We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Valet Parking!
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Anderson,SC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great location and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hampton Inn seems to deliver in most cities now with their 100 % satifaction guaranteed plan. I chose this hotel because of the location and good rate. It was perfect. We were four blocks to the harbor and directly across the street from the Baltimore Orioles Camden Yards. That was the view from our window. They offered a package that included our valet parking for only 6.00 more than the advertised room rate which was a great deal. Normally, valet service is 29.00 a day there. The hotel was clean, convenient, well staffed and perfectly located in a safe part of town. I would definitely stay again. For the record, there is another Hampton Inn 2 blocks closer to the harbor but it was about 50.00 more a night. I would save that 50.00 for food. The restaurants are all pretty pricey and trust me you will need to walk after all the good eats!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello fitnesschick88,

We really appreciate you taking a few minutes to tell us about your experience. I want to thank you for staying with us, it sounds like you really took advantage of our great location. I agree, it's very easy to walk to the harbor, but hard to choose between all of the great restaurants. I guess you'll just have to come back so you can experience more of what we have to offer! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    219
    36
    12
    4
See reviews for
257
145
37
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

To start, I travel a lot for business and therefore have stayed at many different hotels and hotel chains. I stayed here for several nights while on business at the University of Maryland. One of the best Hampton Inns I have stayed at for a number of reasons. Location is very convenient to the university and it literally is across the street from Camden Yards. The room was large and I had a fantastic view of the ballpark. The lobby was attractive, coffee was always available, and breakfast service was great. Employees in the morning asking if you need anything else when eating breakfast is a great touch, something I have seen at other Hampton Inns too. I would choose this hotel over other more expensive and "nicer" ones if I had to go back to that area for vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello mikedc0813,

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We understand that you have a lot of choices in where you stay. I'm so glad to hear that we lived up to the Hampton promise, and that our partners at other Hampton Inn hotels are doing so as well. The staff and I would like to thank you for staying with us, and look forward to seeing you again when you return.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is very clean with nice ammenities. I enjoyed the hot whirlpool before heading to bed; it is open from 5 - 10 in the evenings. The breakfast was very impressive with an array of both hot and cold items available. My son enjoyed "making" his own waffle by pouring batter into the waffle maker. The staff are very friendly and available to answer any questions about the city. There are a few bars right beside the hotel that are decent; we tried the Pickle Pub and found good draught beers there. This is a great place to stay that is very clean, friendly and affordable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello dkba,

Thank you for your response. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and our great neighbors at Pickle's Pub. The waffles are a highlight of many of our guests, I'm happy your son was able to enjoy the waffle station. On behalf of our entire staff, I want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. Not only is it in a great location at a great price, but the staff was very pleasant. The complimentary breakfast was great, plenty of hot options. The room size was extremely nice and the hotel and a well kept, clean feel. I would definitely stay at this Hampton Inn again. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The King room we were given was very large - the size of a studio suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Jess3737,

On behalf of the entire team, I just wanted to extend my thanks for sharing some feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. At Hampton, we truly do strive to provide our guests with clean, comfortable accommodations, exceptional value, and warm and friendly service. I'm glad our team was able to provide that to you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future! As always, if there is any additional assistance I may provide to you either now or in the future, I am at your service!

Respectfully,

Christopher D. Guerrero, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center
410-685-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location for convention attendees. Less expensive and better cusomter service than Hilton across the street which I stayed at last year for same show. Free Breakfast and Wifi as well. Hit "Pickles Pub" downstairs for a night cap!

One Tip: Baltimore is not very safe. Even near the convention center and Camden Yards, you need to be careful walking at night. It's best to stay in groups if possible. If you are alone, be aware of your surroundings even during the day. Sorry Baltimore, there's just no denying you have a problem.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on the back side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
R&G Opine,

On behalf of the entire team, thank you for taking the time to share some feedback with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I'm glad our team provided you with the warm and friendly service guests have come to expect from Hampton.

As with any city, Baltimore does face some safety challenges and has made some great steps to improving safety for the residents of Charm City and the millions of visitors coming to our area each year. As you may have seen, the city has travel ambassadors wearing yellow and blue designed to help ensure visitors are safe, provided with relevant information on attractions, and provide complimentary escort service to attractions and hotels. They also work closely with local law enforcement to help prevent what they can. While there is no doubt this is still a work in progress, there have been some great improvements and I hope that pattern will continue when we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property next year!

On behalf of the entire team, I truly want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. As always, if there is any additional assistance we can provide to you either now or in the future, I am at your service.

Respectfully,

Christopher D. Guerrero, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center
410-685-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Everything was clean and the staff was very helpful, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Baltimore harbor area. The only slight issue we had was with a mens lacrosse team that was staying there the same night, they were extremely loud and took up the whole pool (and used all the towels) doing a group workout. Other than that we had no complaints and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Michelle L.,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your stay. At Hampton, it is always our goal to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable stay experience, a level of service exceeding their expectations, and exceptional value. I am delighted to hear we delivered on that commitment during your stay.

I do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your family by the group staying with us and we are glad to hear that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the future!

On behalf of the entire team, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. As always, if there is any additional assistance I may provide to you either now or in the future, I am at your service.

Respectfully,

Christopher D. Guerrero, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center
410-685-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a great time. Hotel is right across from Camden Yard. Many things within walking distance of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and the room was very comfortable.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
howlandm,

On behalf of the entire team, I wanted to thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Hampton, we take great pride in delivering to our guests clean, comfortable accommodations, exceptional value, and warm and friendly service guests have relied on Hampton to deliver for decades. That is the commitment we make to each and every guest that stays with us worldwide and back it up with our 100% Unconditional Guest Satisfaction Guarantee.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Baltimore in the near future. As always, if there is any additional assistance I can provide to you either now or in the future, I am at your service.

Respectfully,

Christopher D. Guerrero, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center
410-685-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.