We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A baseball fan's dream location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking!
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A baseball fan's dream location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel was fabulous. Everything from cleanliness, to front reception friendliness to location was superb. As 2 couples in our early 30's the location was prime. We were visiting to attend to ball games, and with Pickles Pub right next door, and beer offered on the street during ball game days, it was a great atmosphere to mingle with everyone! Our rooms were clean and modern, and the beds/pillows were super comfy. The rooms were quiet and we had no issues with either street noise or from other guests. The hotel also offers one of the best complimentary breakfasts I have seen in a while, and coffee is available pretty much all day. Wifi works well throughout the building, and is also complimentary. The hotel is within walking distance (30 minutes?) of the harbour and is very close to the baseball museums. It is directly across from the ball park, and for this reason more than any other, is why we will all return. Great stay....good job Baltimore!

Room Tip: Request a view of the ball park :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Jennylo80,

Thank you for your post! We are so happy to see you enjoyed your visit to Baltimore and your stay at our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed the gameday atmosphere in front of the hotel, it certainly generates a lot of excitement for Orioles baseball. We hope you will plan a return trip to come see another game this season.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    184
    31
    10
    1
See reviews for
222
116
31
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The best part of this hotel is the bed. I have never slept on a more comfortable bed in all 52 years of my life. Also, we brought our bikes to ride and your staff was so nice to put them in a meeting room so we could use them the next morning. Sunshine was so nice and calm during a rush of people at the front desk. She was amazing and so accomadating!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Wendy L,

Hampton beds are awesome! I have one at home myself. I'm so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff took good care of you while you were here. We all hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here in mid July for a conference and some sightseeing. The hotel was convenient to the Convention Center, Camden Yards, Museums, and plenty of restaraunts. It was a few blocks from the Inner Harbor (less than a mile) and we walked it a number of time with no problem. It was extremely busy because the Orioles were at home for four games, but the staff handled things very well. The facility itself is well maintained and comfortable. They have a great breakfast each morning with plenty of variety from eggs and meat to fresh fruits, cereals, danish, DIY waffles. Each evening they put out popcorn and homemade cookies, a nice treat to come back to! The service was impeccable. Not only was the front desk friendly and accommodating, they went above and beyond good service to answer our questions and arrange services that we needed. One very nice plus was that they had free wi-fi and a laundry room that could be used at no charge. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly not hesitate to stay again when we return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello tincognito,

Thank you for taking time to post some thoughts about your experience with us. The best thing you could say is that you would come back and stay with us again. I know there are things you didn't get to do on your last visit, so we expect to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. We were looking for a hotel close to downtown/inner harbor so that we could simply walk to do some sightseeing. This location was great, right across the street from Oriole Park. The staff were friendly and helpful, making great suggestions about where to eat and what to see. The room itself was larger and more luxurious than we expected. The price was a great value for all that we got. I would highly recommend this hotel if staying in Baltimore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello BlueSuedeShoez,

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad to see our staff was friendly and helpful. We are always glad to share our favorite spots here in town. I'm glad you liked the location of our hotel next to Camden Yards and close to the Inner Harbor. We hope you will come back for another visit soon!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently in the middle of a long, multi-city vacation. it was by far the best hotel we stayed in. This hotel is clean, up-to-date, SO conveniently located, and the service was outstanding! everyone was so nice and helpful. I just don't even have a single bad thing to say about it! stay here if you are going to Baltimore!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello susie65432,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to post a review of our hotel. Your endorsement means a lot to us. We are so happy you decided to stay here with us and enjoyed that stay. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicoutimi, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great rooms and excellent service all around. Complimentary breakfast top notch and check in quick. The location is perfect if you want to go see the orioles and a 10 minute walk from the information center and the inner harbor. Perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello andre4415,

Thank you for your comments. We know you have several options when choosing a hotel in Baltimore, and we are so happy you decided to stay with us. We hope you will come back again soon for another game!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Hampton Inn met all our expectations. The Front Desk staff was very kind-answered all our questions and told us about the small complimentary breakfast served each morning.Our room was comfortable and clean. We were right across from Camden Yards and took in the Rangers vs Orioles game and a tour of Camden Yard. If we're ever back to Baltimore for a baseball game, we will stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello Tozzie11,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoy hosting people from all over the country who come to see a game here at Camden Yards, no matter who you root for. It's a great facility and we enjoy the excitement of Orioles baseball.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.