We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value if You're Just Passing Through” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 Primrose Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21215   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #53 of 60 Hotels in Baltimore
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Value if You're Just Passing Through”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Located just outside of the Park Heights neighborhood, this Econo Lodge is not the ideal vacation spot. Driving down from Boston, we decided to crash here on our way back from DC (trying to cut time off the drive). There is considerable poverty in this area, but the people around town were not a problem. I'm more likely to have my car broken into at home than here. We found the staff to be helpful and kind after an initial mixup with our online booking.

The room was HUGE, with a large king-size bed, an entire couch and a lot of floor space. A mini-fridge, microwave, and TV are also available. I could easily fit my entire life in this room. My boyfriend found the bed uncomfortable, but I thought it was great (I was also dead exhausted). Even in the non-smoking room, however, the scent of old cigarettes did linger throughout the hotel. If you are especially sensitive to this, you may want to book elsewhere. Embarking early on a 8 hour drive, I appreciated the complimentary breakfast (coffee, juice, and carbohydrates) which was simple but gratifying.

All in all, I won't seek out this area again, but considering the service and the size/cleanliness of the room, I would say this was a pretty good value.

Room Tip: Non-smoking king is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    5
    8
See reviews for
3
3
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

This place smells... literally.
The cigarette smoke can be smelt from the moment you walk in at the counter, breakfast room, hallways and even a stale smell in the (non-smoking room). The building is old, half hour drive from central Baltimore in a not so great area of town.
Breakfast was OK, but happy to leave. Interestingly, one of the more expensive places I stayed in yet not as good as some of the cheaper motels. The staff were friendly though.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

The area is not nice, that is true. BUT, the hotel felt safe, since all the rooms had doors inside of the building. The staff was awesome! We forgot an iPod on the bed and they sent it to Cleveland to us! Very friendly and helpful service all in all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

nasty nasty nasty nasty naassssssstyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!! shady shady people!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! terrible area worst part of baltimore possible.

  • Liked — some people were nice inside the hotel. that's about it.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 4200 Primrose Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 60 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Baltimore
Baltimore Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.