We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO CLOSE TO THE STADIUM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking!
Ranked #4 of 63 hotels in Baltimore
Roanoke, United States
1 review
“SO CLOSE TO THE STADIUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

When I booked this room for our visit to Baltimore for a baseball game, the notes said it was really close to the stadium but I didn't realize it would be DIRECTLY across the street. Super convenient for us as we were traveling with a toddler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Amanda C,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay with us. I'm so glad you were happy to find out that we are in fact, right across the street from Camden Yards. We love being right next to the ballpark and enjoy the energy and atmosphere of an Orioles home game. Be sure to come back and visit us again to see how close we are to a lot of other great activities and attractions here in downtown Baltimore.

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    177
    29
    9
    1
See reviews for
212
111
28
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is directly across the street from Camden Yards and an easy, safe (by Baltimore standards) walk to the Inner Harbor Area. Beds are comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were clean and the room was nice and quiet at night. The breakfast was standard Hampton Inn fare with hot oatmeal, bagels make your own waffles, a few hot items and an array of baked goods and fruit.
Valet parking was OK, but I did have a couple of issues with calling ahead and not having the car ready. I would advise to just go to the valet podium in person, it seemed to be quicker to do it that way.
The only real complaint I have is that there is no safe in the room for your valuables.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello bobaidan,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our location next to Camden Yards. Comfortable beds, clean rooms and bathrooms and a friendly staff are all part of our goal. I'm sorry to hear that the valet responsiveness wasn't what you expected. We generally get very good reviews about our valet parking partner, so I will be sure to pass your comments on to them as well. When you come back to see us again, don't forget about the safe deposit boxes at the front desk.

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanticoke pa.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

outstanding hotel in every aspect. from the front desk, to the rooms, to the continental breakfast and for the location. you need not go any place else. everything is right there. camden yards, bars, the ccc (orange route) right around the corner. walking distance to the harbor.stayed in room 717 which was on the side of the hotel. the only drawback i had was the helicopter landing and taking off all night at the hospital. stay again ? absolutley !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello bagofbones,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so happy you stayed with us. I'm glad you found the ccc (Charm City Circulator), it's a great service to help get around Baltimore, and it's FREE!!!

Judging by your profile picture, you are a Vikings fan. We hope to see you back when they are in town to play the Ravens later this season!!!

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was the greatest location for a baseball game. Across the street from Camden Yards. The hotel was perfect. The staff is so helpful with directions and recommendations. We would definately stay here again and at other Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Richard P,

Thank you for joining us for an O's game! We love having you here! We are all fans of Hampton Inn and are happy to represent such a great brand.

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We are already planning our next trip to Baltimore and will stay at the Hampton Inn Downtown again! Front desk staff were so friendly, smiling, and went out of their way to gather information and maps for us. Breakfast was great and such a convenience on a busy sight-seeing day instead of going to a restaurant. The hotel is also located within walking distance to the Light Rail and the free bus Circulator to the Inner Harbor (which is actually within a brisk 15-20 minute walk). Hotel is across the street from Orioles Stadium and we went to a game.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Dorothy H,

We are happy you are already planning your next visit to Baltimore. We look forward to having you back with us soon. Thank you for posting a review about our hotel. Knowing that you want to come back to stay with us lets us know we are taking good care of you. We hope to see you soon!

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The staff was fabulous! Good accomodations for the price. It's a very nice room. The pool is a little small, but great fitness room.If you like baseball, it's the perfect location. Right across the stadium and you can walk right outside for hot dogs and everything orioles!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Lauran K,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. I'm happy that you felt our accomidations were a good value for the price. We work hard to make sure your room is clean and in good condition, you have a good breakfast, and our staff is friendly and helpful. I'm glad you decided to stay with us, we hope you will come back for another visit soon!

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fredericksburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

hotel very convenient, clean, staff very helpful with everything. did not partake of the breakfast when checking out but it smelled wonderful. valet also helpful and cheerful - asking about your trip up and also if you need directions when leaving. have stayed twice and will stay again when going to O's game. can walk to stadium (across street) and inner harbor (maybe 4 blocks) just a nice stroll

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello jj-trip702,

Thank you for coming back to stay with us again. We value your business and thank you for posting a review about coming to see us. I hope you will keep coming back to see us when you are in town to see a ballgame. The O's may not have made the playoffs this year, but we will all be rooting for them to be there next year!

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.