We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Solid Choice for Convention or Game.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Valet Parking!
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Baltimore
Atlanta
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Rock Solid Choice for Convention or Game.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location for convention attendees. Less expensive and better cusomter service than Hilton across the street which I stayed at last year for same show. Free Breakfast and Wifi as well. Hit "Pickles Pub" downstairs for a night cap!

One Tip: Baltimore is not very safe. Even near the convention center and Camden Yards, you need to be careful walking at night. It's best to stay in groups if possible. If you are alone, be aware of your surroundings even during the day. Sorry Baltimore, there's just no denying you have a problem.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on the back side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
R&G Opine,

On behalf of the entire team, thank you for taking the time to share some feedback with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I'm glad our team provided you with the warm and friendly service guests have come to expect from Hampton.

As with any city, Baltimore does face some safety challenges and has made some great steps to improving safety for the residents of Charm City and the millions of visitors coming to our area each year. As you may have seen, the city has travel ambassadors wearing yellow and blue designed to help ensure visitors are safe, provided with relevant information on attractions, and provide complimentary escort service to attractions and hotels. They also work closely with local law enforcement to help prevent what they can. While there is no doubt this is still a work in progress, there have been some great improvements and I hope that pattern will continue when we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property next year!

On behalf of the entire team, I truly want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. As always, if there is any additional assistance we can provide to you either now or in the future, I am at your service.

Respectfully,

Christopher D. Guerrero, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center
410-685-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    184
    31
    11
    1
See reviews for
224
116
31
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Everything was clean and the staff was very helpful, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Baltimore harbor area. The only slight issue we had was with a mens lacrosse team that was staying there the same night, they were extremely loud and took up the whole pool (and used all the towels) doing a group workout. Other than that we had no complaints and would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Michelle L.,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your stay. At Hampton, it is always our goal to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable stay experience, a level of service exceeding their expectations, and exceptional value. I am delighted to hear we delivered on that commitment during your stay.

I do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your family by the group staying with us and we are glad to hear that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel at some point in the future!

On behalf of the entire team, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. As always, if there is any additional assistance I may provide to you either now or in the future, I am at your service.

Respectfully,

Christopher D. Guerrero, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center
410-685-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had a great time. Hotel is right across from Camden Yard. Many things within walking distance of the hotel. The staff is very friendly and accomodating and the room was very comfortable.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
howlandm,

On behalf of the entire team, I wanted to thank you for sharing your experience with us. At Hampton, we take great pride in delivering to our guests clean, comfortable accommodations, exceptional value, and warm and friendly service guests have relied on Hampton to deliver for decades. That is the commitment we make to each and every guest that stays with us worldwide and back it up with our 100% Unconditional Guest Satisfaction Guarantee.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Baltimore in the near future. As always, if there is any additional assistance I can provide to you either now or in the future, I am at your service.

Respectfully,

Christopher D. Guerrero, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center
410-685-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Absolutely wonderful establishment. They should be proud to call this hotel a convention center because she is a BIG BEAUTIFUL one. Absolutely wonderful, indeed. Good breakfast! Good beds! Loved my time here.

Room Tip: Anything is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Katherine T,

On behalf of the entire team, I wanted to extend my thanks for taking the time to share some feedback with us. At Hampton, it is always our goal to deliver an exceptional stay experience and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting our great city. I couldn't agree more, the Hampton Bedding Experience - The Cloud 9 Bed - which I can only describe as fresh, warm, and cozy. I love our beds and am glad you did as well! We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Baltimore at some point in the future! As always, if there is any additional assistance I may provide to you, I am at your service!

Respectfully,

Christopher D. Guerrero, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center
410-685-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed five nights while attending a conference. There's a reason this hotel is currently ranked 4th out of 70+ hotels in Baltimore beginning with its great location right across the street from Camden Yards Baseball Field, easy walking distance to the Convention Center, the Inner Harbor and other places you might want to visit downtown as well as to transportation options. I never found out when it was built, but it feels like a fairly new hotel - clean and not worn. I often stay at Hampton Inns and appreciate the usual amenities - free breakfast etc - here I appreciated that there was plenty of space to eat in the breakfast area. The management here seems to be very customer focused. Because it's right next to the ballpark, there are times when it is very full with families, and while the hotel is very family friendly they don't let kids run wild and loose in public areas which I really appreciate.

Two other highlights worth mentioning - this might be the first hotel I have stayed in where they actually took "being green" seriously. Many hotels will give you the option of reusing your towel by hanging it up, but house keeping will still give you a new towel every day. Here they followed through and only replaced towels when I asked for it but they still cleaned the rest of the room well. Finally, silence and sound proofing is probably what I value most when at a hotel - and this hotel honored my request for a "quieter" room at the end of a hall but the walls seemed sound proofed well also. My only critique is that given that the walls seemed sound proofed, there was a 3/4 inch crack under the doorway to the hall which obviously let some noise in. Not a big deal (I put the floor mat there at night.) but it just struck me as interesting as so many other things were done so well.

Definitely worth staying!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
thewilsonswanderings,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am glad we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable, and quiet room during your stay in Baltimore. Our property was built in 2006 and we are proud to have recently celebrated six outstanding years of welcoming guests to Baltimore with the warm and friendly service they have come to expect from Hampton.

The large spacing at the bottom of your door is actually intentional. To meet local code requirements when the property was built, we were required to have a certain clearance for ventilation and safety but appreciate the noise suggestion as it does give us something we might be able to look at to improve the overall stay experience for our guests.

On behalf of the entire team, thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Baltimore again in the near future!

Respectfully,

Christopher D. Guerrero, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center
410-685-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great place to stay in downtown Baltimore, can't beat this place for the price. Clean, contemporary, baseball themed decor. We payed $119 on the weekend, good value. The only problem is parking, it is crazy, but they have a great valet service that takes good care of you for $29 dollars a night. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
MBaus,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your most recent stay. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, parking is certainly a challenge and something we revisit on a regular basis to try and improve. With such a small footprint, there is a fine art to balancing off-site spaces, on-site spaces, and guest retrieval times. I am glad the Valet team provided you with the great service you have come to expect from Hampton and the entire team looks forward to welcoming you back to Baltimore at some point in the near future.

Respectfully,

Christopher D. Guerrero, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center
410-685-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the convention center. Came to Baltimore for the boat show. Hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel was very clean and had no problem. Only "issue" was later at night there were several bars near by and you could hear the patrons outside but this did not last very long and eventually was not really an issue. Great location if you are in town for a baseball or football game.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR P, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Tazman06,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your most recent stay and thanks for coming to Baltimore for the Boat Show! It is one of my personal favorite times of the year! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will consider coming back and staying with us again at some point in the near future!

Respectfully,

Christopher D. Guerrero, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center
410-685-5000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.