We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cavernous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pazo Restaurant

Pazo Restaurant
1425 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21201 (Fells Point)
410-534-7296
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pazo Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 1,805 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fells Point
Cross street: Caroline St.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Cavernous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

It's a Celeb chef (Wolf-Forman) restaurant located in an repurposed industrial building. Three story open space for bar and restaurant. The bar area has upholstered "living room" type of chairs. Could be quite comfortable. On the main floor dining area it's a small sea of tables set fairly close together ... leading two an unfortunate resemblance to a convention group dinner. That ambiance would keep me from coming here for a romantic or special occasion. Tables are also located on the second level balcony surrounding the large open space. They might provide better atmosphere. The restaurant is close enough to Harbor East to walk to. From downtown you can take the (free) Charm City Circulator bus and get off at stop 119 (Green Route) or 227 (Orange Route). Parking is tough in the area but they have valet parking (free with validation). We found the food quite good although pricy (with wine and tip it's hard not to go over $100 for two. The wait staff was attentive and a manager checked in to see how we were doing. Our server was knowledgable about the food and the options for wine --- and when asked for a wine recommendation responded with a moderately priced suggestion. No evidence of "up-selling"

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    80
    47
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia,
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Skip this one.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Went into this place on the spur of the moment as we were touring around Fells Point. The restaurant was nice, constructed inside what appears to have been a warehouse, it had the feel of an atrium. We were greeted by a well groomed, professional looking server but the guy seemed a bit haughty or detached. I guess that's what you're supposed to get in fine dining but this didn't feel like that kind of place especially with the constant boom boom boom of the bass line in some indistinguishable music being played over the sound system. Is it a bar or a restaurant or a what? Never felt quite sure. Anyway, everything on the menu was pricey so we wound up getting the pizza for two. It was excellent and we ended up taking half of it with us. Got the three ice cream/sorbet dessert. The lavender and corn flavored ice creams were awful. At one point the owner came by our table to inquire about our entree which we gave a favorable review. He was very nice and smiled. He needs to put more people like himself as servers and to figure out what this restaurant is about.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Feels like a scam”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Dined recently at Pazo with a big group. Hostess was rude, which was unfortunate, but not the biggest problem. After bill was settled and paid, a few friends went to restroom. While there, they were accosted by the waitress who claimed that she forgot to add some things to the bill. What she forgot to add totaled almost $90 and it seemed really sketchy. We paid it to get out of there because waitress was becoming rude about it and we were celebrating a big life event for a friend. In retrospect, we should have spoken to the manager about it. I think we were scammed, which is disappointing at a "fine dining" establishment. It just doesn't seem right that something large was 'forgotten' from the bill and we were asked to pay it in the bathroom. Still fuming over this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wasn't Worth the Wait”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We made an early reservation so we'd have plenty of time to enjoy dinner before the Sting concert at Pier 6. We arrived at 6:15, were promptly seated, and ordered our selections from the Price Fixe menu. Bread was offered, which never arrived at the table. Diners seated well after us were served their entrees while our appetizers had yet to arrive. I asked the hostess if she could check on our order. The waiter finally reappeared and blamed the kitchen for the wait; however, the kitchen was not busy when we placed our order -- I think the waiter forgot to place our order. We were "compensated" by not having to pay for dessert -- a dessert that never made it to the table. We made it, just barely, to the concert on time. Bad experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Spanish fusion cuisine with a great service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant in the city. Very good selection of Spanish wines with a slight but no major error in their regions classification. We had cava and a good variety of tapas to start with, we enjoyed every single one. For main we had arroz a la valenciana (almost like being in Valencia, the flavor and the consistency of the rice was right) and squab (very tasty). The staff was very good as well, a little rushed which is part ofnthebnature of the place. I totally recommend it and would come back again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pazo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pazo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pazo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.