We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Food & Service"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
500 East Pratt Street, Baltimore, MD 21202 (Downtown)
(443) 703-4064
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,672 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Your ship has come in. The Capital Grille in Baltimore is located right in the Inner Harbor. A location every bit as special and impressive as our restaurant is. Come and experience everything from our famous dry aged steaks and chops to exceptional seafood. An award-winning selection of 400 wines. And an atmosphere of comfortable elegance. Any excuse to not try it, simply won't hold water.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“"Great Food & Service"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Went to visit Baltimore Harbor just for a day trip and around 6:30 decided to get a bite to eat. Many of the other restaurants in the Harbor were fairly busy but didn't really seem inviting then I happened to remember seeing a Capital Grille just on the other side of the Harbor. They sat us immediately, waiter was very friendly & attentive, the food was excellent. Would highly recommend the seafood appetizer, was the best we have ever had.
Can't wait ti visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    61
    17
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazing meal, worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant exceeded my expectations, it was incredible. Everything we ordered was perfection, and the professional wait staff added to the experience.

We had a 7:00 PM reservation on a Saturday night, celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were able to immediately go to our table, despite being early. We were seated next to the kitchen. The ambiance was elegant, dark woods and beautifully set tables.

The professional wait staff was very attentive. There were always people to fill your water glass, managers overseeing the dining room, and waiters keeping an eye out for anything you may need. Our waiter Kevin was wonderful. He was friendly and professional, made us comfortable, and gave us great descriptions of the menu items. He made excellent recommendations and anticipated our questions.

The food was unbelievable. "Wow" was the only thing I could say. We started with a cup of the lobster bisque, it had large pieces of lobster and a wonderful creamy texture. I ordered one of the specials, a 10 oz filet mignon with goat cheese on top and crispy panchetta, served over crispy fingerling potatoes. It had an incredible, rich sauce. Everything just melted in my mouth and was cooked to perfection. I was lucky to get to eat half of it, my husband took the rest! We also got a side of truffle fries. The truffle gave the fries a slightly earthy flavor, the outsides were crisp, the inside was creamy. It was amazing. We finished with the cheesecake. It had a nice, creme brulee top, and was the creamiest cheesecake I've ever had.


Hands down this was the best meal I've eaten in a long time, maybe ever. The cost is reasonable for the quality of the food and service; and, on par with other fine dining establishments. For us it's not a place we would go regularly, but it's perfect for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Place for a special dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to the Capital Grille for My Mother's Day dinner. This was not the first time there and the food and service lived up to our expectations. I would recommend this restaurant for families with older/adult children.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Went for a birthday celebration. Service was excellent, table was set with confetti and we were made to feel very welcome. Food was great. Atmosphere was perfect. They know how to do "celebration" at Cap Grille. Would go again for special occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It doesn't get better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This restaurant is packed in the evening and should be. The food, presentation, service and decor are every thing one expects when seeking the fine dining experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.