We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for games... not so much for Inner Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Valet Parking!
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canandaigua, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great location for games... not so much for Inner Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Going to a baseball or football game? This is your hotel. Going to the Inner Harbor? Not so much.

It was probably only 10 blocks to the end of the Inner Harbor but it was a LONG 45-minute walk for our two young kids. We probably should have stayed closer into town.

The hotel was beautiful and new. Also very quiet (although I doubt this is the case on game days with the string of bars adjacent to the front door!)

Parking was terribly expensive. Not only does the hotel charge $29 a day, but there is a city parking tax of $5 a day as well. The staff were great though, the valet staff were especially friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the stadium are a great view. I read that rooms facing the back hear the fire truc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello TDNY,

Thank you for posting your feedback about our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sorry that the walk to the harbor was more than you expected, it's always hard to know what is a comfortable distance, and I can understand it might be long for young children. We have families of all ages stay with us and visit the harbor, so it's good to get your input. We often recommend the Charm City Circulator to move around Baltimore as well. They pick up in front of the Hilton next door and take you right down to the harbor. Best of all, it's free! I'm sorry we didn't do a better job of making you aware of this.

I do apologize for the parking in downtown Baltimore. We do our best to keep our rates as low as possible. I'm glad you were happy with the service the valet staff provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    220
    36
    12
    4
See reviews for
257
145
37
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent hotel right across from baseball stadium and down the street from Inner Harbor. We have stayed here many, many times and it is always very clean and comfortable. Staff is very, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Larry J,

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when you come to Baltimore. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old lyme, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great location to camden yards, across the street. less then a mile to innerharbor, downtown area. clean and safe area of Baltimore. Staff was very helpful. Easy access from and to highway-95. Plenty of nice resturants within a half mile walk of hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Christopher G,

Thank you for your comments. We certainly enjoy our location here with all of the great restaurants and activities so close. It doesn't hurt to be right across the street from Camden Yards either! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in Baltimore to catch an O's game and this was the perfect place. Right next to the stadium and out side the front door were great bars on game day. The hotel staff was very professional and the hotel was clean and comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello 2011brad2011,

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took in an O's game. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back for another game soon!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great hotel located directly across the street from Camden Yards and only a few blocks away from the Inner Harbor. Everyone on the staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Rooms were very clean and the furnishings very up to date. Very enjoyable stay. Would stay here again. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Greg3319,

Thank you for your review. To say you would recommend out hotel means a lot to us. Thank you for recognizing the hard work of our staff to make your stay a good one.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Your location relative to the Camden Yards is wonderful. I enjoyed walking over to the Orioles game during my stay. The front door service was great with the valet and baggage transfer an easy process.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello Dale Y,

Thank you for your comments. We are so glad you chose to stay with us! We know you have a lot of options here in Baltimore, so we are always happy when you tell others about your great experience. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/'Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Fl., United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have stayed in this facility numerous times and look forward to my next visit. House is clean, comfortable and secure. Staff is always friendly and accommodating to any request. A complimentary breakfast and across the street form Oriole Park, is this heaven ?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello Charles M,

No this isn't heaven, or Iowa for that matter. It's better! We love our location across from Camden Yards. We are glad you love it too! Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to having you back again soon!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.