We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, decent food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Salt

Salt
2127 E Pratt St, Ste 1, Baltimore, MD 21231-2046
410-276-5480
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 1,673 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
maryland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent service, decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I wasn't overly impressed. The atmosphere and staff were excellent. They paid a lot of attn. to us which we appreciated. The food was certainly decent but I just wasn't wow'd by it. I didn't think it was worth the bill by a long shot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    55
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Unidimensional, pricing and a nasty manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was stunned when we asked to move from a center-dining-room table in the heat of the action (not pleasant) to an open booth where no one was sitting, and a woman of manager ilk was most unpleasant, talking about my family behind my back and sneering at my husband. This did not make me take nicely to this restaurant, the food at which is also one-dimensional and dull, though nicely presented. We drove into a residential neighborhood to find this place because it was rated highly on Trip Advisor, but for $90 for 3 people on a Sunday night, I could have done much better in New York City. A really disappointing experience, with a management team that should be completely overhauled (or are they the owners?). The woman who greeted us initially, a sweet young woman, was lovely, but the middle-aged woman who had to "approve" our table move could not have been more unpleasant. A real downer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Duck Fat Fries!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Came here for Baltimore Restaurant Week and was instantly impressed. The duck fat fries came with 3 types of aioli sauces and were the perfect appetizer. I had the quail over rice (tasted more like a risotto) and would definitely get this meal again. Pretty standard beer list, nothing over the top, and some good specialty drinks. The scenery inside is modern and there's a good amount of parking on this upper side of Patterson Park.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Salt represents taste, so the name of this restaurant is perfect. The food is superb, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable and the presentation is always interesting. Parking in the neighborhood is, however, simply horrible, so leave a few minutes early, because you are not going to find spot right in front of Salt. Don't let that stop you, Salt is worth the small hassle.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food in a quiet neighbourhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Slightly out of the way for a downtown visitor like me. Situated in a nice East Baltimore neighbourhood. Modern American cuisine. Good selection of wines. The best quail I have had for a long time!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt also viewed

 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.