and in the downtown area for lunch and dinner. We know you have a lot of options when choosing a hotel in downtown Baltimore. Thank you for staying with us!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reidsville nc, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We found this Hampton Inn quite nice. The location was perfect as I have a son at the University of Maryland's Dental School and it is close by. The hotel was easy to access off the highway and close to good restaurants and shopping not to mention Camden Yards. All the staff was very helpful and friendly.!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello Pattie P,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and that our location works well for you to visit your son. We hope to see you when you come back for another visit! We'd love to hear what your favorite restaurants are! We love talking food with our guests. There may be a hidden gem we can share with you for your next visit!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My main concern about hotels when I travel is cleanliness. With respect to this the hotel was excellent. I generally don't like using the hotel's douvet (since I never know how often those get washed) but this place didn't seem too bad. The staff was very nice. My TV remote ran out of batteries and they got it taken care of in no time. Overall it was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello Mical A,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad we got your remote taken care of quickly. I understand your hesitation about the duvet covers, but can assure you we do wash them for every guest. It takes a little extra time, but we think it's worth it.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.