We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible! Disgusting! A Flop House!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Baltimore Northwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Baltimore Northwest to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Baltimore Northwest
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5810 Reisterstown Road, Baltimore, MD 21215 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Baltimore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Horrible! Disgusting! A Flop House!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

Do not stay here. Run from this place. It should be condemned.

A pseudo-modern 1950's roadside motel that is so run-down and shabby it should not be licensed. The neighborhood can be described as 'bad part of town' or 'high crime area' or 'urban blighted area' or 'the Ghetto.' The street is where you put up your windows and lock the doors.

The room was filthy and depressing. Walls painted an awful "baby vomit green" or if you remember the movie The Exorcist: "Linda Blair green" ... who picked out the awful color sheme? The place smelled of mildew and mold. Broken tiles in the bathroom. No lamps anywhere in the room just a week flourescent bulb in a cheap ceiling fixture. Too dark to read except in the bathroom.

I am not a fussy person, if you read my other reviews I am charitable about places that others found wanting. I have stayed at Youth Hostels, college dorms, hotels in Third World countries as well 4 or 5 star accommodations in places like London, Paris, New York, Hong Kong and Bangkok.

This place was scary! The worst I ever stayed in!! I tried to get out of my reservation, but the management was unsympathetic. I stayed only one night and fled the next morning, forfeiting the amount I spent for two nights.

This motel caters to men who pick up the nastiest and cheapest streetwalkers and need the cheapest room they can find. Just as I was checking in - in a tiny room (no lobby) with the clerk behind a thick bullet-proof window, a guy with a disheveled mangy looking female checked in after me: it was sleazy and scary.

Oh yes! Where there was once a pool, the concrete rectangular hole was filled with dirt! Get this: after dinner when I got back to the grim cell-like room, there were a couple of ragged homeless men sitting outside my room!

Please, please run from this place! Do not consider staying here! The only people who use this place are raunchy dudes and the lowest strata of street prostitutes looking for the cheapest room for an hour!

  • Liked — Nothing!!! This is one of the worst places to stay in the world!!!
  • Disliked — Everything!!! Cheap, faded, filthy, moldy, unsafe, broken ... a prison-like flop house!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    5
    14
See reviews for
1
6
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We got a motel room for 1 night. The staff was very nice; I had booked the room for the wrong date but didn't realize it until we got there. She let me change our date and didn't charge extra (just make sure you save your receipt with the sales tax, they tried to randomly charge $10 for tax). Otherwise, the room was large and the bed was comfortable. The inside of the room was clean enough, but bring your own towels because theirs feel like sandpaper. The outside of the hotel, tho, is run-down and off of a very busy highway, downtown from Baltimore. The people were very nice and parking was easy. If you're just looking for a bed to sleep in for one or two nights, there's nothing wrong with it.

  • Liked — Cheap rates, big room/bed
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable towels, no remote
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nescopeck
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

I booked the cheapest hotel available and did not expect much. The room was large, the bed clean and comfortable, the TV remote worked and the carpet did not make my socks dirty. The bath towels however, were a grungy color of white. I really wished that I had brought my own as they were just gross. There was lots of hot water and it did not change temperature as I showered like in some hotels, I just hated using that towel to dry off with.

  • Liked — cheap price
  • Disliked — grungy bath towels
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

This was the apsolute worst hotel I ever tried to stay at! My friends and I tryed to check in about 10 mins after check in time and we were told our rooms would not be ready until the concert we were going to was over! So we think ok no big deal! Come to find out that the people gave away our rooms! We were stuck in the slums of baltimore with no where to go! Priceline did try to help us but than these people decided to start yelling and cursing at us, and saying things I will not repeat on this website! The place was discusting in more ways than one and I seriously suggest staying somewhere else! You will be sorry if you stay here!!

  • Liked — It was close to the event I was going to!
  • Disliked — The people that owned the place were rude
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Baltimore Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Baltimore Northwest

Address: 5810 Reisterstown Road, Baltimore, MD 21215 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Baltimore)
Location: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 59 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Baltimore Northwest 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated, pet friendly Red Roof Inn Baltimore Northwest is located 1 mile from Pimlico Race Course, and is close to shopping, restaurants, and museums. The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore and Oriole Park at Camden Yards are close by, Inner Harbor area is 5 miles away, and John Hopkins University is 15 miles away. When you check in, check out the newly renovated rooms that offer free WiFi, cable television, hair dryer, microwave and refrigerator. We also provide our guests with complimentary coffee in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof Inn Baltimore Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Baltimore Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Baltimore Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.